Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-14-2021, 01:30 PM
Post: #6071
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-14-2021 10:39 AM)derek10 Wrote:  Is it possible to get a default native resolution higher than the max pixel clock , like 3840x2160 90hz? I added it in display i.d just fine.
You can have the resolution with a lower refresh rate such as 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz as the first detailed resolution. Then 3840x2160 will be considered the native resolution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-14-2021, 01:30 PM
Post: #6072
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-14-2021 12:58 PM)shankly1985 Wrote:  But if I used the method you described for HDMI and I change the range in that section it is all reported correctly.

Am I doing something wrong? I am using DisplayPort.
Did the first extension block have a FreeSync data block by default?
Is there a second extension block? If so, what data blocks are in it?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-14-2021, 01:45 PM (Last edited: Today, 05:33 PM by shankly1985)
Post: #6073
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-14-2021 01:30 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-14-2021 12:58 PM)shankly1985 Wrote:  But if I used the method you described for HDMI and I change the range in that section it is all reported correctly.

Am I doing something wrong? I am using DisplayPort.
Did the first extension block have a FreeSync data block by default?
Is there a second extension block? If so, what data blocks are in it?

Hi ToastyX

I have attached some images of CRU showing two extension blocks. my default freesync range is 48-160hz
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-14-2021, 02:36 PM
Post: #6074
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-14-2021 01:45 PM)shankly1985 Wrote:  I have attached some images of CRU showing two extension blocks. my default freesync range is 48-160hz
If the monitor has a FreeSync data block by default then edit that instead. The data block is not specific to HDMI, but I've only seen it used with HDMI until now. I don't know why AMD is not consistent with how FreeSync ranges are defined because this information isn't publicly available.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-14-2021, 02:41 PM
Post: #6075
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-14-2021 02:36 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-14-2021 01:45 PM)shankly1985 Wrote:  I have attached some images of CRU showing two extension blocks. my default freesync range is 48-160hz
If the monitor has a FreeSync data block by default then edit that instead. The data block is not specific to HDMI, but I've only seen it used with HDMI until now. I don't know why AMD is not consistent with how FreeSync ranges are defined because this information isn't publicly available.

Thanks I will do.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-15-2021, 02:13 PM (Last edited: 09-15-2021, 02:17 PM by derek10)
Post: #6076
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-14-2021 01:30 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-14-2021 10:39 AM)derek10 Wrote:  Is it possible to get a default native resolution higher than the max pixel clock , like 3840x2160 90hz? I added it in display i.d just fine.
You can have the resolution with a lower refresh rate such as 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz as the first detailed resolution. Then 3840x2160 will be considered the native resolution.
But not possible 90hz? The reason i ask is because the ReverB G2 VR is capped at 90hz but you will black screen your monitor and headset coming out of or into VR on any custom resolutions. I got a Headless ghost display port that has 4k@17hz default that i made 4k@90 but its annoying anytime u back out of steam or crash to have to change it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 09:48 AM
Post: #6077
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Honestly impressed you come in here everyday and answer many of the same questions. In any case, I've got an Asus ROG Swift PG259QN 360hz. I have ULMB turned out, not sure if that is a bad thing, sort of testing it out. In any case, it's set to 240hz, the maximum supported frames with ULMB turned on, I've watched 15 different videos, combed through this forum, read page 1 (especially the part about extension blocks) and have even gone off and tried and tested my own steps display scaling a stretched res. I don't know what the issue is, I don't know if one of the supported resolutions for this monitor, given that it's G-Sync, is 1750x1080, I don't know which resolutions this monitor supports while display scaling and I haven't found anybody else who has successfully done what I am trying to do. I just want a final answer on whether this is possible or not. If I can get a simple "yes". I'll keep trying to figure it out, if there is something I'm missing and the answer is "no", then I'd like to rest knowing it's beyond my control.

PC Specs:
10900k
Strix 3090
TridentZ's 3600mghz
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 12:06 PM
Post: #6078
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2021 09:48 AM)dvnnyrene Wrote:  Honestly impressed you come in here everyday and answer many of the same questions. In any case, I've got an Asus ROG Swift PG259QN 360hz. I have ULMB turned out, not sure if that is a bad thing, sort of testing it out. In any case, it's set to 240hz, the maximum supported frames with ULMB turned on, I've watched 15 different videos, combed through this forum, read page 1 (especially the part about extension blocks) and have even gone off and tried and tested my own steps display scaling a stretched res. I don't know what the issue is, I don't know if one of the supported resolutions for this monitor, given that it's G-Sync, is 1750x1080, I don't know which resolutions this monitor supports while display scaling and I haven't found anybody else who has successfully done what I am trying to do. I just want a final answer on whether this is possible or not. If I can get a simple "yes". I'll keep trying to figure it out, if there is something I'm missing and the answer is "no", then I'd like to rest knowing it's beyond my control.
What is the problem that you're having?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 12:08 PM
Post: #6079
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-15-2021 02:13 PM)derek10 Wrote:  But not possible 90hz? The reason i ask is because the ReverB G2 VR is capped at 90hz but you will black screen your monitor and headset coming out of or into VR on any custom resolutions. I got a Headless ghost display port that has 4k@17hz default that i made 4k@90 but its annoying anytime u back out of steam or crash to have to change it.
The refresh rate of the first detailed resolution isn't important. Only the resolution part is considered the native resolution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 03:56 PM
Post: #6080
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2021 12:06 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-16-2021 09:48 AM)dvnnyrene Wrote:  Honestly impressed you come in here everyday and answer many of the same questions. In any case, I've got an Asus ROG Swift PG259QN 360hz. I have ULMB turned out, not sure if that is a bad thing, sort of testing it out. In any case, it's set to 240hz, the maximum supported frames with ULMB turned on, I've watched 15 different videos, combed through this forum, read page 1 (especially the part about extension blocks) and have even gone off and tried and tested my own steps display scaling a stretched res. I don't know what the issue is, I don't know if one of the supported resolutions for this monitor, given that it's G-Sync, is 1750x1080, I don't know which resolutions this monitor supports while display scaling and I haven't found anybody else who has successfully done what I am trying to do. I just want a final answer on whether this is possible or not. If I can get a simple "yes". I'll keep trying to figure it out, if there is something I'm missing and the answer is "no", then I'd like to rest knowing it's beyond my control.
What is the problem that you're having?
The issue is I can't get use display scaling with a stretched res, namely, 1750x1080, but I tried a bunch of different resolutions to see if any would work. At first I was following itsJerian's video, blackscreened a few times. I then moved onto Huncho's video referenced in Jerian's YT vid, then Huncho's Google Doc, testing and trying all of the recommendations if it doesn't work, finally I moved onto Fr33thy's 21 minute video and another 40 minute video... nothing seemed to be working until I followed some of recommendations made by you in regards to the extension blocks. In any case, I just want to know if I am chasing my own tail here.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 62 Guest(s)