Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-16-2021, 04:10 PM
Post: #6081
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2021 03:56 PM)dvnnyrene Wrote:  The issue is I can't get use display scaling with a stretched res, namely, 1750x1080, but I tried a bunch of different resolutions to see if any would work. At first I was following itsJerian's video, blackscreened a few times. I then moved onto Huncho's video referenced in Jerian's YT vid, then Huncho's Google Doc, testing and trying all of the recommendations if it doesn't work, finally I moved onto Fr33thy's 21 minute video and another 40 minute video... nothing seemed to be working until I followed some of recommendations made by you in regards to the extension blocks. In any case, I just want to know if I am chasing my own tail here.
G-SYNC monitors usually don't support non-native resolutions but you can stretch using GPU scaling.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 04:59 PM
Post: #6082
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I signed up just to thank you for making this and letting me do something very specific and also seemingly very stupid: drive my 1280x800 projector at exactly 60 Hz as if it were receiving a 1080p signal.

My AVR normally doesn't know what to do with a native 1280x800 signal, so hitting any buttons on it that would bring up its OSD blanks everything out momentarily while it overrides the "unknown" signal that it was passing through untouched. I tried actually using 1920x1080 and it looks terrible, and 1280x720 works fine but then I'm losing 10% of the screen.

I was using a regular 1280x800 custom resolution in the AMD driver before, but it liked to revert to its own "1280x800 in 1920x1080" default resolution that was blurry due to the bad timing values and also liked to keep changing itself to YCbCr 4:4:4.

I'm sure there's a better way to do this, but this now works great as long as I switch the projector to "Full" scaling. Using the GPU's scaling options didn't look as good, and although AMD's "Center" scaling option + just having the projector zoom in ("Native" aspect) worked fine, that pushed the now working AVR overlays outside the overscan area.

As a bonus, Windows now shows all of the available audio output options over HDMI that were previously missing, PCM>96 kHz, DTS-HD MA, etc. - perhaps due to lack of bandwidth at 1280x800 native?

TL;DR Thanks!!!

Have you got a PayPal donation link or am I going to have to resort to a drive-by Patreon pledge?


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 07:31 PM
Post: #6083
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2021 04:10 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-16-2021 03:56 PM)dvnnyrene Wrote:  The issue is I can't get use display scaling with a stretched res, namely, 1750x1080, but I tried a bunch of different resolutions to see if any would work. At first I was following itsJerian's video, blackscreened a few times. I then moved onto Huncho's video referenced in Jerian's YT vid, then Huncho's Google Doc, testing and trying all of the recommendations if it doesn't work, finally I moved onto Fr33thy's 21 minute video and another 40 minute video... nothing seemed to be working until I followed some of recommendations made by you in regards to the extension blocks. In any case, I just want to know if I am chasing my own tail here.
G-SYNC monitors usually don't support non-native resolutions but you can stretch using GPU scaling.
Yeah, I suspected that would be an issue. Had the same problem with my AW2518H. The manual for the PG259QN says that it supports 1024x768 at 60hz, which would be a 4:3 aspect ratio... the same aspect ratio as 1440x1080. I don't know whether this means anything but, yeah, take a look at the photo and lmk what you think.

On another note, even though in Nvidia Control Panel it says I am display scaling, I don't think that's actually right. I forgot why I had this suspicion but I remember noticing that Nvidia Control Panel was set to display scaling, but I knew for a fact it was GPU scaling and it was wrong. How would I know for sure that I am display scaling?

Also, if my monitor doesn't actually support display scaling, would there be any "noticeable" increase in input delay if I went into Nvidia control panel and used gpu scaling to play at 1750x1080 or 1680x1050?

Thanks in advance.. you're honestly the goat. If you have a Patreon or dono link send it over ! You deserve it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 10:04 PM
Post: #6084
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Good night, I would like to know if you can create a standard resolution of 4480x1080? I recently bought a monitor of the same brand but 1920x1080 and I have a 2560x1080 ultrawide and I'm trying to put the 2 on the nvidia surround, I have an RTX 2060 Super for this
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 11:28 PM
Post: #6085
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2021 10:04 PM)Eddye Wrote:  Good night, I would like to know if you can create a standard resolution of 4480x1080? I recently bought a monitor of the same brand but 1920x1080 and I have a 2560x1080 ultrawide and I'm trying to put the 2 on the nvidia surround, I have an RTX 2060 Super for this
NVIDIA Surround does not support mixed resolutions. All of the monitors have to use the same resolution with the same exact timing parameters.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 11:29 PM
Post: #6086
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2021 07:31 PM)dvnnyrene Wrote:  Yeah, I suspected that would be an issue. Had the same problem with my AW2518H. The manual for the PG259QN says that it supports 1024x768 at 60hz, which would be a 4:3 aspect ratio... the same aspect ratio as 1440x1080. I don't know whether this means anything but, yeah, take a look at the photo and lmk what you think.

On another note, even though in Nvidia Control Panel it says I am display scaling, I don't think that's actually right. I forgot why I had this suspicion but I remember noticing that Nvidia Control Panel was set to display scaling, but I knew for a fact it was GPU scaling and it was wrong. How would I know for sure that I am display scaling?

Also, if my monitor doesn't actually support display scaling, would there be any "noticeable" increase in input delay if I went into Nvidia control panel and used gpu scaling to play at 1750x1080 or 1680x1050?

Thanks in advance.. you're honestly the goat. If you have a Patreon or dono link send it over ! You deserve it.
G-SYNC monitors do support 640x480, 800x600, and 1024x768 @ 60 Hz as fallback resolutions, but nothing else. Display scaling only applies to resolutions in the EDID (shown in CRU). Other resolutions are always GPU scaled. Most monitors report the resolution they're receiving somewhere in the OSD. If it reports the native resolution, then it's GPU scaled. GPU scaling does not add lag.

Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/ToastyX
PayPal: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/ToastyX

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2021, 11:29 PM
Post: #6087
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2021 04:59 PM)Tupac Wrote:  As a bonus, Windows now shows all of the available audio output options over HDMI that were previously missing, PCM>96 kHz, DTS-HD MA, etc. - perhaps due to lack of bandwidth at 1280x800 native?

TL;DR Thanks!!!

Have you got a PayPal donation link or am I going to have to resort to a drive-by Patreon pledge?
Audio is transmitted during the blanking periods, so a higher blanking allows more audio data.

PayPal: https://www.paypal.com/paypalme/ToastyX

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2021, 12:01 AM
Post: #6088
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2021 11:28 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-16-2021 10:04 PM)Eddye Wrote:  Good night, I would like to know if you can create a standard resolution of 4480x1080? I recently bought a monitor of the same brand but 1920x1080 and I have a 2560x1080 ultrawide and I'm trying to put the 2 on the nvidia surround, I have an RTX 2060 Super for this
NVIDIA Surround does not support mixed resolutions. All of the monitors have to use the same resolution with the same exact timing parameters.

Are there another way to work?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2021, 12:04 AM
Post: #6089
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a very strange question: is it possible to force overscan ON? I think I saw posts where it's possible to use CRU to fix overscan, but I unironically want the opposite. I'm also using a monitor, not a TV.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2021, 12:41 AM
Post: #6090
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-17-2021 12:04 AM)spm Wrote:  I have a very strange question: is it possible to force overscan ON? I think I saw posts where it's possible to use CRU to fix overscan, but I unironically want the opposite. I'm also using a monitor, not a TV.
CRU doesn't really deal with overscan. Some TVs just react differently to CTA-861 vs. CVT-RB timing and HDMI vs. DVI signals. There's no way to force overscan if the monitor doesn't have a way to do it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 95 Guest(s)