Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
04-18-2019, 02:39 PM
Post: #3981
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello, i have quite a small problem with CRU(and other utilities)...
I have Dell Studio XPS 1640 with Mobility Radeon HD 4670 1GB and i have problems getting custom resolution to work on LVDS(internal display) with CRU, other registry modifications, RadeonMod modifications, .inf files. I don't know where is the problem with it. And also i tried HDMI monitor and result was same, still no custom resolution even after rebooting driver and also the whole os. If anyone wants to know, I am running fully updated Windows 7 with latest Catalyst 13.9 video driver for Mobility Radeon HD 4670 from AMD's official site. I will be grateful if there will be someone who will help me fix this issue. Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-18-2019, 10:14 PM
Post: #3982
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-18-2019 02:39 PM)Morc Wrote:  Hello, i have quite a small problem with CRU(and other utilities)...
I have Dell Studio XPS 1640 with Mobility Radeon HD 4670 1GB and i have problems getting custom resolution to work on LVDS(internal display) with CRU, other registry modifications, RadeonMod modifications, .inf files. I don't know where is the problem with it. And also i tried HDMI monitor and result was same, still no custom resolution even after rebooting driver and also the whole os. If anyone wants to know, I am running fully updated Windows 7 with latest Catalyst 13.9 video driver for Mobility Radeon HD 4670 from AMD's official site. I will be grateful if there will be someone who will help me fix this issue. Thanks!
What resolution is the internal display, and what resolution are you trying to add? What resolution did you try to add to the HDMI monitor?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-18-2019, 10:14 PM
Post: #3983
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-18-2019 01:56 PM)Antiram Wrote:  I´m interested in the LG 34WK95U-W, 34" 21:9 monitor (nativ 5120x2160).
Does anybody know if it is possible to use or create 2560x1080 or 3440x1440 resolution with that monitor.
I have a nvidia RTX 2080 card.
It should be possible. Even if the monitor doesn't support those resolutions, it should be possible with GPU scaling.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2019, 07:31 AM
Post: #3984
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-18-2019 10:14 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  What resolution is the internal display, and what resolution are you trying to add? What resolution did you try to add to the HDMI monitor?
The internal display has resolution 1600x900 and i tried to add 75Hz version of 1600x900 with no luck, 1366x768 60Hz with still no luck and 1920x1080 60Hz and that didn't work either and even more various resolutions( which also didn't work. Is there a chance that Catalyst Control Center is blocking it somehow?
And for the HDMI 1080p monitor i only tried 2560x1440 and that didn't work. But i saw a weird thing because Windows shows that my recommended monitor resolution was 1680x1050 even if Catalyst Control Center and Windows shows maximum supported 1080p.
The only thing i saw changing was the monitor/display name
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2019, 04:24 PM
Post: #3985
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-19-2019 07:31 AM)Morc Wrote:  The internal display has resolution 1600x900 and i tried to add 75Hz version of 1600x900 with no luck, 1366x768 60Hz with still no luck and 1920x1080 60Hz and that didn't work either and even more various resolutions( which also didn't work. Is there a chance that Catalyst Control Center is blocking it somehow?
And for the HDMI 1080p monitor i only tried 2560x1440 and that didn't work. But i saw a weird thing because Windows shows that my recommended monitor resolution was 1680x1050 even if Catalyst Control Center and Windows shows maximum supported 1080p.
The only thing i saw changing was the monitor/display name
I don't know why the driver is ignoring custom resolutions with the internal display. For the HDMI monitor, 4000-series GPUs don't support more than 165 MHz pixel clock with HDMI, so try something lower.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-23-2019, 03:34 PM
Post: #3986
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello Toastyx I kinda give up on doing my own reserach etc...
PC Spec:
Monitor : https://eu.aoc.com/en/gaming/products/g2590vxq/specs
V-card: https://www.asus.com/us/Graphics-Cards/C...050TI-O4G/
Displayport : https://www.club-3d.com/en/detail/2428/d...1m-3.28ft/

Nvidia Setting: https://imgur.com/a/wqXqr6a
DOTA in game vsetting: https://imgur.com/a/q8s1mOc
Moniifo: (no clue what im looking at) https://imgur.com/a/TCNRSnZ

I can only see 60hz fullscreen in dota 2, and bw 75hz... is there any I can tweak or do something? I already spend around 50euroes trying to figure out... bought already 2x hdmi clueless 2x displatyport and last the dp which im using now.. i tried ot add 1hz like 76hz after restart popup from monitor saying No Support

I really wanna play with gsync since I play dota almost 10-15games a day (yeah no life)

if I dont put gsyn and fps_max 0 on dota 2 in game I get nice fps 300+ but my machine is noisy as fuckk already... any tips tricks etc will be lot for me... cant spend anymore to noob that I bought freesnyc monitor and nvidia card.. failed that research a year ago....

TY GUYS!!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2019, 04:46 AM
Post: #3987
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-23-2019 03:34 PM)valkyrie1604 Wrote:  I can only see 60hz fullscreen in dota 2, and bw 75hz... is there any I can tweak or do something?
That seems like a driver bug to me. I don't see a reason why 75 Hz wouldn't be available in exclusive fullscreen mode if it's available on the desktop. Does that only happen with G-SYNC on?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2019, 06:08 PM
Post: #3988
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I've come to this thread many times and read various pages but haven't found enough info to fix my problems. Wondering if someone can help me understand 2 issues.

Have a TCL S405 4k TV, laptop connected through HDMI, that I often game on. Initially when gaming in 1920x1080 or 1600x900 resolution, the TV or laptop seems to upscale and output to the native res of 4k as displayed when I hit the info button on the TV. The problem is my graphics card can only do up to 30hz at 4k, so as long as it is outputting in 4k I can't get 1080p 60hz even if that is what I have the game set to. I have solved this problem in 95% of games with CRU by deleting or lowering priority of 3840x2160 under detailed resolutions and moving 1080 to the top. This causes the image to be output at 1080p 60hz and the TV properly shows this in the info. Some rare games still give me odd issues, like I can run at 1600x900 60hz but if I set the game to 1080 it will resort to outputting 4k 30hz again. I'm hoping to better understand why this happens.

2nd issue is, sometimes I will lose audio over HDMI. I hit restart.exe, then the HDMI audio device will completely disappear from playback devices and I'm left with only "Speakers". If I unplug/replug HDMI cable to restore default TV settings the HDMI audio device will return. I have tried importing the hdmi-audio.dat extension block but I seem to be missing something there. It seems like if I simply deprioritize 3840x2160 instead of outright deleting it I can get 60hz without losing HDMI audio. But I'm not entirely sure if that is what's solving it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2019, 07:13 PM
Post: #3989
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-25-2019 06:08 PM)Deceptive Pastry Wrote:  Have a TCL S405 4k TV, laptop connected through HDMI, that I often game on. Initially when gaming in 1920x1080 or 1600x900 resolution, the TV or laptop seems to upscale and output to the native res of 4k as displayed when I hit the info button on the TV. The problem is my graphics card can only do up to 30hz at 4k, so as long as it is outputting in 4k I can't get 1080p 60hz even if that is what I have the game set to. I have solved this problem in 95% of games with CRU by deleting or lowering priority of 3840x2160 under detailed resolutions and moving 1080 to the top. This causes the image to be output at 1080p 60hz and the TV properly shows this in the info. Some rare games still give me odd issues, like I can run at 1600x900 60hz but if I set the game to 1080 it will resort to outputting 4k 30hz again. I'm hoping to better understand why this happens.

2nd issue is, sometimes I will lose audio over HDMI. I hit restart.exe, then the HDMI audio device will completely disappear from playback devices and I'm left with only "Speakers". If I unplug/replug HDMI cable to restore default TV settings the HDMI audio device will return. I have tried importing the hdmi-audio.dat extension block but I seem to be missing something there. It seems like if I simply deprioritize 3840x2160 instead of outright deleting it I can get 60hz without losing HDMI audio. But I'm not entirely sure if that is what's solving it.
The way it's supposed to work is if GPU scaling is enabled in the driver, lower resolutions are scaled to the first detailed resolution, and the only refresh rates that are available are the ones defined for that resolution. If GPU scaling is disabled, resolutions defined in the EDID (shown in CRU) are sent to the monitor. The driver also automatically adds some common lower resolutions as scaled resolutions if they aren't defined in the EDID, which is how 1600x900 exists regardless. Some games might be trying to switch to 1920x1080 @ 30 Hz for some reason, which would be scaled to 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz if 1920x1080 @ 30 Hz is not defined in the EDID.

The audio issue might be a driver bug. To troubleshoot both issues, I would try just the bare minimum configuration that does what you want.

Try importing this file and do NOT check the "Import complete EDID" option:
.bin  test.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 14)

That includes 1920x1080 @ 60 Hz, 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz, and HDMI audio.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2019, 05:42 PM (This post was last modified: 04-28-2019 05:48 PM by Darkhuhn.)
Post: #3990
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello,

im trying to enable Freesync support on my non freesync Monitor(Samsung 27jg50) over DP 1.2 with a vega 56 graphics card but no matter what i do, my freesync range wont show up in the Radeon Settings menue. Is it even possible with DP or do i have to use HDMI?

here are my settings:            

Did i do something wrong or missed something?

Thanks in advance!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 45 Guest(s)