Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-14-2018, 04:58 PM
Post: #3611
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-14-2018 10:19 AM)Kalmh Wrote:  I have downloaded the C++ builder 10.2.3 and I cannot open the bdsproj (cplusplusbuilder.personality not available).

On which IDE are you developing ? I could really use your help !
C++ Builder 2006
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2018, 05:27 PM
Post: #3612
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I was able to get this monitor https://www.asus.com/Commercial-Monitors...fications/ from 60 to 75, but then hit pixel clock limit. Will I be albe to push it even more of I switch to dual-link DVI cable? Or do these 60hz monitor support only single-link DVIeven though you can connect a dual-link one?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2018, 06:46 PM
Post: #3613
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-17-2018 05:27 PM)zn1p Wrote:  I was able to get this monitor https://www.asus.com/Commercial-Monitors...fications/ from 60 to 75, but then hit pixel clock limit. Will I be albe to push it even more of I switch to dual-link DVI cable? Or do these 60hz monitor support only single-link DVIeven though you can connect a dual-link one?
Monitors like that normally only have single-link DVI. Try HDMI.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-20-2018, 02:10 AM
Post: #3614
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I used CRU to set my 4K60hz monitor to 61hz (I just copy/pasted the default 59.996 Detailed Resolution, changed it to 61.000, saved, and told Windows to use that res), and adjusted the freesync range correspondingly to 40-61. The intention is to allow games that run at exactly 60fps (for example emulated console games) to use freesync and avoid tearing.

This seems to work correctly (for example the Pendulum demo is now tear-free when I set it to 60, whereas it tore horribly before- and playing games in Dolphin also seems to use freesync@60ish).

Are there any downsides to doing this that I might have missed? The only thing I can think of is that the frame pacing of 60FPS video, when using a player that can't engage freesync, might be off.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-20-2018, 08:02 PM
Post: #3615
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-20-2018 02:10 AM)pinumbernumber Wrote:  I used CRU to set my 4K60hz monitor to 61hz (I just copy/pasted the default 59.996 Detailed Resolution, changed it to 61.000, saved, and told Windows to use that res), and adjusted the freesync range correspondingly to 40-61. The intention is to allow games that run at exactly 60fps (for example emulated console games) to use freesync and avoid tearing.

This seems to work correctly (for example the Pendulum demo is now tear-free when I set it to 60, whereas it tore horribly before- and playing games in Dolphin also seems to use freesync@60ish).

Are there any downsides to doing this that I might have missed? The only thing I can think of is that the frame pacing of 60FPS video, when using a player that can't engage freesync, might be off.
Just make sure it's not skipping frames: https://www.testufo.com/frameskipping

FreeSync monitors usually don't skip frames with FreeSync on, so it should be fine.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-20-2018, 11:06 PM (This post was last modified: 09-23-2018 01:36 AM by pinumbernumber.)
Post: #3616
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-20-2018 08:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Just make sure it's not skipping frames: https://www.testufo.com/frameskipping

FreeSync monitors usually don't skip frames with FreeSync on, so it should be fine.
Great- I increased it to 62 and still no skipping. I could probably go higher and try to find the limit, but I'm happy with this.

I actually have the freesync range set to 38-62, but extending it downwards doesn't really work... in fact it's now very reluctant to stay freesync'd at exactly 40fps, whereas that did work before. Looks like bumping up the maximum/"native" refresh rate also bumps up the freesync minimum. I certainly have no objections to that- 42-62 is a much better range for me than 40-60 since I can now sync perfectly with emulated 60hz content.

Edit: 63 now, after reading an article advising that an FRTC/RTSS cap should be set to 3 below that native refresh rate.

Edit edit: Couldn't resist trying higher... it happily accepts 72+ but frameskips on anything higher than 63. Looks like I got lucky since +3fps is apparently the magic number I need for reliable 60hz freesync.

Samsung UJ590. Thanks a ton for this tool!

Also tried it on my AOC Q2778VQE, a 1440p60 panel. Frameskipped with anything >60, but I did manage to swap out the default weird 59.something for exactly 60.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-24-2018, 09:02 PM
Post: #3617
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have the Acer Aspire A717-72G-700J with, the Intel UHD 630 and Nvidia GTX 1060. I can't get the custom Hz settings to appear in display properties. Only the Intel UHD 630 GPU is listed in display properties with, all compatible resolutions at 60Hz. No way to overclock as, another user who has this laptop was able to. He posted (on another site) saying, he was able to overclock it to 90Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2018, 04:01 PM
Post: #3618
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey, I've been using CRU for quite a while now with my CRT monitor, and I just wanted to say a big THANK YOU for your work on the software. I appreciate your work and hope that good fortune comes to you. That's it. Thanks Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-27-2018, 04:46 AM
Post: #3619
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
@ToastyX hi when you will have time can u respond to my private msg it will be verry fun ^^
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-06-2018, 09:44 PM
Post: #3620
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
THX for the Great work.
I can see in 1.4.1

- FreeSync range: added support for editing FreeSync 2 ranges
- Added support for HDR static metadata blocks

Can you elaborate the HDR settings ?
What we can do in this, i can see that Values are from 1-100 it mean 100%?

ZEN k17 8/16 4.01 GHz / Crosshair Hero VI / Predator 4133 CL19 1T / ATI Vega 64 XTX LiquiD / SB Z + MOD / XTR|SeaSonic 780 Platinum / CM WC Nepton 280L with Cold-Water MOD / Samie 850Pro 512GB System & RAID 0 + 2nd. 850Pro 512GB as Cache / Corsair 750D / ProLite XUB2792QSU-B1 10Bit > http://loccothan.blogspot.com
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 32 Guest(s)