Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
10-04-2021, 05:04 PM
Post: #6111
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-04-2021 04:23 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-04-2021 02:34 PM)4kain3ko Wrote:  I had used CRU to overclock my monitor's refresh rate from 60hz to 100hz for a year, it worked perfectly, until few days ago, it suddenly stopped working. My custom refresh rate was disappeared. I used CRU and added that refresh rate again, but when I opened display settings to change refresh rate, my custom refresh rate didn't show up. I've tried reinstalling my graphic driver, installed older driver version and even reset my window, it still didn't work.
You say 100 Hz, but the video shows 102 Hz. Did you make any changes or was this by default? I don't see a * next to the active status, which means there is no override. Is there another active monitor in the monitor list?

Oh, I just round it down, and yes there is another monitor in monitor list which has the same name with the active monitor but it doesn't have active status behind.

And here's another video of me adding a custom refresh rate. This time, after I run restart.exe file, there is a * next to active status, but my custom refresh rate still doesn't show up.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/15baMshR...sp=sharing
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-04-2021, 05:20 PM
Post: #6112
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-04-2021 05:04 PM)4kain3ko Wrote:  Oh, I just round it down, and yes there is another monitor in monitor list which has the same name with the active monitor but it doesn't have active status behind.
I'm confused about where 102 Hz is coming from. Did you add 102 Hz or was it there by default? If you added it, there should have been a * already.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-04-2021, 05:39 PM
Post: #6113
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-04-2021 05:20 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-04-2021 05:04 PM)4kain3ko Wrote:  Oh, I just round it down, and yes there is another monitor in monitor list which has the same name with the active monitor but it doesn't have active status behind.
I'm confused about where 102 Hz is coming from. Did you add 102 Hz or was it there by default? If you added it, there should have been a * already.

I added 102hz myself, I don't know why it become like that. Now, even after I run reset-all.exe file, it still there.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2021, 09:08 AM
Post: #6114
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-04-2021 05:20 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-04-2021 05:04 PM)4kain3ko Wrote:  Oh, I just round it down, and yes there is another monitor in monitor list which has the same name with the active monitor but it doesn't have active status behind.
I'm confused about where 102 Hz is coming from. Did you add 102 Hz or was it there by default? If you added it, there should have been a * already.

And now it's working again, and I still don't know why lol
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-06-2021, 12:38 PM (Last edited: 10-06-2021, 12:39 PM by mlleemiles)
Post: #6115
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Windows 11 seems to have broken the program.. EDID override doesnt have any effect, sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2021, 08:58 PM (Last edited: 10-07-2021, 08:59 PM by PersonPersonMagic)
Post: #6116
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, I've got an Intel GPU and a 3840x1600 144hz monitor over TB3 that Windows won't recognize as such. I'm trying to create a profile to manually push it to its refresh rate max. Best I can do at 3830x1600 at 97 HZ. What settings can I try to get it to 120 to 144?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-08-2021, 12:02 PM
Post: #6117
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
So, after experimenting around CRU for the quest to remove PWM by matching refresh rate with pwm frequency (thus achieving strobing/BFI), I managed to get a +400hz overclock on my AUO13ED panel in my Elitebook 8570p, but I have a problem. The image seems to be GPU scaled and skewed/distorted horribly, as soon as I set it above 100hz (so, 1080p above 100hz just doesnt display, lower res 101hz displays but skewed it seems to be a LVDS limit of 240mhz pixel clock in play here?) as shown here:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/2...134015.jpg
I know I don't frameskip on 240hz, cannot test further up as it doesn't want to sync on 360hz and 420hz
I cannot remove 1080p with CRU at all for some reason, running on W10 21H1, it still displays 1080p 60hz :/
Is there any way I could salvage the panel and perhaps take advantage of these higher refresh rates with some LVDS to HDMI/DP adapter and use it on my desktop?
Would be lovely if Toasty could chime in on this!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2021, 09:11 PM
Post: #6118
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-08-2021 12:02 PM)yourrandomnobody Wrote:  So, after experimenting around CRU for the quest to remove PWM by matching refresh rate with pwm frequency (thus achieving strobing/BFI), I managed to get a +400hz overclock on my AUO13ED panel in my Elitebook 8570p, but I have a problem. The image seems to be GPU scaled and skewed/distorted horribly, as soon as I set it above 100hz (so, 1080p above 100hz just doesnt display, lower res 101hz displays but skewed it seems to be a LVDS limit of 240mhz pixel clock in play here?) as shown here:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/2...134015.jpg
I know I don't frameskip on 240hz, cannot test further up as it doesn't want to sync on 360hz and 420hz
I cannot remove 1080p with CRU at all for some reason, running on W10 21H1, it still displays 1080p 60hz :/
Is there any way I could salvage the panel and perhaps take advantage of these higher refresh rates with some LVDS to HDMI/DP adapter and use it on my desktop?
Would be lovely if Toasty could chime in on this!
Laptop panels normally don't have scalers and can't display lower resolutions without GPU scaling, so you can't use a lower resolution to get a higher refresh rate. I don't think any sort of adapter would help because you will still be limited by whatever you can get at the native resolution. You might be able to use a lower vertical resolution like 1920x540 to get 200 Hz, but the image will be repeated until it fills the screen.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2021, 09:12 PM
Post: #6119
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-07-2021 08:58 PM)PersonPersonMagic Wrote:  Hi, I've got an Intel GPU and a 3840x1600 144hz monitor over TB3 that Windows won't recognize as such. I'm trying to create a profile to manually push it to its refresh rate max. Best I can do at 3830x1600 at 97 HZ. What settings can I try to get it to 120 to 144?
There are no settings that can get 3840x1600 @ 120-144 Hz if it's limited by bandwidth.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-09-2021, 11:23 PM
Post: #6120
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-09-2021 09:11 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-08-2021 12:02 PM)yourrandomnobody Wrote:  So, after experimenting around CRU for the quest to remove PWM by matching refresh rate with pwm frequency (thus achieving strobing/BFI), I managed to get a +400hz overclock on my AUO13ED panel in my Elitebook 8570p, but I have a problem. The image seems to be GPU scaled and skewed/distorted horribly, as soon as I set it above 100hz (so, 1080p above 100hz just doesnt display, lower res 101hz displays but skewed it seems to be a LVDS limit of 240mhz pixel clock in play here?) as shown here:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/2...134015.jpg
I know I don't frameskip on 240hz, cannot test further up as it doesn't want to sync on 360hz and 420hz
I cannot remove 1080p with CRU at all for some reason, running on W10 21H1, it still displays 1080p 60hz :/
Is there any way I could salvage the panel and perhaps take advantage of these higher refresh rates with some LVDS to HDMI/DP adapter and use it on my desktop?
Would be lovely if Toasty could chime in on this!
Laptop panels normally don't have scalers and can't display lower resolutions without GPU scaling, so you can't use a lower resolution to get a higher refresh rate. I don't think any sort of adapter would help because you will still be limited by whatever you can get at the native resolution. You might be able to use a lower vertical resolution like 1920x540 to get 200 Hz, but the image will be repeated until it fills the screen.

This tip is actually amazing! It worked! It actually displays somewhat properly (its split right at the middle, as it should!
I'm curious though, if I'd salvage this panel outside for desktop use, would I be able to go above LVDS limits? And use NVidia's GPU scaling and adjust image accordingly? Or perhaps some LVDS to VGA and manually adjust image like on a CRT? Thank you very much for the tip btw!! I basically have a backlight strobed laptop right now at 200hz lol
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 43 Guest(s)