Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
04-25-2015, 10:09 PM
Post: #1351
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-25-2015 02:09 PM)fabiobad Wrote:  It's possible that with the HDMI connection the custom resolution of CRU works better?
That shouldn't matter. For some reason AMD's driver is adding TV resolutions when it shouldn't. Try removing all the established and standard resolutions and see if that makes any difference.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2015, 10:24 PM
Post: #1352
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-25-2015 03:27 PM)oemodm Wrote:  The laptop didn't allow a 1920 x 1080 @ 60 hertz resolution to the second monitor. I used the custom screen utility with these settings:

[Image: http://s22.postimg.org/57yssf26p/screen1.jpg]
Those are the "LCD reduced" values. Have you tried the "LCD standard" option? That's probably what the monitor wants. If that doesn't help, then there's probably a hardware issue somewhere.

Something seems to be wrong with the monitor or cable. You shouldn't have to add 1920x1080 @ 60 Hz. It should already be there by default. CRU is showing "Generic Non-PnP Monitor" which means the driver is not receiving an EDID from the monitor. Are you using DVI or VGA?

(04-25-2015 03:27 PM)oemodm Wrote:  - No way to disable EDID on the monitor
- Radeon control panel doesn't allow deselecting of EDID. I've removed Radeon catalyst control centre since it is suggested to be a problem.
The EDID is already disabled. That's why 1920x1080 wasn't available.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2015, 11:19 PM
Post: #1353
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi ToastyX,

I'm using VGA. The cable & monitor work fine on another laptop.
EDID was already automatically preset in Radeon Catalyst which I was suggested to remove.

I hope there could be some help?

thanks / simon
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2015, 12:18 AM
Post: #1354
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-25-2015 11:19 PM)oemodm Wrote:  I'm using VGA. The cable & monitor work fine on another laptop.
EDID was already automatically preset in Radeon Catalyst which I was suggested to remove.

I hope there could be some help?
There might be an issue with the VGA output on the laptop. This should all be plug and play if the EDID was working properly. Does the laptop have HDMI? It would be better to use an HDMI-DVI adapter/cable.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2015, 01:08 AM (Last edited: 04-26-2015, 01:12 AM by oemodm)
Post: #1355
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi everyone,

Just a quick update. Have played around a bit and made tiny progress but issue remains. Horizontal black flicker for half a second every 15 seconds.

I now have the screen options automatically listed in AMD catalyst

[Image: http://s9.postimg.org/glnd1edv3/screen4.jpg]

However, when using EDID, it switches to 1600 x 1200 (the maximum resolution in Radeon graphics card resolution "list of modes" as shown below.

[Image: http://s16.postimg.org/m0tsdjxxx/screen5.jpg]

....and still flickers. Deselecting EDID, I can set to 1920 x 1080, fine, but the flickering remains.

Recap:

- Other laptop, works fine, same VGA, same screen
- This laptop, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00J7U8BQO/?tag=mtests-20#ad has flickering issue
- Have re-installed AMD catalyst several times, no luck
- Have used Custom screen resolutions several times, no luck
- EDID, when clicked in catalyst, forces the screen resolution to the highest resolution listed in graphics driver "list of modes" which is 1600 x 1200 (screen needs 1920x1080).

Any help would be much'ly appreciated

Shy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2015, 02:29 AM
Post: #1356
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-26-2015 01:08 AM)oemodm Wrote:  - This laptop, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00J7U8BQO/?tag=mtests-20#ad has flickering issue
That laptop has HDMI. You should use an HDMI-DVI cable or adapter for better results.

(04-26-2015 01:08 AM)oemodm Wrote:  - EDID, when clicked in catalyst, forces the screen resolution to the highest resolution listed in graphics driver "list of modes" which is 1600 x 1200 (screen needs 1920x1080).
CRU should be used with the EDID option enabled. What does CRU show with EDID enabled? Are you not able to add 1920x1080 with EDID enabled?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2015, 04:03 AM (Last edited: 04-26-2015, 04:39 AM by oemodm)
Post: #1357
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Your support is SO appreciated Toasty.

Another laptop works fine with VGA. Even so, VGA might be a problem with mine?

[/quote]
CRU should be used with the EDID option enabled. What does CRU show with EDID enabled? Are you not able to add 1920x1080 with EDID enabled?
[/quote]


With EDID enabled in AMD catalyst, I cannot modify the resolution. A screenshot of Catalyst + CRU open with the monitor connected. Is that what you mean?

[Image: http://i58.tinypic.com/fcv8di.jpg]

It works fine on another laptop (my wife's, & she wont swap).

Little update. I downloaded AMD's EDID read tool. Everything below F0 it's all 0's

[Image: http://i57.tinypic.com/wqomeq.jpg]

I think this is the external screen selected on VGA connection......I'm using it now and the main laptop screen is off. So not 100% sure if the EDID is from the external monitor which catalyst and windows isn't reading.

[Image: http://i61.tinypic.com/30w9esl.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2015, 04:56 AM
Post: #1358
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Does using Automatic - LCD reduced degrade picture quality? what does it do
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2015, 11:34 AM
Post: #1359
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-26-2015 04:03 AM)oemodm Wrote:  With EDID enabled in AMD catalyst, I cannot modify the resolution. A screenshot of Catalyst + CRU open with the monitor connected. Is that what you mean?
I meant add it with CRU. Did you try ever CRU with the EDID option enabled?

(04-26-2015 04:03 AM)oemodm Wrote:  Little update. I downloaded AMD's EDID read tool. Everything below F0 it's all 0's
That looks like the laptop's EDID. It's reporting 1366x768.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2015, 11:45 AM
Post: #1360
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-26-2015 04:56 AM)asdf23 Wrote:  Does using Automatic - LCD reduced degrade picture quality? what does it do
No, it adjusts the timing parameters to reduce the totals for some resolutions to reduce the pixel clock, which reduces the bandwidth required.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: AnatolM, 46 Guest(s)