Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
08-29-2015, 09:30 PM
Post: #1601
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-29-2015 05:21 PM)ssh33 Wrote:  I am trying to limit my display resolution horizontally. What I am after is the native resolution with black bars on the left and right.

When I use CRU, Windows 10 (I also tried it in 8.1 with the same result) stretches the display instead of providing the desired horizontal letterbox.

Is there a combination of CRU settings that would allow me to achieve that?

Setup: Radeon R9 380, Wasabi Mango UHD420 (Korean 42" 4k monitor)
CRU defines monitor resolutions. It doesn't deal with black bars. Either use the monitor's scaling options, or use GPU scaling to maintain the aspect ratio.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-29-2015, 09:36 PM
Post: #1602
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-29-2015 07:37 AM)rooster2000 Wrote:  I just bought u2414h DELL monitor, which I suppose could be the setting resolution of 1920 x 1200 @60 Hz (Display Port (VGA) to mini DP (Monitor) with CRU 1.2 program, but when I tried it failed say "out of range ".
That's a 1920x1080 monitor. You can't expect a monitor to support higher than native resolutions. Some monitors can scale down higher resolutions, but not all monitors will accept higher resolutions. Why do you want to use 1920x1200 on a 1920x1080 monitor? The aspect ratio would be wrong.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-29-2015, 10:30 PM
Post: #1603
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey Toasty, my question, i got 3 60hz monitors and a amd r9 290. I can uprgrade the ref rate to 75hz in all 3 off them, but when i create the eyefinity group 5760 x 1080, all will stay in 60hz again. (i got 1 with dvi, 1 hdmi, and 1 with dp 2 dvi active adapter). I dont know if its posible make the 3 runs 75hz all together in eyefinyti.

Thx
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-29-2015, 11:28 PM (Last edited: 08-29-2015, 11:33 PM by falkentyne)
Post: #1604
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-29-2015 09:36 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-29-2015 07:37 AM)rooster2000 Wrote:  I just bought u2414h DELL monitor, which I suppose could be the setting resolution of 1920 x 1200 @60 Hz (Display Port (VGA) to mini DP (Monitor) with CRU 1.2 program, but when I tried it failed say "out of range ".
That's a 1920x1080 monitor. You can't expect a monitor to support higher than native resolutions. Some monitors can scale down higher resolutions, but not all monitors will accept higher resolutions. Why do you want to use 1920x1200 on a 1920x1080 monitor? The aspect ratio would be wrong.

*possibly* for games that were designed for 4:3 or 16:10 aspect ratios that don't look right at 16:9. Someone on blur busters' forums had used 1920x1440 on an XL2720T (original 3d vision 2, non blur reduction montor) and he said he would only buy the XL2720Z if it also supported this resolution. I was able to create it but at first it said out of range (Vertical total was 1510) but the absolute highest VT the Z series monitors will accept is VT 1502, which are used for reducing strobe crosstalk (the scaler seems to think that a VT 1502 is a 1440p vertical size if you check the factory menu). I then tried automatic settings and the VT was in the "OSD complains about out of range but still shows a screen" range of 1485 VT. When I raised the VT up to what is known to be valid (1496-1502 all give a working image without the OSD complaining, 1503 just gives a black screen), sure enough, the image came right up and the OSD happily said the resolution was 1920x1440. But due to the timings being whacky, it said the refresh rate was 60hz (it was actually 100hz), which it also does with VT tweaks for blur reduction (at the standard 1920x1080)

I literally went on a tirade, asking him WHY he would want such a resolution if the interpolation will look this bad. He said that the game having the correct sized hud at a 4:3 aspect setting makes things look far better than a 1440p resolution being interpolated by the scaler down to 1080p.

So I asked him, if 4:3 is so important, why not make a proper custom 4:3 that doesn't look horrible, like 1440x1080, and you can still keep a 1:1 image?

The only reply I got back was something about aiming (in counter strike) and more screen image data being shown at 1920x1440 than 1440x1080.

Whatever....lesson to be learned...COUNTER STRIKE PLAYERS AND THEIR 4:3 aspect ratio love are the spawn of the Devil !!

(and I'm writing this on my XL2720Z running at 1920x1440) :/

P.S. I had no idea the previous generation "T" series benq accepted vertical total tweaks. The Asus VG248QE goes out of range at any VT above 1195, so 1920x1440 is a no-go on that screen.

Seriously, guys, if you want 4:3 on a 1080p screen, create a 1440x1080 resolution and be done with it. Your aim is NOT going to be ANY better at 1920x1440! Use 1920x1440 if you are on a 1440p monitor like the Asus ROG Swift or Acer XB270HU, if you want 4:3.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-30-2015, 12:50 AM
Post: #1605
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-29-2015 10:30 PM)tin2010 Wrote:  Hey Toasty, my question, i got 3 60hz monitors and a amd r9 290. I can uprgrade the ref rate to 75hz in all 3 off them, but when i create the eyefinity group 5760 x 1080, all will stay in 60hz again. (i got 1 with dvi, 1 hdmi, and 1 with dp 2 dvi active adapter). I dont know if its posible make the 3 runs 75hz all together in eyefinyti.
That should work with Eyefinity. Make sure 75 Hz is the first detailed resolution for all three monitors.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-30-2015, 11:41 PM
Post: #1606
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-30-2015 12:50 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-29-2015 10:30 PM)tin2010 Wrote:  Hey Toasty, my question, i got 3 60hz monitors and a amd r9 290. I can uprgrade the ref rate to 75hz in all 3 off them, but when i create the eyefinity group 5760 x 1080, all will stay in 60hz again. (i got 1 with dvi, 1 hdmi, and 1 with dp 2 dvi active adapter). I dont know if its posible make the 3 runs 75hz all together in eyefinyti.
That should work with Eyefinity. Make sure 75 Hz is the first detailed resolution for all three monitors.

ok so i try what u told me, now i can go eyefinity 75hz, but max resolucion its 3000 som x 1000. I ll post some pics later. Thx anyw8
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-31-2015, 12:58 AM
Post: #1607
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-30-2015 11:41 PM)tin2010 Wrote:  
(08-30-2015 12:50 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-29-2015 10:30 PM)tin2010 Wrote:  Hey Toasty, my question, i got 3 60hz monitors and a amd r9 290. I can uprgrade the ref rate to 75hz in all 3 off them, but when i create the eyefinity group 5760 x 1080, all will stay in 60hz again. (i got 1 with dvi, 1 hdmi, and 1 with dp 2 dvi active adapter). I dont know if its posible make the 3 runs 75hz all together in eyefinyti.
That should work with Eyefinity. Make sure 75 Hz is the first detailed resolution for all three monitors.

ok so i try what u told me, now i can go eyefinity 75hz, but max resolucion its 3000 som x 1000. I ll post some pics later. Thx anyw8

well after some trys my problem seems to be de dp 2 dvi active adapter. that monitor wont go over 60hz if i dont downgrade resolucion to 1240 x 1024, so extrange.
Can i run eyefinyti without the active dp adapter?? coz i remember it was need it for 3 monitors. I duno if i can run it with hdmi, and 2 dvi.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-31-2015, 02:21 PM
Post: #1608
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-31-2015 12:58 AM)tin2010 Wrote:  well after some trys my problem seems to be de dp 2 dvi active adapter. that monitor wont go over 60hz if i dont downgrade resolucion to 1240 x 1024, so extrange.
Are you using the pixel clock patch? I don't know if that works with active adapters. If not, you'll have to keep the pixel clock under 165 MHz. "LCD reduced" does that at 1920x1080 @ 75 Hz, but not all monitors can handle that.

(08-31-2015 12:58 AM)tin2010 Wrote:  Can i run eyefinyti without the active dp adapter?? coz i remember it was need it for 3 monitors. I duno if i can run it with hdmi, and 2 dvi.
That should work with R9 290 cards. Older cards couldn't do that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-31-2015, 09:04 PM
Post: #1609
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-31-2015 02:21 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-31-2015 12:58 AM)tin2010 Wrote:  well after some trys my problem seems to be de dp 2 dvi active adapter. that monitor wont go over 60hz if i dont downgrade resolucion to 1240 x 1024, so extrange.
Are you using the pixel clock patch? I don't know if that works with active adapters. If not, you'll have to keep the pixel clock under 165 MHz. "LCD reduced" does that at 1920x1080 @ 75 Hz, but not all monitors can handle that.

(08-31-2015 12:58 AM)tin2010 Wrote:  Can i run eyefinyti without the active dp adapter?? coz i remember it was need it for 3 monitors. I duno if i can run it with hdmi, and 2 dvi.
That should work with R9 290 cards. Older cards couldn't do that.

thx you very much man, all working 75hz now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2015, 01:04 PM (Last edited: 09-01-2015, 01:05 PM by F1timmy)
Post: #1610
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey guys,

I'm having a problem with the CRU. I'm trying to change the refresh rate from my screen. The native resolution is 1920x1080 and when changing the refresh rate on this resolution everything goes well. But when I try to change the refresh rate on a different resolution (1280x720, 800x600) it does change the refresh rate, but it's miss-aligning the image completely. It's even duplicating it multiple times. It's difficult to explain, but I attached a picture. It's actually changing the refresh rate like it should, but it glitches out like in the screenshot, no matter which resolution I use except for 1920x1080.
[Image: UtGCHwg.jpg]
Does anybody know what i'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance,
F1timmy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 53 Guest(s)