Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
02-14-2013, 06:23 AM
Post: #41
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-14-2013 05:21 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-07-2012 09:06 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
  • This program adds monitor resolutions, not scaled resolutions. Lower resolutions will be scaled up if GPU scaling is enabled, but higher resolutions won't be scaled down by the GPU. Higher resolutions will only work if the monitor can handle them.
  • Single-link DVI and HDMI are limited to 165 MHz pixel clock unless the video driver is patched:

Single-link DVI and HDMI ports: The driver will ignore any resolutions past 165 MHz pixel clock unless the driver is patched. The patched driver will allow 2560x1440 @ 60 Hz over a single link, but the monitor has to support it.

Dual-link DVI ports: The driver will send a dual-link DVI signal past 165 MHz unless the driver is patched. The patched driver only raises the switchover value to 235 MHz to avoid interfering with dual-link DVI monitors, so 2560x1440 @ 60 Hz will not work properly with single-link DVI monitors.

This program was not intended for downscaling higher resolutions.


I see, then i will have to save and get a better monitor, thanks for replying!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-16-2013, 05:43 AM (This post was last modified: 02-16-2013 05:58 PM by partogi.)
Post: #42
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello, is there any detailed instruction / guide for how to use this program?

If I use dual-link DVI do I need to use clock patcher?

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2013, 04:45 PM
Post: #43
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
It was designed to be straightforward. Pick a monitor entry from the drop-down list, edit the resolutions as desired, then click OK and reboot. If a custom resolution isn't available after rebooting, then either the wrong monitor entry was edited or the video driver is ignoring the resolution for some reason, usually due to pixel clock limits.

Dual-link DVI supports up to 330 MHz without patching the driver, but the monitor has to support dual-link DVI to go beyond 165 MHz. Sending a dual-link DVI signal to a single-link DVI monitor will result in a blocky/distorted picture or no picture at all. 1920x1200/1080p monitors normally have single-link DVI except for 120/144 Hz monitors.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2013, 05:19 AM
Post: #44
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I'm using 13.2 beta 5 drivers (64-bit of course) with XFX 7970's in Crossfire. It worked fine with Windows 7 that I used last week. Got a copy of Windows 8 and reformatted. Did the exact same thing I did on 7, except that it's not working on 8. Sad

CCC sees that the monitor can do 100Hz, but still gives me the option for up to 60. I've had it at 110 Hz for a long time, same with when I had GTX 680 SLI. So my monitor shouldn't have a problem doing 100Hz. I also put on a second Crossfire bridge to see if it helped, but it made no difference. I read through all 5 pages on this thread to see if my question was asked here, but I've followed instructions for everything. Enabled testmode, then installed Catleap monitor drivers. Rebooted. Patched the drivers. Rebooted. Opened CRU and set the 100hz resolution in there and unchecked the extension box. Rebooted. Still no sign of the 100Hz option. It was just working fine with Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, and I was using 107Hz. What gives? Sad


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2013, 06:27 AM
Post: #45
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Wow nevermind, that was strange. All I had to do was disable Crossfire, and then the 100Hz option appeared. And then I set it to that, and re-enabled crossfire. 100Hz setting still remains applied. Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2013, 07:17 AM (This post was last modified: 02-25-2013 07:22 AM by ancalimon.)
Post: #46
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi. I have a Samsung 206BW. I used to be able to use 50hz with the native 1680-1050 using Powerstrip but Powerstrip can no longer change the refresh rate.

I created a new 1680-1050 resolution using CRU and made it 50hz. I could not create a standard resolution because it did not allow me to lower refresh rate below 60hz. I created it as the second detailed resolution.

What I want to do is to be able to choose the 50hz 1680-1050 resolution to use with an Amiga emulator named WinUAE.

The thing is I still can not change the refresh rate to 50 because only 60hz is listed.


EDIT: Nevermind. After rebooting it works! Smile The thing is I also have the following refresh rates under CCC: 25hz , 29hz, 30hz. Is this normal?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2013, 02:31 PM
Post: #47
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-25-2013 07:17 AM)ancalimon Wrote:  EDIT: Nevermind. After rebooting it works! Smile The thing is I also have the following refresh rates under CCC: 25hz , 29hz, 30hz. Is this normal?
Those are interlaced resolutions. Disabling the extension block might get rid of them. If it's already disabled, then the driver might have added them because it saw 50 Hz. You can ignore them. It's nothing to worry about.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-01-2013, 10:29 PM
Post: #48
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi

I have dell U2312HM and i'm trying to set refresh rate higher than 60Hz but no matter what number it says that the current input timing is not supported by display monitor. Any solution? I've done all the steps above. Thank you
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-02-2013, 01:16 AM
Post: #49
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
What refresh rates have you tried, and what settings?

These are known to work for 72 Hz:

H: 1920 32 40 40 112 2032
V: 1080 9 16 17 42 1122

H: 1920 32 40 40 112 2032
V: 1080 3 4 5 12 1092

H: 1920 24 32 48 104 2024
V: 1080 3 4 5 12 1092

The last two might get you to 74 Hz. I don't have a U2312HM, so I don't know if 75 Hz is possible.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-02-2013, 11:04 AM
Post: #50
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-02-2013 01:16 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  What refresh rates have you tried, and what settings?

These are known to work for 72 Hz:

H: 1920 32 40 40 112 2032
V: 1080 9 16 17 42 1122

H: 1920 32 40 40 112 2032
V: 1080 3 4 5 12 1092

H: 1920 24 32 48 104 2024
V: 1080 3 4 5 12 1092

The last two might get you to 74 Hz. I don't have a U2312HM, so I don't know if 75 Hz is possible.

It works on 72Hz, ty

But what about some lower res, could i get higher refresh rate on 720P for example?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 35 Guest(s)