Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
04-06-2019, 03:23 AM
Post: #3971
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-05-2019 01:09 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(04-05-2019 09:22 AM)Azex Wrote:  Big fan! I have been using CRU for a long time and have overclocked my monitor from 60hz to 77hz successfully. Now i have some questions that need your help. My current res is 1920x1080 at 77hz (Pixel Clock: 179.22 Mhz), after 77.00 hz if i go further to 78hz my monitor which is a Samsung sa350 shows the not optimal mode pop up and it doesn't go away. so i add a new stretch res in CRU 1444x1080 at 80hz and the pixel clocks reaches only 155.16hz and then i restart my pc and go to monitor settings, and the 80hz doesn't show up in that only 77hz and 60hz exist. Why is that? so i figure that only the refresh rate's with the native res will register in display adapter properties and no other res will work in cru. So i was wondering is there any way to bypass that?
The monitor settings only show the refresh rate for the current resolution. You have to switch to 1444x1080 first, or use the "List All Modes" button. If you still don't see the refresh rate, then you have GPU scaling enabled. GPU scaling scales everything to the native resolution, so only refresh rates at the native resolution will be available. Also, Samsung monitors usually don't allow more than 77 Hz regardless of the resolution, so you will get the "Not Optimum Mode" message at 80 Hz.


(04-05-2019 09:22 AM)Azex Wrote:  And 2nd question- Should i keep my timing parameters as high as possible or as low as possible, since increasing the timing parameters increases the pixel clock value and its obvious that our monitors can read data from cable at a limited value. so increasing the value would result in it not being able to read it and cause lag or something.I mainly play games like fortnite, pubg so should i keep at default value or lower for max refresh rate and stable gameplay?
It doesn't matter much if you're not hitting pixel clock limits. Higher blanking/totals just waste bandwidth. Lower vertical blanking/totals can cause the video card to not clock down when idle.


(04-05-2019 09:22 AM)Azex Wrote:  3rd question - the range limits, i set Vrate: 72-77hz Hrate: 31-81 and Max Pixel Clock to 240Mhz and i figured out these values do have an affect on the game like when i put my Max Pixel clock to 300Mhz or higher the game stutters a lot or even when i put Vrate:76-77hz it still stutters af. Now i do something extra while playing i put the process priority to realtime through task manager and the game feels really smooth like i get constant 77hz but sometimes it crashes. but when i play the same game at normal priority the game feels like its running on 30hz so how do i fix this ??
The range limits would not affect performance like that. CRU does not even include the range limits by default unless you have a DisplayPort FreeSync monitor, in which case the vertical rate would control the FreeSync range.

I disabled gpu scaling and you were right samsung cant go beyond 77hz, is that a firmware limitation or hardware limitation? if it is firmware, can you code it to increase the refresh rate limits?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2019, 08:07 PM
Post: #3972
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-06-2019 03:23 AM)Azex Wrote:  I disabled gpu scaling and you were right samsung cant go beyond 77hz, is that a firmware limitation or hardware limitation? if it is firmware, can you code it to increase the refresh rate limits?
Firmware, but I have no way to edit the firmware.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2019, 08:07 PM
Post: #3973
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-05-2019 02:32 PM)Wrighton Wrote:  I’ve been experiencing a strange audio issue that only occurs when I modify the Freesync range on my monitor.

I have a MG279Q that I change from 35-90 to 57-144. When changed, every time I start up the PC I get no detectable audio over display port.
No trouble shooting or anything fixes it until I either restart the AMD display driver using the windows 10 shortcut or turn the monitor off and back on.
If I reset the settings with CRU back to default that also works but then I’m stuck with the crap freesync range.

Do you know if there’s anything I’m not doing in CRU that might be causing it?
I'm not sure. It might be related to the reduced horizontal blanking at 120/144 Hz. What happens if you change 144 Hz to use "LCD native" timing?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-07-2019, 10:23 AM
Post: #3974
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-06-2019 08:07 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  I'm not sure. It might be related to the reduced horizontal blanking at 120/144 Hz. What happens if you change 144 Hz to use "LCD native" timing?
Thank you!
I wasn’t holding my breath but that looks to have fixed it.
I’ve had this problem for months so I’m hoping it doesn’t return.

Cheers Toasty!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-07-2019, 09:40 PM (This post was last modified: 04-08-2019 06:12 PM by Benman2785.)
Post: #3975
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
hey - i bought an ACER Nitro 5 AN515-42 (Ryzen 5 2500U + RX 560X)
it has a AUO B156HAN06.0 (maybe HW2A) 60hz IPS Display - i overclocked it to 100hz so far (dont need more hz) - is that "save"?

https://imgur.com/a/enCHuGf

also: how do i enable FreeSync with CRU 1.4.1 in my settings?
a FreeSync-Range from 45-100 would be great; or 35-75 (if 75hz is more save)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-2019, 09:48 PM
Post: #3976
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-07-2019 09:40 PM)Benman2785 Wrote:  hey - i bought an ACER Nitro 5 AN515-42 (Ryzen 5 2500U + RX 560X)
it has a AUO B156HAN06.0 (maybe HW2A) 60hz IPS Display - i overclocked it to 100hz so far (dont need more hz) - is that "save"?
From a few posts above: There's no way to know for sure how it would affect the lifespan of the monitor, but I haven't seen any significant issues with running higher refresh rates for long periods of time. For example, many people have been running the Catleap/QNIX monitors at 96+ Hz for several years without issues. I've had mine for 7 years.


(04-07-2019 09:40 PM)Benman2785 Wrote:  also: how do i enable FreeSync with CRU 1.4.1 in my settings?
a FreeSync-Range from 45-100 would be great; or 35-75 (if 75hz is more save)
You can't.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-09-2019, 08:41 AM
Post: #3977
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
thank you ToastyX
i will stick to my 100hz Overclock Wink

about FreeSync - yeah i was dumb - i forgot that it has to be in the display driver to work
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2019, 02:28 PM
Post: #3978
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey guys!

I have overclocked my previous laptop's monitor in the past, however I just got a MSI GS63vr (Sky Lake CPU) which for some reason I was not able to overclock.

I tried installing multiple versions of the Intel drivers, however none was successful.
After installing the drivers, I configured CRU and restart the system, but the new refresh rate does not appear neither in Display Adapters nor Intel's software.

Any ideas??
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2019, 05:02 PM
Post: #3979
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-11-2019 02:28 PM)educhoi Wrote:  I have overclocked my previous laptop's monitor in the past, however I just got a MSI GS63vr (Sky Lake CPU) which for some reason I was not able to overclock.

I tried installing multiple versions of the Intel drivers, however none was successful.
After installing the drivers, I configured CRU and restart the system, but the new refresh rate does not appear neither in Display Adapters nor Intel's software.
Resolutions not showing up are usually driver or hardware limitations. 1080p laptops with eDP (embedded DisplayPort) are often limited to 180 MHz (8 bpc) or 240 MHz (6 bpc) pixel clock.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-18-2019, 01:56 PM
Post: #3980
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello

I´m interested in the LG 34WK95U-W, 34" 21:9 monitor (nativ 5120x2160).
Does anybody know if it is possible to use or create 2560x1080 or 3440x1440 resolution with that monitor.
I have a nvidia RTX 2080 card.

Regards
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 23 Guest(s)