Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
12-24-2015, 10:28 PM
Post: #1891
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-24-2015 12:59 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  HDMI is physically the same as single-link DVI. The signal determines whether it's HDMI or DVI. You can use the DVI ports as HDMI ports with most NVIDIA cards. The audio is embedded in the video signal during the blanking periods, so DVI monitors might not sync correctly with that data present.
Thanks, thats the explanation that I was looking for. It seems that the DELL 2007FPs can't sync correctly with audio embedded in the vidseo signal. Too bad. Sad

(12-24-2015 12:59 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  The U3011 and GTX 980 Ti can both handle 2560x1600 @ 60 Hz with HDMI. The only question is whether the splitter and receiver can handle higher pixel clocks. They should if they can handle UHD/4K resolutions because 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz uses more bandwidth.
It's worth a shot. Both the receiver and the splitter can handle UHD just fine. I'll try that.

(12-24-2015 12:59 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  That wasn't happening before? It's normally not possible for the memory clock to change with multiple displays if the resolutions don't match exactly.
No it wasn't. Up to 3 displays are fine and the driver is perfectly bringing the clocks down to 135MHz GPU and 405MHz MEM while sitting idle on the windows desktop. As soon as the 4th display is added, the idle clocks jump to 925MHz GPU (lowest 3D clock) and 4050MHz MEM (3505 MHz when not overclocked). Using the 'Multi Display Power Saver' restores idle clocks back to 405MHz on GPU and MEM (and sometimes even 135MHz on the core) without any noticeable side effects. The only problem is that you have to maintain the triggers that bring the card up to either video clocks or 3D clocks based on usage or running processes. Not ideal, but usable. Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2015, 05:10 AM
Post: #1892
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-24-2015 03:58 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  So why 4:4:4 test images show 4:2:2 on this monitor at 4K resolution, despite included in its EDID? Can it be DP-to-HDMI1.4 4K adapter chipset limitation?
Like I said, the TV might be converting RGB 4:4:4 to YCbCr 4:2:2 internally. RGB is never 4:2:2, so this is not a driver or video card limitation, and passive adapters wouldn't change the signal.

(12-24-2015 03:58 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  Actually, most current Radeon and FirePro cards support one or multiple 4K@60Hz out via DP1.2, of course older cards only support 4K@30Hz via DP1.0 or HDMI1.4. To my understanding, Nvidia Quadro cards and drivers also have 10-bit pixel out support option, but other Nvidia models don't, despite offering several color depth options in Nvidia CC DFP Properties.
I was talking about HDMI. TVs don't usually have DisplayPort.

(12-24-2015 03:58 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  I tried adding in CRU Custom Extension Block - HDMI Profile, but it only offers YCbCr 4:4:4, but no FullRGB 4:4:4. For this monitor, YCbCr 4:4:4 option is not available at 4K@30Hz in FirePro CC for my GPU, only FullRGB 4:4:4 out, which is default color space for the monitor.
HDMI always supports RGB 4:4:4, so it's not defined in the extension block. Like I said, the default extension block already has YCbCr 4:4:4 enabled, so if it's not available at 3840x2160, then that's a driver or hardware limitation.

(12-24-2015 03:58 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  Adding a Custom Extension in CRU doesn't add it in Registry. In fact, in Registry this monitor EDID has no extensions, despite its EEPROM EDID accessed by MoniInfo has an Extension. There's EDID Override section for it in Registry, but its not read by CRU or Device Manager, likely created by one of DID packages I tried.
I don't know what you mean. CRU can read and write EDID overrides in the registry. That's the whole point of CRU. The custom extension block should be saved in the registry. What are you using to check the registry? Don't use MonInfo to check. It doesn't read everything. Use RegEdit and search for EDID_OVERRIDE.

(12-24-2015 03:58 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  I guess the GPU doesn't read full EDID from the monitor due to DP-to-HDMI adapter used or its Win 10 issue.
CRU can't read the full EDID because the default extension block is not stored in the registry, but it can write extension block overrides. Like I said, I hope to add support for reading default extension blocks in CRU 1.3. This requires driver-specific methods to get the full EDID from the monitor.

(12-24-2015 03:58 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  In Windows Devices this monitor is shown as Generic PnP Monitor with its Hardware ID. How to add this monitor native EDID to Win 10 64-bit Registry? Entech MonInfo and CRU don't sign saved monitor.inf, so it can't override generic INF in Win 10 64-bit. Using exported bin or inf with FirePro DID Emulation doesn't do anything, still Device Manager uses only "Generic PnP Monitor" profile for this display.
It's supposed to say "Generic PnP Monitor" unless you install an .inf file to change the name. That has nothing to do with the EDID.

(12-24-2015 03:58 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  CRU can't even read this display native EDID, it shows it without Custom Extension readable in MonInfo. I don't want to permanently "disable driver signature enforcement" or run in Test Mode, it defeats the purpose of modifying EDID, and there're many other things apart from monitors that can be done in Test mode, but its not realistic to run the PC permanently like this. Any way for CRU to sign the inf, what EDID package can do that?
You don't have to permanently disable driver signature enforcement or run test mode. If you want to install an .inf file using the Device Manager, you only need to temporarily disable driver signature enforcement, but CRU already saves the EDID override in the registry, so you don't need to do that.

CRU can also import .inf and .bin files. You can use MonInfo to export the full EDID to a .bin file, and then use CRU to import it. In fact, you can also copy and paste the raw data that you posted into a text file and import that:
Code:
00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,4C,AB,30,00,01,01,01,01,1A,19,01,03,80,5D,36,78,0A,CF,74​,A3,57,4C,B0,23,
09,48,4C,00,00,00,01,01,01,FF,01,FF,FF,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,20,08,E8,00,30,F2​,70,5A,80,B0,58,
8A,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,02,3A,80,18,71,38,2D,40,58,2C,45,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,1E,00​,00,00,FC,00,53,
45,34,32,55,4D,54,0A,20,20,20,20,20,00,00,00,FD,00,3B,46,1F,8C,3C,00,0A,20,20,20​,20,20,20,01,60,
02,03,42,F2,52,05,84,03,01,07,90,20,22,5D,5F,61,62,64,66,5E,63,02,06,26,09,07,07​,11,07,06,83,01,
00,00,6E,03,0C,00,30,00,78,44,20,00,80,01,02,03,04,67,D8,5D,C4,01,78,C8,07,E3,05​,03,01,E4,0F,00,
00,00,8C,0A,D0,8A,20,E0,2D,10,10,3E,96,00,C4,8E,21,00,00,18,8C,0A,A0,14,51,F0,16​,00,26,7C,43,00,
C4,8E,21,00,00,98,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00​,00,00,00,00,57
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2015, 06:24 AM (Last edited: 12-26-2015, 03:09 AM by zamar19)
Post: #1893
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
@ToastyX

Thank you very much for your invaluable support. I updated my above post to reflect installing EDID Override. Indeed, it requires to disable DSE only once, or use CRU. If I understand you correctly, the problem of not displaying 4:4:4 may be caused by:
a) monitor firmware or hardware internally converts RGB4:4:4 to YCbCr4:2:2, despite it says RGB4:4:4 in EDID. Any workaround, playing with TV service menu options? What should I look for?

b) The FirePro card or driver can't send 4K@30Hz 4:4:4 signal. Actually, I took a screenshot of the test pic showing 4:2:2 on this 4K monitor, saved and open it on another known 1080P 4:4:4 monitor, since I don't have another 4K LCD. The screenshot shown bright 4:4:4 on that monitor instead of 4:2:2 originally taken. Given it was not the original test image, but a GPU output screenshot, this seems to confirm current GPU and driver output is 4K@30Hz RGB4:4:4? You said the adapter can't affect 4:4:4, but cable and adapter can limit passthrough bandwidth, though in this case the GPU would likely decrease the output and the screenshot wouldn't show 4:4:4 - correct?

c) latest FirePro driver or Win10 may not work right with EDID Overrides, they ignore default extension blocks and overrides in registry that include YCbCr 4:4:4 source via HDMI1.4. How can I add YCbCr 4:4:4 support to base EDID section? Its greyed out in Deltacast and similar soft for EDID v1.3, yet can be added in v1.4, but CRU can't save or export EDID v1.4, it converts it to v1.3. If I try to install MonInfo created v1.4 inf, Windows converts it to v1.3 at install - why? I see it converted, when extract Registry EDID after the inf install with Deltacast or AW EDID Editor, or by exporting the Override key from Reg. Also, why default extension block is not stored in the registry, how the driver then uses its data?

d) the test image is 1080P. On a 4K monitor it might be placed on screen by a picture viewer without the exact positional pixel match, and then scaled by the monitor or GPU to match the pixels, resulting in 4:2:2 - possible? Anything to fix here?

I guess, the main question is: what can be done to get 4:4:4 on this monitor? Huh This was already asked by many, but no reply, and Seiki doesn't have real tech support and neither post detail monitor specs so buyers can't demand compliance via FW update, but the panel spec confirms RGB4:4:4 10bpc support.

A related Q: Windows Display Settings offer scaling "size of text, apps, and other items" 100 to 200%. Advanced Display Settings allow to set Custom Scaling Level, or scale only text of specific window elements. On a 4K display its better to scale all desktop items to 150% for easy reading. But when working with Graphics or CAD, scaling images or models is a bad. Any way or Win utility that would allow to scale desktop elements and certain apps like browsers via WDS, but block scaling select apps like CAD packages, i.e. allow to choose what apps to scale by Win default?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2015, 03:04 AM
Post: #1894
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  If I understand you correctly, the problem of not displaying 4:4:4 may be caused by:
a) monitor firmware or hardware internally converts RGB4:4:4 to YCbCr4:2:2, despite it says RGB4:4:4 in EDID. Any workaround, playing with TV service menu options? What should I look for?
I don't think there's anything you can do about this.

(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  b) The FirePro card or driver can't send 4K@30Hz 4:4:4 signal. Actually, I took a screenshot of the test pic showing 4:2:2 on this 4K monitor, saved and open it on another known 1080P 4:4:4 monitor, since I don't have another 4K LCD. The screenshot shown bright 4:4:4 on that monitor instead of 4:2:2 originally taken. Given it was not the original test image, but a GPU output screenshot, this seems to confirm current GPU and driver output is 4K@30Hz RGB4:4:4?
No, screenshots represent the pixel data, not the output.

(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  You said the adapter can't affect 4:4:4, but cable and adapter can limit passthrough bandwidth, though in this case the GPU would likely decrease the output and the screenshot wouldn't show 4:4:4 - correct
RGB is always 4:4:4, so it can't decrease the output. If the output was YCbCr 4:2:2, then it should be available as an option.

(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  c) latest FirePro driver or Win10 may not work right with EDID Overrides, they ignore default extension blocks and overrides in registry that include YCbCr 4:4:4 source via HDMI1.4.
Why do you think EDID overrides aren't working? Like I said, the default extension block already has YCbCr 4:4:4 enabled. You said the option is available at lower resolutions, which means it's working. If it's not available at 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz, then that's a driver or hardware limitation, not a problem with the EDID override.

(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  How can I add YCbCr 4:4:4 support to base EDID section? Its greyed out in Deltacast and similar soft for EDID v1.3, yet can be added in v1.4
YCbCr 4:4:4 in the base block is for DisplayPort and requires EDID version 1.4. DP-HDMI is treated as HDMI. You need to set YCbCr 4:4:4 in the extension block for HDMI.

(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  CRU can't save or export EDID v1.4, it converts it to v1.3. If I try to install MonInfo created v1.4 inf, Windows converts it to v1.3 at install - why? I see it converted, when extract Registry EDID after the inf install with Deltacast or AW EDID Editor, or by exporting the Override key from Reg.
I don't know what you mean. CRU does not convert the EDID version, and neither does Windows. You're mixing something up. CRU supports both EDID version 1.3 and 1.4, and Windows does not convert anything in the .inf file. Did you restart after installing the .inf file? Deltacast and AW EDID Editor don't read EDID overrides. They read the base EDID from the registry, which isn't updated until the graphics driver restarts. If you want to import an edited EDID with CRU, use the "Import complete EDID" option. Otherwise, it just imports the resolutions and the extension block and not the new EDID information.

(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  Also, why default extension block is not stored in the registry, how the driver then uses its data?
The driver does not need the data in the registry. It gets the EDID directly from the monitor. Windows gets the EDID from the driver and stores the base block in the registry.

(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  d) the test image is 1080P. On a 4K monitor it might be placed on screen by a picture viewer without the exact positional pixel match, and then scaled by the monitor or GPU to match the pixels, resulting in 4:2:2 - possible? Anything to fix here?
The test is invalid if the image is scaled. The image doesn't need to fill the screen. If you display the test image 1:1 without scaling, the image will always show 4:4:4 on a 4:4:4 monitor.

(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  I guess, the main question is: what can be done to get 4:4:4 on this monitor? Huh This was already asked by almost everyone who bought it, but no reply, and Seiki doesn't have real tech support and neither post detail monitor specs so buyers can't demand compliance via FW update, but the panel spec confirms RGB4:4:4 10bpc support.
You shouldn't have to do anything. This sounds like a TV limitation. Maybe it can only display 4:4:4 at 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz with HDMI 2.0, or maybe it can't display 4:4:4 at all. The panel specs mean nothing if the TV's firmware doesn't handle it properly.

(12-25-2015 06:24 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  A related Q: Windows Display Settings offer scaling "size of text, apps, and other items" 100 to 200%. Advanced Display Settings allow to set Custom Scaling Level, or scale only text of specific window elements. On a 4K display its better to scale all desktop items to 150% for easy reading. But when working with Graphics or CAD, scaling images or models is a bad. Any way or Win utility that would allow to scale desktop elements and certain apps like browsers via WDS, but block scaling select apps like CAD packages, i.e. allow to choose what apps to scale by Win default?
You can disable scaling for individual programs in the .exe properties under the "Compatibility" tab with the "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings" option.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2015, 03:14 AM
Post: #1895
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-24-2015 03:58 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  I exported EDID override inf in CRU and installed to Win 10 64-bit with Driver Sig Enf. Off, then rebooted. I can see in Reg: SEK0030/key_name/Device Parameters (EDID)/EDID_OVERRIDE (0,1). But it looks like Win 10 only reads main EDID section, and doesn't read 0 and 1 overrides. If I replace EDID key with 0 and 1 keys, OS recreates it on reboot. I was trying the Override to get 4:4:4 chromo at 4K@30Hz, since its not listed in main EDID, but the pic test still shows 4:2:2. So it looks like either Win 10, or latest FirePro driver, or both can't handle EDID Overrides. The driver just reads and saves to Registry main EDID from EEPROM without the extension, despite its part of the factory EDID. Why this happens, and how to fix?
The EDID in the registry is always the base block only. This is why I will need to use driver-specific methods to read the default extension block. This doesn't mean the extension block override isn't working.

"EDID" = currently active base block
"0" = base block override
"1" = extension block override

"EDID" should match "0" if the override is working.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2015, 12:26 PM
Post: #1896
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have 3 u2414h monitors and am trying to overclock them. Ive tried everything i know to do but i cannot select 75hz in the drop down box in monitor settings. I went from 5760x1080 (eyefinity) to 1920x1080 and I still cant get it to work. I am running Windows 10 64bit and have a Sapphire Tri-X Fury. I have all 3 of my monitors hooked up mini display port to display port.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2015, 01:36 PM
Post: #1897
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-26-2015 12:26 PM)McBanjo Wrote:  I have 3 u2414h monitors and am trying to overclock them. Ive tried everything i know to do but i cannot select 75hz in the drop down box in monitor settings. I went from 5760x1080 (eyefinity) to 1920x1080 and I still cant get it to work. I am running Windows 10 64bit and have a Sapphire Tri-X Fury. I have all 3 of my monitors hooked up mini display port to display port.
You need to show me what you did because I don't have enough information to go on. I'm not aware of any limitations that would prevent 1920x1080 @ 75 Hz from working with DisplayPort.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2015, 01:43 PM
Post: #1898
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
@ToastyX

Thanks for your tireless concise and friendly support to forum community! Sorry for asking questions that may sound stupid, since you show infinitely better knowledge of the field. I wish you a Mary Christmas and Happy New Year! Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2015, 01:48 PM (Last edited: 12-26-2015, 01:53 PM by McBanjo)
Post: #1899
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Sorry i didnt add much but ill give you more details later. Basically i added the res in the bottom and made custom timing and added at the top. I restarted the drivers with restart64.exe (also tried restarting pc) and it doesnt give me any options other than 60hz. At the top it says im using the active display so im sort of scratching my head.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2015, 06:55 PM
Post: #1900
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
New update. I got it working! Monitors have no issue doing 75hz. I had to disable eyefinity and have 3 seperate 1920x1080 monitors. How can i get this working with eyefinity?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 33 Guest(s)