Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
12-25-2021, 06:10 PM
Post: #6281
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-25-2021 04:49 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  CRU will be able to in a future version. I will see if I can add it to the next release, but my focus is currently on making the Scaled Resolution Editor.

Run reset-all.exe and reboot. Then export a file for the monitor using CRU and post it here. I will come up with some configurations that you can try.

Thanks. Bin file Attached. Finally settled on turning Game Mode off for 3840. It looks better and I can't perceive any difference to the latency. This TV has some eccentricities !

It looks like 3840 is in fact the true native res. I was thinking it might have a "true" native res of 4096 for 4K DCI cinema and only shows the computer 3840 as "native" because some games don't do 4096 very well. But I don't think this is the case. But I'd still like to experiment with 4096.


Attached File(s)
.bin  samsung tu7 amd rx590.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 57)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2021, 07:37 PM
Post: #6282
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-25-2021 06:10 PM)Michael Z Freeman Wrote:  Thanks. Bin file Attached. Finally settled on turning Game Mode off for 3840. It looks better and I can't perceive any difference to the latency. This TV has some eccentricities !

It looks like 3840 is in fact the true native res. I was thinking it might have a "true" native res of 4096 for 4K DCI cinema and only shows the computer 3840 as "native" because some games don't do 4096 very well. But I don't think this is the case. But I'd still like to experiment with 4096.

I just want to try the suggestions with no other resolutions present.

This one has 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz with timing parameters similar to 4096x2160:
.bin  3840x2160.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 58)

This one has 4095x2160 @ 60 Hz with timing parameters similar to 4096x2160:
.bin  4095x2160.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 54)

This one has 4096x2160 @ 60 Hz in a DisplayID extension block:
.bin  4096x2160-displayid.bin (Size: 384 bytes / Downloads: 59)

If none of those help, then I will make a file with the method that will be supported in a future version.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2021, 08:50 PM
Post: #6283
Using CRU to change Inch size in EDID?
Hello guys!

Long story short, I got a second hand 32 inch 1360x768 tv from a friend, my GPU has only one HDMI output and three DisplayPort outputs, so I bought a cheap DP to HDMI converter, it works fine, the only problem is that windows doesn't reconize the correct inch size and it's really bugging me out, is there a way to use CRU to edit the size in EDID and correct it to 32 inches?

Anyways, thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2021, 09:36 PM
Post: #6284
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-25-2021 08:50 PM)Chorizo Wrote:  Long story short, I got a second hand 32 inch 1360x768 tv from a friend, my GPU has only one HDMI output and three DisplayPort outputs, so I bought a cheap DP to HDMI converter, it works fine, the only problem is that windows doesn't reconize the correct inch size and it's really bugging me out, is there a way to use CRU to edit the size in EDID and correct it to 32 inches?

What uses the size in the EDID other than the default scaling size? You can set the correct scale in the Windows display settings.

CRU doesn't have a way to edit the screen size directly, but you can export a .bin file and use another EDID editor to edit the size. Then you can import the file with "Import complete EDID" enabled to load the new size.

You can use any of these editors except Phoenix: https://www.monitortests.com/blog/list-of-edid-editors/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2021, 11:09 PM
Post: #6285
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-25-2021 09:36 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-25-2021 08:50 PM)Chorizo Wrote:  Long story short, I got a second hand 32 inch 1360x768 tv from a friend, my GPU has only one HDMI output and three DisplayPort outputs, so I bought a cheap DP to HDMI converter, it works fine, the only problem is that windows doesn't reconize the correct inch size and it's really bugging me out, is there a way to use CRU to edit the size in EDID and correct it to 32 inches?

What uses the size in the EDID other than the default scaling size? You can set the correct scale in the Windows display settings.

CRU doesn't have a way to edit the screen size directly, but you can export a .bin file and use another EDID editor to edit the size. Then you can import the file with "Import complete EDID" enabled to load the new size.

You can use any of these editors except Phoenix: https://www.monitortests.com/blog/list-of-edid-editors/

Thanks for the quick reply!

Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't windows use the size of the TV to determine the size for multiple displays? As in the area you can move your mouse between them? If not, then I don't need to change anything hahaha
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2021, 12:43 AM
Post: #6286
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-25-2021 11:09 PM)Chorizo Wrote:  Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't windows use the size of the TV to determine the size for multiple displays? As in the area you can move your mouse between them? If not, then I don't need to change anything hahaha
No, Windows uses the resolutions. There's a tool that helps with multi-monitor mouse issues: https://github.com/mgth/LittleBigMouse
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2021, 01:10 AM
Post: #6287
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
That's EXACTLY what I was looking for, thank you SO much!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2021, 01:08 PM
Post: #6288
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey @Toastyx
Can you maybe update your Tool to include the HDR Dynamic Metadata?

it would be nice to Edit the Metadatas
SMTPE 2094-10 (Dolby Vision)
SMTPE 2094-20
SMTPE 2094-30
SMTPE 2094-40 (HDR10+)

other Tools like Deltacast E-EDID Editor can Edit them allready.. but i dont like to export.. Edit in Deltacast.. save end import in CRU to Change the HDR Dynamic Settings
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2021, 02:02 PM
Post: #6289
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-26-2021 01:08 PM)blackfirehawk Wrote:  Can you maybe update your Tool to include the HDR Dynamic Metadata?
I want to eventually but it's not a high priority because any monitor that supports those metadata types already includes the information, and there aren't any useful parameters that can be edited for the metadata types. The data block is also a pain to implement. The metadata types can be varying sizes because of optional fields, which Deltacast doesn't show, and I want to be able to preserve future types when editing, so I can't do it the way Deltacast is doing it. There already is a 5th type that Deltacast doesn't support.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2021, 08:12 PM
Post: #6290
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Newbie question incoming! I'm on an RTX 2080 TI and a new LG C1 55 inch - mainly used for gaming.

At the moment I am running full 4K@120hz 8bit 4:2:0 (due to 2080ti not being HDMI 2.1). However, for some games I find the 16:9 format to be not optimal and I would like to reduce the resolution to 3840x1800@120hz, so that there are black bars above and below the actual picture.

I have spent hours trying to figure out what the settings should be in CRU, but I am unable to hit anything that works.

Any help or hint is appreciated!

I have attached screenshot and .bin-file, if it assists.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   

.bin  CRU.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 51)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 49 Guest(s)