Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
02-13-2017, 06:07 AM
Post: #2601
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-12-2017 06:34 PM)geobion Wrote:  Im using windows 10, and i have a rx 480. Its not letting me overclock. I did everything right, and i restarted, and it didnt show the new hz.
I have the DELL ST2421L and the G236HL.
You didn't say what you did. How are the monitors connected? Did you take into account the pixel clock limits?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2017, 06:10 AM
Post: #2602
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-12-2017 12:22 AM)makisman Wrote:  I bought the LG 24MP58VQ IPS which is 1920x1080 60hz.

Used the CRU and reached 76hz at LCD reduced and 75hz at LCD standard.

That's the weird thing because at 75hz the pixel clock is 174.57 while at 76hz it is 164.81.

Now if i go 77hz LCD reduced the clock is lower than 174.57 but doesn't let me and get an out of range warning. Is that normal?
When it comes to "overclocking" monitors, most monitors are "locked" in the sense that the firmware is programmed to only accept a certain range of refresh rates or timing parameters. Since every model is different, I don't know what limitations your monitor has, but 75-77 Hz is a common refresh rate limitation. If your monitor is limiting the horizontal scan rate, you might be able to squeeze in 77 Hz by reducing the vertical blanking to 10.

(02-12-2017 12:22 AM)makisman Wrote:  My GPU is integrated INTEL HD 530 and connected via HDMI 2.0 cable.
The motherboard graphics output is HDMI 1.4 and the monitor i think supports HDMI 2.0. Should i use DVI-D connection to override the out of range warning and go further?

I shall upgrade my GPU to an AMD RX 480 probably. Will i be able to go further?
"Out of range" is a monitor limitation, so changing video cards won't help unless you're running into pixel clock limits in the driver. 1080p monitors don't need HDMI 2.0, and since you're able to go higher than 165 MHz pixel clock, that's not the limiting factor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2017, 09:21 AM
Post: #2603
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-13-2017 06:10 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  When it comes to "overclocking" monitors, most monitors are "locked" in the sense that the firmware is programmed to only accept a certain range of refresh rates or timing parameters. Since every model is different, I don't know what limitations your monitor has, but 75-77 Hz is a common refresh rate limitation. If your monitor is limiting the horizontal scan rate, you might be able to squeeze in 77 Hz by reducing the vertical blanking to 10.


"Out of range" is a monitor limitation, so changing video cards won't help unless you're running into pixel clock limits in the driver. 1080p monitors don't need HDMI 2.0, and since you're able to go higher than 165 MHz pixel clock, that's not the limiting factor.

Thank you for the answer! I reduced vertical blanking to 10 but took me out of range again.
So 76hz is the limit for me, which i think is good for a 60hz monitor.
I shall go at 75hz and i am happy!
Thanks again ToastyX!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-14-2017, 01:20 AM
Post: #2604
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
@ToastyX

Help, Looks like the very latest AMD drivers 17.2.1 have stopped cru 1.3 working.
I have been using this since the summer everything working fine. I did have my monitor upped from 60hz to 72Hz. Now it doesnt give me the option after a restart in the windows display adapter settings. Im using hdmi, i dont user the patcher and fressync now works but between 30-60 (not 70) my monitor is a ultrawide AOC 29 inch q2963pm.

Ideas to get round this issue?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-14-2017, 02:15 AM
Post: #2605
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-14-2017 01:20 AM)kaisersolo Wrote:  @ToastyX

Help, Looks like the very latest AMD drivers 17.2.1 have stopped cru 1.3 working.
I have been using this since the summer everything working fine. I did have my monitor upped from 60hz to 72Hz. Now it doesnt give me the option after a restart in the windows display adapter settings. Im using hdmi, i dont user the patcher and fressync now works but between 30-60 (not 70) my monitor is a ultrawide AOC 29 inch q2963pm.

Ideas to get round this issue?
This seems to be a driver bug in 17.2.1. The driver is not loading EDID overrides on startup.

I found one workaround: toggling GPU scaling will load the EDID override, but you'll have to do this every reboot.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-14-2017, 11:03 AM
Post: #2606
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-14-2017 02:15 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-14-2017 01:20 AM)kaisersolo Wrote:  @ToastyX

Help, Looks like the very latest AMD drivers 17.2.1 have stopped cru 1.3 working.
I have been using this since the summer everything working fine. I did have my monitor upped from 60hz to 72Hz. Now it doesnt give me the option after a restart in the windows display adapter settings. Im using hdmi, i dont user the patcher and fressync now works but between 30-60 (not 70) my monitor is a ultrawide AOC 29 inch q2963pm.

Ideas to get round this issue?
This seems to be a driver bug in 17.2.1. The driver is not loading EDID overrides on startup.

I found one workaround: toggling GPU scaling will load the EDID override, but you'll have to do this every reboot.

Goodman @ToastyX:
I'll try this tonight.Wink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-15-2017, 09:19 AM
Post: #2607
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
hello @ToastyX, yesterday I went from win 7 to win 10, with the latest 17.2.1 amd driver can not make the program work, I tried them all, could you help me? on win 7 I had my monitor aoc2757 to 74 hz and I've never had a problema.Ti I also sent some screen.

[Image: http://i66.tinypic.com/r7of7o.png]
[Image: http://i66.tinypic.com/10f6la1.png]
[Image: http://i65.tinypic.com/30kgeb4.png]

Thanks for your help
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-15-2017, 06:26 PM (Last edited: 02-15-2017, 06:34 PM by CRUrocks)
Post: #2608
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Same here, I have a R9 290 with an LG 23EA53 23" IPS monitor connected through HDMI, on W10 Pro 64b. CRU 1.3 lets me use it at 72-75Hz without any problems so far.

Yesterday I updated to 17.2.1 (previous cleanup with DDU as always) and CRU doesn't seem to work anymore, AMD's own custom resolution utility creates the custom resolution but doesn't apply it on startup. Either way, it's wonky and AMD probably screwed something up in this area. Ugh I hate 60hz. I'll be going back to the previous driver for the time being.


[Image: http://i.cubeupload.com/8xJaAm.jpg]

[Image: http://i.cubeupload.com/VFLayK.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-15-2017, 08:14 PM
Post: #2609
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I addressed this on the last page:
(02-14-2017 02:15 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  This seems to be a driver bug in 17.2.1. The driver is not loading EDID overrides on startup.

I found one workaround: toggling GPU scaling will load the EDID override, but you'll have to do this every reboot.
Make sure to report this to AMD: http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D23A3DE979
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-15-2017, 09:42 PM
Post: #2610
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Will do, thank you very much and keep up the good work!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 30 Guest(s)