Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
08-09-2016, 04:36 PM
Post: #2201
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-08-2016 05:48 PM)Firefly Wrote:  I've been using it to try to get win 10 64 pro and crimson to recognise the resolutions and refresh rates my CRT monitor is capable of.
It's a mitsubishi dpro 2070sb, which can do 2048x1536 @ 86hz, 1920x1440 @92hz, 1600x1200@109, 1024x768 @ 160.
Both win10 and crimson give my maximum resolution as 1280x1024 - windows will allow me 85hz, crimson is a tad more generous @120hz.
I've inputted the resolutions and refresh rates my monitor will do using CRU, saved and restarted but neither win10 nor crimson will show me the new list of resolutions - both keep showing me a maximum resolution of 1280x1024.
I've been trying this over the past 6 months without success, with different win10 and crimson updates - though my screen may now be at 1600x1200 - it's hard to tell without being able to click through different resolutions.

I'm using a Sapphire R390 Nitro 8gb, crimson drivers, win10 64
I'm using a vga adaptor to connect my monitor to the gfx card - will this affect anything?
What adapter are you using? Please export the non-working configuration to a file and post it here.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2016, 04:52 PM (Last edited: 08-09-2016, 04:59 PM by Hertz)
Post: #2202
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-09-2016 04:00 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Everything I've read about the U2713HM says it's not overclockable. How are you seeing a difference? Did you check for frame skipping? http://www.testufo.com/#test=frameskipping

I don't really know that, I just tried and it's working!
Also the feeling in game is awesome and everything super smooth.
   

(08-09-2016 01:57 PM)Hertz Wrote:  Is this happening with the "Custom extension block" option? Are you using DVI, HDMI, or DisplayPort?
Yes I enabled the option after reading your quick guide. I'm on DVI (dual link). I've got a DP cable for the sake of trying. But before I'll clean everything from CRU, DDU and reinstall just to be sure.

Thank you for your time!!!

edit: just rebooted again (turned everything on after about 4 hours) and...it's gone, no problem at all Confused
edit2: rebooted again, nothing. All ok now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2016, 05:14 PM
Post: #2203
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-09-2016 04:52 PM)Hertz Wrote:  
(08-09-2016 04:00 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Everything I've read about the U2713HM says it's not overclockable. How are you seeing a difference? Did you check for frame skipping? http://www.testufo.com/#test=frameskipping

I don't really know that, I just tried and it's working!
Also the feeling in game is awesome and everything super smooth.
You have to take a photo. Screenshots won't work. Even without a photo, frame skipping should be obvious at 120 Hz because it will skip every other square, effectively making it 60 Hz. If 720p @ 120 Hz does actually work with the U2713HM, then you discovered something nobody else has reported.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2016, 05:16 PM
Post: #2204
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-07-2016 06:55 PM)ebaer Wrote:  I am attaching both the HP (HP2956) and Sony (SNY1A02) Real-time .bin files. I didn't see a specific option for "Full", so I am assuming that just saving them gets that for you.

Hopefully, the HP file will give some insights as to what is wrong with the Sony one.
I don't see anything wrong with the SNY EDID. I just realized AMD doesn't have a Windows 10 driver for 3000-series GPUs except through Windows Update. It's possible the driver from Windows Update doesn't support EDID overrides. I can't really recommend using anything older than the 5000-series with Windows 10. AMD hasn't released a driver for 3000-series GPUs in over three years, and the last version is for Windows 8. It might be possible to install that version in Windows 10, but I don't know if EDID overrides will work with it: https://community.amd.com/thread/185041
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2016, 05:29 PM
Post: #2205
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-07-2016 07:33 AM)zaczac Wrote:  External panels are currently not supported and the driver is only for internal displays, they are working on external displays however so if you can explain in a bit more detail about what should be done in terms of the limit and what that actually fixes or enhances then maybe I can relay the information and see what they can do about it.
I mean the 165 MHz pixel clock limit for single-link DVI and HDMI. Many people are using CRU and the pixel clock patches to exceed that limit with external displays.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2016, 05:44 PM (Last edited: 08-09-2016, 06:38 PM by Hertz)
Post: #2206
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-09-2016 05:14 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  You have to take a photo. Screenshots won't work. Even without a photo, frame skipping should be obvious at 120 Hz because it will skip every other square, effectively making it 60 Hz. If 720p @ 120 Hz does actually work with the U2713HM, then you discovered something nobody else has reported.

Got it! 1/5th of a second with DSLR, 60hz for comparison.
You were obviously right, there is frame skipping (even at naked eyes).
But why does it feel so different while playing? I'm sure it's not placebo, I called in the room 2 of my brothers and they too could notice how smooth it was (it doesn't even seems as 720p but 1080p, monitor OSD also confirming 720p @120Hz).

   
   

Somehow the system was tricked: with DVI dual link and in-game V-Sync on (even if it is frame skipping from the test) the OSD show 120hz and the FPS are fixed at 120. With DP OSD show 60, in game show 120 and V-Sync bring fps to stable 60.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2016, 08:02 PM
Post: #2207
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-09-2016 04:03 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-08-2016 03:44 PM)loccothan Wrote:  In Last Win 10 build i have custom resolutions from CRU, now after update its not working anymore, i need to set my own customs in CCC (Fury HBM GPU)
Any news about updated CRU in near future?
As I already said, there's nothing for me to update. The Redstone update does not change the way EDID overrides work. Please export the non-working configuration to a file and post it here.

Ahh, OK THX for reply Rolleyes

Here from CRU and MonInfo my Driver for CRT

https://mega.nz/#F!RQthUIoa!-6jDWQeeK-fRvOImFhrG1w

THX for Help, maby we can do something about those cross talk Icon/txt streak?

ZEN k17 8/16 4.01 GHz / Crosshair Hero VI / Predator 4133 CL19 1T / ATI Vega 64 XTX LiquiD / SB Z + MOD / XTR|SeaSonic 780 Platinum / CM WC Nepton 280L with Cold-Water MOD / Samie 850Evo 512GB System & RAID 0 + 2nd. 850Pro 512GB as Cache / Corsair 750D / ProLite XUB2792QSU-B1 10Bit > http://loccothan.blogspot.com
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-09-2016, 09:36 PM
Post: #2208
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-09-2016 08:02 PM)loccothan Wrote:  Ahh, OK THX for reply Rolleyes

Here from CRU and MonInfo my Driver for CRT

https://mega.nz/#F!RQthUIoa!-6jDWQeeK-fRvOImFhrG1w

THX for Help, maby we can do something about those cross talk Icon/txt streak?
Make sure GPU scaling is disabled. That might be preventing the driver from using resolutions higher than the first detailed resolution.

Is the crosstalk happening at all resolutions or only higher resolutions? What about at lower refresh rates? Try using 8 bpc instead of 12 bpc.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-10-2016, 05:26 AM (Last edited: 08-10-2016, 05:29 AM by loccothan)
Post: #2209
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-09-2016 09:36 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-09-2016 08:02 PM)loccothan Wrote:  Ahh, OK THX for reply Rolleyes

Here from CRU and MonInfo my Driver for CRT

https://mega.nz/#F!RQthUIoa!-6jDWQeeK-fRvOImFhrG1w

THX for Help, maby we can do something about those cross talk Icon/txt streak?
Make sure GPU scaling is disabled. That might be preventing the driver from using resolutions higher than the first detailed resolution.

Is the crosstalk happening at all resolutions or only higher resolutions? What about at lower refresh rates? Try using 8 bpc instead of 12 bpc.

Scaling is OFF by default (im never using it, if switched ON same thing happend)
Lower res. is better but it is present, less visible but it is)
60-100Hz same thing
In gaming Image is crystal clear like in the old times when I was using DVI-I -> VGA (analog out from GPU)

I have earlier DP->VGA active converter and Picture was OK (but that conv. has only 174MHz Pixel clock so i need to change that)
Now in this HDMI-> VGA Vivanco 300Mhz Pixel CLock this "streak" happens.

OK is when:
in BIOS
when Loading Windows
when Gaming

So it must be driver related not converter related thing.

ZEN k17 8/16 4.01 GHz / Crosshair Hero VI / Predator 4133 CL19 1T / ATI Vega 64 XTX LiquiD / SB Z + MOD / XTR|SeaSonic 780 Platinum / CM WC Nepton 280L with Cold-Water MOD / Samie 850Evo 512GB System & RAID 0 + 2nd. 850Pro 512GB as Cache / Corsair 750D / ProLite XUB2792QSU-B1 10Bit > http://loccothan.blogspot.com
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-10-2016, 08:15 AM
Post: #2210
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
is it overclock possible on asus ms228h (sapphire hd5450 with hdmi)?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 39 Guest(s)