Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-04-2019, 04:00 PM
Post: #4171
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-04-2019 02:48 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-04-2019 01:29 PM)MrSux0rs Wrote:  My laptop is a Latitude 7480 - it has a USB-C, which I believe can transmit DisplayPort signals? If I get a DisplayPort > USB-C cable, would that allow me to achieve this?
That should work.

Thank you - I'll let you know tomorrow!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-09-2019, 02:32 AM (Last edited: 09-19-2019, 12:16 PM by pabloa2)
Post: #4172
Acer XG270HU
First of all, thanks to the creator of this tool, I will be donating soon. This tool helped me add many more resolutions and lower thresholds for my Acer XG270HU. I added resolutions such as 2048x1152@144hz, 1920x1080@30hz and 2560x1440@60i which were not available before and this makes me happy and want to throw money at you. Anyway, the rest of this is just miscellaneous information about this monitor that people may find helpful.

Lagom.nl LCD Calibration Test Images

If you have any banding whatsoever on the greyscale banding test it probably means you are not using pure RGB mode. If I use Ycbcr of any sort there will be clearly visible banding on this image. Ycbcr 4:4:4 DOES NOT equal pure RGB. They are not the same. 4:4:4 RGB is uncompressed RGB color data. It is different from Ycbcr 4:4:4 where chroma information is subsampled and color information is stripped. The whole purpose of Ycbcr was to cut down the amount of data traveling over the display bus while trying to keep as accurate of color as possible. In other words, COMPRESSION. This was because low spec HDMI had low bandwidth. You don't want it and don't need it anymore. Computers and monitors process data in 4:4:4 RGB anyways and now with high bandwidth Display Port there is literally no reason not to use uncompressed display data.

Note: This monitor is not a wide gamut monitor but with properly calibrated rgbymc settings and tweaking contrast and saturation settings over a period of a couple days I was able to squeeze out a nice percentage of the BT2020 spectrum. It's important to remember that most monitors come with very basic calibration from the factory and it's important to calibrate the hue, saturation, brightness and contrast with test images or a professional calibrator. If you don't do this you are left with a sub-par "factory calibration" which is never perfect.

--- My Personal Settings for Acer XG270HU ---

## In Monitor Settings ##

Picture - Brightness - 50 or 75 seem to work well.
Picture - Contrast - 73
Picture - Blue Light - Off
Picture - Black Boost - 8
Picture - ACM - Off
Picture - Super Sharpness - Off

Color - Gamma - 24

Color - Color Temp. - User

Color - R Gain - 38
Color - G Gain - 38
Color - B Gain - 38
Color - R Bias - 38
Color - G Bias - 38
Color - B Bias - 38

Color - sRGB Mode - Off

Color - 6-axis Red Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Green Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Blue Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Yellow Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Magenta Hue - 50
Color - 6-axis Cyan Hue - 50

Color - 6-axis Red Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Green Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Blue Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Yellow Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Magenta Saturate - 33
Color - 6-axis Cyan Saturate - 33

Gaming - Over Drive - This is personal preference. Normal gives you about 5 ms input lag time and is the default for gamers but introduces a very small amount of ghosting. Extreme tries to cut that time down even more and exhibits more severe ghosting. Off gives you more input lag and less ghosting.

System - DP Format - DP12
System - HDMI Black Level - Normal

## In Operating System Settings ##

Try to keep all color levels at default and keep range at full (0-255). These settings are for pure RGB.

----------------------

This will take away most of the harshness of the screen while providing a very large gamut. This screen still has it's flaws, as it's meant primarily to provide very low lag, high fps gaming, but when properly calibrated it makes it a much more pleasant experience.

----------------------

Things I learned about this monitor:

I figured out why the screen seems so harsh at most settings. I figured out through trial and error that there are a couple brightness settings that have no moire whatsoever. Remember this is a tightly packed screen with a matte finish so I knew moire might be a problem. With that said 50 and 75 seem to have no moire whatsoever that I can notice and actually look very good for dark black text and lines with a soft but not overly fuzzy look and proper black tone. That means there is something funny going on with the configuration of the led backlight pixels themselves and how the led backlight brightness is controlled from the monitor settings. I'm glad I figured this quirk of the monitor out because I was going to put a strike on Acer for this one. I don't think it is their fault really, it is probably just a flaw of the actual design of the led backlight itself and the matte finish that seem to produce eye strain inducing moire at most brightness settings above 50.

All hue, saturation, bias and gain settings must be tied together or else it will produce irrevocable color saturation problems.

Black Boost above 8 creates eye strain.

These exact numbers create a very nice image. If I deviate at all from these settings it does not look right. Don't ask why, I don't know either. I'm just happy I stumbled across these settings.


EDIT 9-16-19: Final Settings Edit 2 - These settings are as good as it's going to get, I'm convinced. It actually has a very nice picture with these settings, dare I say it. Who knows why these particular numbers work, but they do.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-09-2019, 06:18 PM (Last edited: 09-09-2019, 10:39 PM by sureshoe)
Post: #4173
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Thanks in advance for all the work - I want to make sure I'm using this tool correctly and see if you have thoughts on an issue I'm having.

I have a Samsung UJ59 31.5" monitor and AMD Radeon RX 580. FreeSync enabled on both. 3840x2160 is the current resolution. DisplayPort.

I have this monitor behind a bezel, and I want to squeeze it vertically by 100 pixels (using it to play MAME + other emulators). Using CRU, I was able to get it to display at 3840x2060

On first try, the screen kept resetting and it wouldn't work at all. I turned on GPU Scaling and that seemed to resolve it after a reset/retry.

EDIT > I reset and retested. I rebooted, powered down after the reset. I then used CRU to add 3840x2060 as the resolution. I rebooted the whole machine. I then set in Display Settings 3840x2060 the resolution. It worked. Apps that changed resolution (like MAME) worked.


I rebooted, the settings stayed. I then logged back into my account and let the computer sit. When the monitor slept, I checked the system - it reverted back to 3840x2160. Any ideas?

One other note is that in AMD's Display settings, it won't let me save any Custom Resolution at all - even clicking "new" and using all defaults with 3840x2160 - it says it's not supported. Not getting any help from AMD on this either, so turning to a utility.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-10-2019, 01:26 PM
Post: #4174
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hola! Muchísimas gracias por tu aporte. Descargue el programa, me resuelve la resolución pero me cambia los colores del monitor, los rojos se ven rosados o violetas, los amarillos verdes.... me puedes ayudar?
mi PC tiene un GPU Nvidia 1650 CO de Zotac, tengo un TV led genérico Sanyo LCE 24XF9T (1080p) conectado por HDMI
Los Driver de Nvidia me dan el color correcto pero es como un 720 estirado, tengo que elegir entre el color o la resolución.....
si me puedes ayudar te habrás ganado mis $$$$. Gracias!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-10-2019, 02:33 PM
Post: #4175
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-09-2019 06:18 PM)sureshoe Wrote:  I rebooted, the settings stayed. I then logged back into my account and let the computer sit. When the monitor slept, I checked the system - it reverted back to 3840x2160. Any ideas?
DisplayPort disconnects when the monitor sleeps, but the resolution shouldn't reset unless there's a driver bug or some background service interfering. You might have better luck using the HDMI 2.0 port.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 08:04 AM
Post: #4176
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, could you help me please?
I used the CRU to add a resolution, but for some reason it doubled my vertical resolution. So now I only see the top half of my screen. I tried booting into safe mode and changing the resolution, then deleting the files, didn't help. I tried reinstalling Windows, I tried formatting the hard drive. None of those worked. I couldnt complete the windows installation since I didnt see the bottom half of the screen. Could it be that it changed the settings on my graphics card somehow?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 02:04 PM
Post: #4177
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-13-2019 08:04 AM)Tilchos Wrote:  I used the CRU to add a resolution, but for some reason it doubled my vertical resolution. So now I only see the top half of my screen. I tried booting into safe mode and changing the resolution, then deleting the files, didn't help. I tried reinstalling Windows, I tried formatting the hard drive. None of those worked. I couldnt complete the windows installation since I didnt see the bottom half of the screen. Could it be that it changed the settings on my graphics card somehow?
No, try unplugging the monitor's power for a minute just in case it's a firmware glitch.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 05:21 PM
Post: #4178
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-13-2019 02:04 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-13-2019 08:04 AM)Tilchos Wrote:  I used the CRU to add a resolution, but for some reason it doubled my vertical resolution. So now I only see the top half of my screen. I tried booting into safe mode and changing the resolution, then deleting the files, didn't help. I tried reinstalling Windows, I tried formatting the hard drive. None of those worked. I couldnt complete the windows installation since I didnt see the bottom half of the screen. Could it be that it changed the settings on my graphics card somehow?
No, try unplugging the monitor's power for a minute just in case it's a firmware glitch.

Didn't fix the issue. I start getting the issue a few seconds after the Windows logo pops up. The resolution before that is normal (i.e. ASRock screen for entering BIOS).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 05:41 PM
Post: #4179
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-13-2019 05:21 PM)Tilchos Wrote:  Didn't fix the issue. I start getting the issue a few seconds after the Windows logo pops up. The resolution before that is normal (i.e. ASRock screen for entering BIOS).
What monitor is it? What graphics card? What resolution did you try to add?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2019, 06:02 PM
Post: #4180
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-13-2019 05:41 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-13-2019 05:21 PM)Tilchos Wrote:  Didn't fix the issue. I start getting the issue a few seconds after the Windows logo pops up. The resolution before that is normal (i.e. ASRock screen for entering BIOS).
What monitor is it? What graphics card? What resolution did you try to add?

Monitor is Samsung Syncmaster 932MW, graphics card is a brand new Radeon RX 570 and the resolution I tried to add was 1440x900 (the resolution of my monitor.
I really appreciate you helping out, thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 38 Guest(s)