Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
10-10-2021, 03:15 AM
Post: #6121
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-09-2021 11:23 PM)yourrandomnobody Wrote:  This tip is actually amazing! It worked! It actually displays somewhat properly (its split right at the middle, as it should!
I'm curious though, if I'd salvage this panel outside for desktop use, would I be able to go above LVDS limits? And use NVidia's GPU scaling and adjust image accordingly? Or perhaps some LVDS to VGA and manually adjust image like on a CRT? Thank you very much for the tip btw!! I basically have a backlight strobed laptop right now at 200hz lol
The limit will depend on the timing controller on the panel and interface used to connect to the panel. If you get something to convert HDMI or whatever to LVDS, that will also have its own limits. Usually those have a scaler chip so you can use lower resolutions, but the chip might not support more than 60 Hz without skipping frames.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-11-2021, 05:12 PM (Last edited: 10-11-2021, 05:21 PM by felipaopl)
Post: #6122
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi ToastyX,

First post here, great app and great, continuous support for almost a decade here, truly impressive mate.

Got a question for you - I've been trying to lower the VRR range of my Neo G9 monitor (5120x1440) to avoid LFC kicking in under 48 FPS in an attempt to minimise VRR flickering, but CRU can't find the resolution straight away (it detects 3840x1080), I suppose because its native res is too high at 5120x1440. Now, I can use an extension block using DisplayID 1.3 to add a valid 5120x1440 resolution, but then how can I edit the VRR range later as the recommended for Display Port is doing it at the "Detailed Resolutions" box, which I can't use since my resolution isn't detected there? It also detects a CTA-861 extension block where it correctly displays my VRR range for when the monitor is running @ 120 hz (48-120), but lowering the range there has no effect at all and I can still see the monitor duplicating frames when going lower than 48 FPS (and thus flickering).

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2021, 07:36 AM
Post: #6123
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi ToastyX

Thank you for your Tool! English isnt my main language... Sorry

With your Coloremetry Settings i could improve the HDR Colors on my Samsung G7 Odyssey. i activate all options and Metadata and now Windows uses the right colorspaces in Games and on Desktop and it makes a huge difference compared to before!
Thats the right tool to fix Windows HDR problems!

but now i have a question:
with active Freesync in my Monitor OSD Windows 11 will show me

[Image: StDf.jpg]

that my Display has 603Nits Peak Brightness..
Thats correct couse the G7 Odyssey is a HDR600 Display

but if i disable freesync in my Monitor OSD settings
windows cant detect this and will think its a 1500Nit display

[Image: TtDf.jpg]


This information has to be in the Edid Datas.. but i cant edit it with your tool.
can you maybe Update your tool so that we can edit this too?
Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2021, 05:15 PM
Post: #6124
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-12-2021 07:36 AM)blackfirehawk Wrote:  This information has to be in the Edid Datas.. but i cant edit it with your tool.
can you maybe Update your tool so that we can edit this too?
I don't know where that would be. CRU can already edit HDR static metadata blocks, although you will have to figure out what numbers translates to what luminance. I don't see why the luminance would change with FreeSync off.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2021, 05:16 PM
Post: #6125
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-11-2021 05:12 PM)felipaopl Wrote:  Got a question for you - I've been trying to lower the VRR range of my Neo G9 monitor (5120x1440) to avoid LFC kicking in under 48 FPS in an attempt to minimise VRR flickering, but CRU can't find the resolution straight away (it detects 3840x1080), I suppose because its native res is too high at 5120x1440. Now, I can use an extension block using DisplayID 1.3 to add a valid 5120x1440 resolution, but then how can I edit the VRR range later as the recommended for Display Port is doing it at the "Detailed Resolutions" box, which I can't use since my resolution isn't detected there? It also detects a CTA-861 extension block where it correctly displays my VRR range for when the monitor is running @ 120 hz (48-120), but lowering the range there has no effect at all and I can still see the monitor duplicating frames when going lower than 48 FPS (and thus flickering).
5120x1440 is in the DisplayID extension block. The range limits is for all resolutions, not just the detailed resolutions box. That's just where the information is stored. If you see a FreeSync data block in the extension block, then editing that should work. If you have an NVIDIA GPU, make sure to replace the default extension block with a DisplayID 1.3 extension block, and add 5120x1440 @ 240 Hz. If you don't replace the default extension block, NVIDIA's driver will ignore any changes you made.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2021, 07:17 PM
Post: #6126
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-12-2021 05:15 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-12-2021 07:36 AM)blackfirehawk Wrote:  This information has to be in the Edid Datas.. but i cant edit it with your tool.
can you maybe Update your tool so that we can edit this too?
I don't know where that would be. CRU can already edit HDR static metadata blocks, although you will have to figure out what numbers translates to what luminance. I don't see why the luminance would change with FreeSync off.

On my Display the luminance Data is empty
When i Change them.. Windows max Peak brightness dosnt Change.. i dont know how Windows get this value..
So i thougt this must Something in the EDID Data
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2021, 06:41 AM (Last edited: 10-13-2021, 06:41 AM by felipaopl)
Post: #6127
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-12-2021 05:16 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-11-2021 05:12 PM)felipaopl Wrote:  Got a question for you - I've been trying to lower the VRR range of my Neo G9 monitor (5120x1440) to avoid LFC kicking in under 48 FPS in an attempt to minimise VRR flickering, but CRU can't find the resolution straight away (it detects 3840x1080), I suppose because its native res is too high at 5120x1440. Now, I can use an extension block using DisplayID 1.3 to add a valid 5120x1440 resolution, but then how can I edit the VRR range later as the recommended for Display Port is doing it at the "Detailed Resolutions" box, which I can't use since my resolution isn't detected there? It also detects a CTA-861 extension block where it correctly displays my VRR range for when the monitor is running @ 120 hz (48-120), but lowering the range there has no effect at all and I can still see the monitor duplicating frames when going lower than 48 FPS (and thus flickering).
5120x1440 is in the DisplayID extension block. The range limits is for all resolutions, not just the detailed resolutions box. That's just where the information is stored. If you see a FreeSync data block in the extension block, then editing that should work. If you have an NVIDIA GPU, make sure to replace the default extension block with a DisplayID 1.3 extension block, and add 5120x1440 @ 240 Hz. If you don't replace the default extension block, NVIDIA's driver will ignore any changes you made.

Awesome, thanks for the detailed explaination. Will give it a try later today.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2021, 10:31 PM
Post: #6128
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I would like to post here first to thank ToastyX, every once in a while Custom Resolution Utility saves the day fixing something.

Second I want to post here because I have yet to read about this particular scenario and fix anywhere else online and this might help a few others.

I'm the owner of a LG OLED B9 but the same applies to LG OLED C9.
The B9 and C9 uses two IC for it to be able to support hdmi 2.1. Because of that it supports the full 48 gb/s bandwidth of HDMI 2.1.

This means 4K @ 120Hz RGB Full Range Gsync/Freesync HDR/Dolby Vision at 12 bits.

LG from CX model forward and as far as I know all other tv manufactures that claim hdmi 2.1 support support HDMI 2.1 at a max of 40 gb/s.

This means 4K @ 120Hz RGB Full Range Gsync/Freesync HDR/Dolby Vision at 10 bits.


I bought a 30 meter long Vention fiber optics cable from China that claims 4k@120 hz support but could not get this to work at all from my RTX 3080 TI GPU.
So, to my luck Custom Resolution Utility is still being updated to this day and has hdmi 2.1 EDID management support. It can read the hdmi 2.1 data block.

Those fiber optics cable have an IC that needs to "encode" and "decode" the signal so it can be sent as light trought the cable.
This improves on how far it can be extended but at the same time you need to upgrade the cable so it supports a larger bandwidth.

Knowing all that, what I did here to be able to use this fiber optics cable with my RTX graphics cards is to change under HDMI 2.1 support under the Extension Block, change maximum FRL from 48 gbps (12 x 4 lanes) to 40 gbps (10 x 4 lanes) and it works.
I can enjoy 4k @ 120 hz rgb gsync at 10 bits.

It's not just dropping from 12 bits to 10 bits on Nvidia Control Panel that would have solved this. It needs to change how the image is sent.
I could not get 4k @ 62 hz before, it max out at HDMI 2.0 18 gbps bandwidth. Even with custom resolution and reduced timings 4k @ 61 hz would not work.

So, I'll post this here and in another forum to help whoever else has this problem.

And by the way, this isn't a problem using this cable with Xbox Series S/X or Playstation 5 because those 2 consoles support only up to 40 gbps the same as LG OLED C1 G1 CX and GX.

Once again, thank you ToastyX without CRU I would be screwed.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-15-2021, 11:24 AM
Post: #6129
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Dolby Digital over GPU-HDMI

could someplease please give me an Instruction how to get that to work?
ive found an Instruction on the web, but dont get it work.

I imported the "hdmi2-bitstream.dat" to CRU but dont know exacly what to do next.
tried editing a few things, but didnt get Dolby to show up for my Device.

I just want Dolby Digital / Live for gaming.

Thank YouSmile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-17-2021, 12:57 AM
Post: #6130
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello,

Is it possible to force a "pixel format" setting (eg. RGB/YCbCr 4:4:4/4:2:0) for AMD GPUs, such as with a registry edit or EDID tweak?

My problem is that I cannot get my R9 380 to output 1080p YCbCr 4:4:4 over HDMI to my TV -- I'm only getting 4:2:2 even though I've selected YCbCr 4:4:4 in AMD's Radeon Software.

I am 100% certain it is not my TV's fault, as I have a set top box which outputs 1080p YCbCr 4:4:4 over HDMI and have confirmed it with Rtings test pattern on red/blue 1px lines.

I am 100% certain the GPU is capable of outputting 1080p YCbCr 4:4:4, as I have it outputting to my PC monitor right now and the test pattern is good.

I have also tried RGB 4:4:4 in Radeon Software -- still fails the test pattern on my TV.

So I think the AMD driver has a bug where it doesn't play nice with my TV and keeps insisting on downconverting it to 4:2:2. Maybe it thinks my TV isn't capable of 4:4:4 and only negotiates a 4:2:2 signal?

Any help appreciated.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 76 Guest(s)