Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-04-2019, 04:00 PM
Post: #4171
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-04-2019 02:48 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-04-2019 01:29 PM)MrSux0rs Wrote:  My laptop is a Latitude 7480 - it has a USB-C, which I believe can transmit DisplayPort signals? If I get a DisplayPort > USB-C cable, would that allow me to achieve this?
That should work.

Thank you - I'll let you know tomorrow!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-09-2019, 02:32 AM (This post was last modified: Today 03:44 PM by pabloa2.)
Post: #4172
Acer XG270HU
First of all, thanks to the creator of this tool, I will be donating soon. I am now running in pure RGB Rec. 2020 mode with zero banding and couldn't be happier. It took a little getting used to because I was using ycbcr mode with my old monitor for years. After you get used to the widely increased range of pure RGB you can't go back though. There is literally zero grayscale banding on test images. Even when I put my face up to the screen I couldn't find any banding whatsoever. There was some manual calibration that had to be done to the monitor settings themselves but now I say I can see almost the entire Rec. 2020 spectrum which is pretty amazing. Again, thank you very much. If anyone wants the modded EDID I created for Display Port with more 16:9 resolutions, pure rgb mode, the Rec. 2020 profile and FreeSync range edited to 1-2 hz (disabled because I'm on nvidia) just request it here and I'll post it.

You can test your monitor for grayscale banding here.

Grayscale Banding Test

If you have any banding whatsoever it probably means you are not using pure RGB mode. If I use Ycbcr of any sort there will be clearly visible banding on this image. Ycbcr 4:4:4 DOES NOT equal pure RGB. They are not the same. 4:4:4 RGB is uncompressed RGB color data. It is different from Ycbcr 4:4:4 where chroma information is subsampled and color information is stripped. The whole purpose of Ycbcr was to cut down the amount of data traveling over the display bus while trying to keep as accurate of color as possible. In other words, COMPRESSION. This was because low spec HDMI had low bandwidth. You don't want it and don't need it anymore. Computers and monitors process data in 4:4:4 RGB anyways and now with high bandwidth Display Port there is literally no reason not to use uncompressed display data.

Note: This monitor is not a wide gamut monitor but with properly calibrated rgbymc settings and tweaking contrast and saturation settings over a period of a couple days I was able to squeeze out a nice percentage of the BT2020 spectrum. It's important to remember that most monitors come with very basic calibration from the factory and it's important to calibrate the hue, saturation, brightness and contrast with test images or a professional calibrator. If you don't do this you are left with a sub-par "factory calibration" which is never perfect.

--- My Personal Settings for Acer XG270HU ---

## In Monitor Settings ##

Picture - Brightness - 50
Picture - Contrast - 73
Picture - Blue Light - Off
Picture - Black Boost - 8
Picture - ACM - Off
Picture - Super Sharpness - Off

Color - Gamma - 24

Color - Color Temp. - User

Color - R Gain - 38
Color - G Gain - 38
Color - B Gain - 38
Color - R Bias - 38
Color - G Bias - 38
Color - B Bias - 38

Color - sRGB Mode - Off

Color - 6-axis Red Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Green Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Blue Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Yellow Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Magenta Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Cyan Hue - 50

Color - 6-axis Red Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Green Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Blue Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Yellow Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Magenta Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Cyan Saturate - 33

Gaming - Over Drive - This is personal preference. Normal gives you about 5 ms input lag time and is the default for gamers but introduces a very small amount of ghosting. Extreme tries to cut that time down even more and exhibits more severe ghosting. Off gives you more input lag and less ghosting.

System - DP Format - DP12
System - HDMI Black Level - Normal

## In Operating System Settings ##

Try to keep all color levels at default and keep range at full (0-255). These settings are for pure RGB.

----------------------

This will take away most of the harshness of the screen while providing a very large gamut. This screen still has it's flaws, as it's meant primarily to provide very low lag, high fps gaming, but when properly calibrated it makes it a much more pleasant experience. I spent about 3 days trying to tweak away the harshness of the screen. One of the big problems with this monitor is that if you set the brightness above maybe 70ish it will add a yellowish tinge to the screen. This screen will also introduce a moire effect on dark black text and lines if any adjustment or brightness is off. I don't quite understand it because for example a setting of 65 on brightness produces no moire but 63 has heavy moire. Certain values of brightness will produce a nasty moire effect and certain ones won't and there's no specific pattern. I think it has something to do with the fine matte finish on the monitor but I could be wrong. Again, most of the problems are tied to the backlight on this monitor which leaves you wondering why Acer went with a cheap backlight on this otherwise very nice monitor (144 fps, 1ms grey to grey, and very low input lag). With that said, these exact settings make this monitor okay to look at. If I deviate 1 step up or down with any setting it seems to throw off the balance of the monitor and introduce either moire or oversaturation. Also, to add insult to injury, all the built-in presets look like absolute washed out p**p. I'm exhausted trying to tweak this thing anymore so this is where it will stay as of 9-16-2019.

EDIT 9-16-19: Final Settings Edit 2 - I may change these settings periodically if I find something that works better. This monitor is very finicky and has odd characteristics when it comes to brightness and color saturation so I might think of a better way to make it tolerable for every day.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-09-2019, 06:18 PM (This post was last modified: 09-09-2019 10:39 PM by sureshoe.)
Post: #4173
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Thanks in advance for all the work - I want to make sure I'm using this tool correctly and see if you have thoughts on an issue I'm having.

I have a Samsung UJ59 31.5" monitor and AMD Radeon RX 580. FreeSync enabled on both. 3840x2160 is the current resolution. DisplayPort.

I have this monitor behind a bezel, and I want to squeeze it vertically by 100 pixels (using it to play MAME + other emulators). Using CRU, I was able to get it to display at 3840x2060

On first try, the screen kept resetting and it wouldn't work at all. I turned on GPU Scaling and that seemed to resolve it after a reset/retry.

EDIT > I reset and retested. I rebooted, powered down after the reset. I then used CRU to add 3840x2060 as the resolution. I rebooted the whole machine. I then set in Display Settings 3840x2060 the resolution. It worked. Apps that changed resolution (like MAME) worked.


I rebooted, the settings stayed. I then logged back into my account and let the computer sit. When the monitor slept, I checked the system - it reverted back to 3840x2160. Any ideas?

One other note is that in AMD's Display settings, it won't let me save any Custom Resolution at all - even clicking "new" and using all defaults with 3840x2160 - it says it's not supported. Not getting any help from AMD on this either, so turning to a utility.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-10-2019, 01:26 PM
Post: #4174
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hola! Muchísimas gracias por tu aporte. Descargue el programa, me resuelve la resolución pero me cambia los colores del monitor, los rojos se ven rosados o violetas, los amarillos verdes.... me puedes ayudar?
mi PC tiene un GPU Nvidia 1650 CO de Zotac, tengo un TV led genérico Sanyo LCE 24XF9T (1080p) conectado por HDMI
Los Driver de Nvidia me dan el color correcto pero es como un 720 estirado, tengo que elegir entre el color o la resolución.....
si me puedes ayudar te habrás ganado mis $$$$. Gracias!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-10-2019, 02:33 PM
Post: #4175
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-09-2019 06:18 PM)sureshoe Wrote:  I rebooted, the settings stayed. I then logged back into my account and let the computer sit. When the monitor slept, I checked the system - it reverted back to 3840x2160. Any ideas?
DisplayPort disconnects when the monitor sleeps, but the resolution shouldn't reset unless there's a driver bug or some background service interfering. You might have better luck using the HDMI 2.0 port.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 08:04 AM
Post: #4176
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, could you help me please?
I used the CRU to add a resolution, but for some reason it doubled my vertical resolution. So now I only see the top half of my screen. I tried booting into safe mode and changing the resolution, then deleting the files, didn't help. I tried reinstalling Windows, I tried formatting the hard drive. None of those worked. I couldnt complete the windows installation since I didnt see the bottom half of the screen. Could it be that it changed the settings on my graphics card somehow?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 02:04 PM
Post: #4177
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-13-2019 08:04 AM)Tilchos Wrote:  I used the CRU to add a resolution, but for some reason it doubled my vertical resolution. So now I only see the top half of my screen. I tried booting into safe mode and changing the resolution, then deleting the files, didn't help. I tried reinstalling Windows, I tried formatting the hard drive. None of those worked. I couldnt complete the windows installation since I didnt see the bottom half of the screen. Could it be that it changed the settings on my graphics card somehow?
No, try unplugging the monitor's power for a minute just in case it's a firmware glitch.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 05:21 PM
Post: #4178
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-13-2019 02:04 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-13-2019 08:04 AM)Tilchos Wrote:  I used the CRU to add a resolution, but for some reason it doubled my vertical resolution. So now I only see the top half of my screen. I tried booting into safe mode and changing the resolution, then deleting the files, didn't help. I tried reinstalling Windows, I tried formatting the hard drive. None of those worked. I couldnt complete the windows installation since I didnt see the bottom half of the screen. Could it be that it changed the settings on my graphics card somehow?
No, try unplugging the monitor's power for a minute just in case it's a firmware glitch.

Didn't fix the issue. I start getting the issue a few seconds after the Windows logo pops up. The resolution before that is normal (i.e. ASRock screen for entering BIOS).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 05:41 PM
Post: #4179
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-13-2019 05:21 PM)Tilchos Wrote:  Didn't fix the issue. I start getting the issue a few seconds after the Windows logo pops up. The resolution before that is normal (i.e. ASRock screen for entering BIOS).
What monitor is it? What graphics card? What resolution did you try to add?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 06:02 PM
Post: #4180
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-13-2019 05:41 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-13-2019 05:21 PM)Tilchos Wrote:  Didn't fix the issue. I start getting the issue a few seconds after the Windows logo pops up. The resolution before that is normal (i.e. ASRock screen for entering BIOS).
What monitor is it? What graphics card? What resolution did you try to add?

Monitor is Samsung Syncmaster 932MW, graphics card is a brand new Radeon RX 570 and the resolution I tried to add was 1440x900 (the resolution of my monitor.
I really appreciate you helping out, thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 56 Guest(s)