Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
12-26-2021, 09:02 PM
Post: #6291
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-26-2021 08:12 PM)Finnerup Wrote:  At the moment I am running full 4K@120hz 8bit 4:2:0 (due to 2080ti not being HDMI 2.1). However, for some games I find the 16:9 format to be not optimal and I would like to reduce the resolution to 3840x1800@120hz, so that there are black bars above and below the actual picture.
Currently, there's no way to create custom 4:2:0 resolutions, and I don't think NVIDIA's GPU scaling works with 4:2:0 resolutions. One way to know if GPU scaling is possible is check if 2560x1600 @ 120 Hz is available by default. If only 60 Hz is available, then it's not possible. If it is available, then I have something you can try.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2021, 09:33 PM (Last edited: 12-27-2021, 01:17 AM by LordX)
Post: #6292
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I am a HTPC user, and would like to tweak my 23.976 resolutions to try and get as close to audio clock as possible so that I don't have any dropped/repeated frames with MadVR.

I don't mind using CRU or even the Nvidia custom resolution tool, but I have a serious problem: I Don't know what the heck any of the values mean aside from resolution and refresh rate.

Porches, blanking etc etc.... Especially with the CRU tool, I have literally no idea what I am doing.

The Nvidia default for 23.976 is pretty close - 1 dropped frame every 50 or so minutes. Which I can live with if there is not an easy way to test some other custom res.

I tried using the pixel clock calculator, but don't know what to do with the values that I got. (https://www.monitortests.com/pixelclock....rtvlines=1)

My setup: HTPC (Nvidia 3080 driver version 456.71), Denon X3400H receiver, Sony 285ES 4k Projector.

UPDATE: I tried adding a detailed resolution with CRU. It added the resolution under the PC section of the Nvidia resolutions. When I select it, and apply, it blanks for a second, saying it is applied, but then just shows the resolution selected as the one up under HD, SD, 1080p section of the Nvidia drivers.

I don't mind using the Nvidia custom resolution tool, but need to know how to convert the information the web page is telling me.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
       
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-27-2021, 01:24 AM
Post: #6293
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-26-2021 09:33 PM)LordX Wrote:  I am a HTPC user, and would like to tweak my 23.976 resolutions to try and get as close to audio clock as possible so that I don't have any dropped/repeated frames with MadVR.

I don't mind using CRU or even the Nvidia custom resolution tool, but I have a serious problem: I Don't know what the heck any of the values mean aside from resolution and refresh rate.

Porches, blanking etc etc.... Especially with the CRU tool, I have literally no idea what I am doing.

The Nvidia default for 23.976 is pretty close - 1 dropped frame every 50 or so minutes. Which I can live with if there is not an easy way to test some other custom res.

I tried using the pixel clock calculator, but don't know what to do with the values that I got. (https://www.monitortests.com/pixelclock....rtvlines=1)

My setup: HTPC (Nvidia 3080 driver version 456.71), Denon X3400H receiver, Sony 285ES 4k Projector.

https://www.monitortests.com/blog/timing...explained/

The porches and sync widths don't matter much. The main limitation is the pixel clock in the EDID can only be a multiple of 0.01 MHz, so changing the blanking/totals lets you make smaller adjustments to the refresh rate. The pixel clock calculator gives you the pixel clock and totals needed to achieve a certain refresh rate.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-27-2021, 01:45 PM (Last edited: 12-27-2021, 01:46 PM by Akedon)
Post: #6294
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello there, I'm using SONY x900f TV connected to PC via HDMI 2.0.
With some tweaks I'm able to use 2928x1647 resolution at 120hz without frame skipping and artifacts (but without sound from internal speakers), used settings attached (I found them accidentally).
Is there any way to go even higher with the same frame rate? With 2944x1656@120hz I'm getting 606.01 pixel clock on the same settings, a little overdo.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-27-2021, 02:55 PM
Post: #6295
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-27-2021 01:45 PM)Akedon Wrote:  Is there any way to go even higher with the same frame rate? With 2944x1656@120hz I'm getting 606.01 pixel clock on the same settings, a little overdo.
Currently it's only possible if you can reduce the blanking further to avoid going over 600 MHz pixel clock.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2021, 02:12 AM
Post: #6296
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a 3 monitor set-up - the primary central monitor is a 3440x1440p 144Hz LG 34GN850-B, the two outer monitors are 2560x1440p 144hz LG 27GL850-B. All connected to an RTX 3080ti GPU via display ports.

For some reason CRU shows the primary monitor as being 3440x1440p 60hz, and it shows a red number when I try and change the hz to 144, and won't allow me to make that change. This also means I'm unable to configure them properly as a triple monitors set-up using nvidia surround for sim racing (it tries to set them to 5760x1080p 75hz instead of the required 8560x1440p 144hz).

Any suggestions as to how to resolve this? I can provide more details if required. Thanks in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2021, 01:23 PM
Post: #6297
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-26-2021 09:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-26-2021 08:12 PM)Finnerup Wrote:  At the moment I am running full 4K@120hz 8bit 4:2:0 (due to 2080ti not being HDMI 2.1). However, for some games I find the 16:9 format to be not optimal and I would like to reduce the resolution to 3840x1800@120hz, so that there are black bars above and below the actual picture.
Currently, there's no way to create custom 4:2:0 resolutions, and I don't think NVIDIA's GPU scaling works with 4:2:0 resolutions. One way to know if GPU scaling is possible is check if 2560x1600 @ 120 Hz is available by default. If only 60 Hz is available, then it's not possible. If it is available, then I have something you can try.

Sadly, only 60 Hz is available. Thanks, though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-29-2021, 01:06 AM
Post: #6298
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-28-2021 02:12 AM)RockhoundBlack Wrote:  For some reason CRU shows the primary monitor as being 3440x1440p 60hz, and it shows a red number when I try and change the hz to 144, and won't allow me to make that change. This also means I'm unable to configure them properly as a triple monitors set-up using nvidia surround for sim racing (it tries to set them to 5760x1080p 75hz instead of the required 8560x1440p 144hz).
Literally answered in the first post, and NVIDIA Surround does not support mixed resolutions, so 8560x1440 won't be possible.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-03-2022, 11:33 PM
Post: #6299
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a gtx1060 and im trying to set a custom resolution in a window 10 hyper v machine, i did GPU passthrough and the machine recognized my GPU, however i cant run Nvidia Control Panel on it.

I followed the tutorial and created a custom resolution on CRU , reboot the machine but the new resolution ain't visible in:
Desktop > Display settings > Advanced display settings > Display adapter properties > Monitor tab

Do you know something about running the tool in a hyper V machine?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-04-2022, 03:13 AM
Post: #6300
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-03-2022 11:33 PM)c7aesa7r Wrote:  I have a gtx1060 and im trying to set a custom resolution in a window 10 hyper v machine, i did GPU passthrough and the machine recognized my GPU, however i cant run Nvidia Control Panel on it.

I followed the tutorial and created a custom resolution on CRU , reboot the machine but the new resolution ain't visible in:
Desktop > Display settings > Advanced display settings > Display adapter properties > Monitor tab

Do you know something about running the tool in a hyper V machine?
I haven't tested CRU in virutal machines. Is the NVIDIA driver installed in the virtual machine? What sort of monitor shows up in CRU?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 56 Guest(s)