Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
03-14-2015, 01:30 PM
Post: #1
How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
Hi,

I seem to be having some difficulty in getting my HDMI 2.0 4k tv to run at 60hz (as advertised) I understand this may be a limit of the graphics card HDMI 1.4a connection and was wondering if this can be overridden via the pixel clock patcher combind with CRU. I have input the resolution into the (active) part under my resolutions in CRU but when I add 4096 x 2160p the resolutions are in RED could someone offer me some advice, im currently running at 4096x2160@30hz thank you my TV is LGUB820V 4k@60hz HDMI 2.0 with an HDMI 2.0 capable lead @60hz.

thank you

Salsoul
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2015, 01:42 PM
Post: #2
How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
Are you sure it supports 4096x2160?

Most "4k" TVs are actually 3840x2160. I'd try that resolution, regardless of the refresh rate you're going for.

Edit: just checked on LG.com and confirmed it's 3840x2160
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2015, 01:52 PM
Post: #3
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(03-14-2015 01:42 PM)Black Octagon Wrote:  Are you sure it supports 4096x2160?

Most "4k" TVs are actually 3840x2160. I'd try that resolution, regardless of the refresh rate you're going for.

Edit: just checked on LG.com and confirmed it's 3840x2160


My monitor is running at 4096 x 2160 @ 30hz thats is according to windows resoilutions and Catalyst Control Center
Yeah I know it says 3840x2160 on the specs but surely if the monitor didnt support 4096x2160 it would say invalid format or out of range wouldnt it ?

btw 3840x2160 still gives me @30hz

[Image: http://i62.tinypic.com/30xkkl4.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2015, 05:52 PM
Post: #4
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
Several issues:

1. LG.com says the TV is 3840x2160, not 4096x2160. It may accept 4096x2160, but it's probably scaling. Isn't 4096x2160 blurrier than 3840x2160?

2. AMD cards are not currently capable of HDMI 2.0 speeds. The latest pixel clock patcher will let you try, but it won't get around hardware limitations.

3. It's not possible to define 4096x2160 as a detailed resolution because of EDID limitations.

4. It's possible to add 4096x2160 @ 60 Hz as a TV resolution in the extension block, but AMD's driver will ignore it unless 4096x2160 @ 24 Hz is defined in the HDMI support data block, which CRU does not currently have a way of doing.

Try playing around with 3840x2160 first. Chances are you won't even be able to get 40 Hz. If you can get 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz working, then I can provide a custom extension block with 4096x2160 @ 60 Hz if you want.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2015, 09:51 PM
Post: #5
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(03-14-2015 05:52 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Several issues:

1. LG.com says the TV is 3840x2160, not 4096x2160. It may accept 4096x2160, but it's probably scaling. Isn't 4096x2160 blurrier than 3840x2160?

no its not blurred at all Apologies for the large picture post I just wanted to show you the text is not blurred.
[Image: http://s17.postimg.org/ulmdo0lm5/Capture.png]

2. AMD cards are not currently capable of HDMI 2.0 speeds. The latest pixel clock patcher will let you try, but it won't get around hardware limitations.

Yes the damn hdmi 1.4a bandwidth limitation is a pain

3. It's not possible to define 4096x2160 as a detailed resolution because of EDID limitations.

I see, I guess the only way is to wait for a DP to HDMI 2.0 adapter to hit the market.

4. It's possible to add 4096x2160 @ 60 Hz as a TV resolution in the extension block, but AMD's driver will ignore it unless 4096x2160 @ 24 Hz is defined in the HDMI support data block, which CRU does not currently have a way of doing.

Im not using the GPU's to scale the LG IPS panel is scaling and gives me the 4096 x 2160p if I use the gpu to scale i can only get 3200 x 1800 via VSR and that is blurry

Try playing around with 3840x2160 first. Chances are you won't even be able to get 40 Hz. If you can get 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz working, then I can provide a custom extension block with 4096x2160 @ 60 Hz if you want.

I could not get 3840x2160@60 working had to reset. The LG is scaling not the card. that is the problem I belive, but DP 1.2 which is on the card can carry 3840x2160@60hz just have to wait for an adapter.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2015, 07:02 AM
Post: #6
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(03-14-2015 05:52 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Several issues:

1. LG.com says the TV is 3840x2160, not 4096x2160. It may accept 4096x2160, but it's probably scaling. Isn't 4096x2160 blurrier than 3840x2160?

2. AMD cards are not currently capable of HDMI 2.0 speeds. The latest pixel clock patcher will let you try, but it won't get around hardware limitations.

3. It's not possible to define 4096x2160 as a detailed resolution because of EDID limitations.

4. It's possible to add 4096x2160 @ 60 Hz as a TV resolution in the extension block, but AMD's driver will ignore it unless 4096x2160 @ 24 Hz is defined in the HDMI support data block, which CRU does not currently have a way of doing.

Try playing around with 3840x2160 first. Chances are you won't even be able to get 40 Hz. If you can get 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz working, then I can provide a custom extension block with 4096x2160 @ 60 Hz if you want.

toasty provide a block for 5k-8k resolutions pls, at 24 hz and 30 hz Q_Q
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2015, 12:30 PM
Post: #7
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(03-16-2015 07:02 AM)xeltic Wrote:  toasty provide a block for 5k-8k resolutions pls, at 24 hz and 30 hz Q_Q
That's not possible. There are no 5k-8k TV resolutions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2015, 06:46 PM
Post: #8
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(03-16-2015 12:30 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-16-2015 07:02 AM)xeltic Wrote:  toasty provide a block for 5k-8k resolutions pls, at 24 hz and 30 hz Q_Q
That's not possible. There are no 5k-8k TV resolutions.

Toasty, I need your help. I have a Vizio 4k TV that I run at 4k@60hz. Occasionally though I'd like to run at 1440 or something around that. Since the tv doesnt support native 1440p I decided to use gpu scaling to scale 1440 to the tv's native res. But, even though the tv is capable of 4k@60 when set to gpu scaling I only get the option of 30hz for scaled res. I think its because the EDID tells my pc that the native is 4k@30 so thats what gpu scaling defaults to. I tried making custom EDIDS, tried edids of other monitors, even got a black screen once but I just could not set the 4k@60 with the tvs timings that it works on as the native res and refresh rate. If you could make me an EDID overide to set whatever the timings and everything the tv is on at 4k@60 as the native I would be so happy.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2015, 11:02 PM
Post: #9
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(07-10-2015 06:46 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  Toasty, I need your help. I have a Vizio 4k TV that I run at 4k@60hz. Occasionally though I'd like to run at 1440 or something around that. Since the tv doesnt support native 1440p I decided to use gpu scaling to scale 1440 to the tv's native res. But, even though the tv is capable of 4k@60 when set to gpu scaling I only get the option of 30hz for scaled res. I think its because the EDID tells my pc that the native is 4k@30 so thats what gpu scaling defaults to. I tried making custom EDIDS, tried edids of other monitors, even got a black screen once but I just could not set the 4k@60 with the tvs timings that it works on as the native res and refresh rate. If you could make me an EDID overide to set whatever the timings and everything the tv is on at 4k@60 as the native I would be so happy.
Do you need 4096x2160 (4K) or do you mean 3840x2160 (UHD)? Are you getting YCbCr 4:4:4 at 60 Hz with HDMI 2.0, or is it YCbCr 4:2:0? What video card do you have?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2015, 11:34 PM (This post was last modified: 07-11-2015 11:37 PM by Duke_PH.)
Post: #10
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
3840x2160. 4k 60hz at 4:2:0 with a gtx 980ti. My work around to play at 1440 on far cry 4 for example was to make a custom res 1440 at 60 hz. So that it's choosable from the game. Then play on full screen borderless window with my desktop at 4k60. Of course not all games have full screen borderless and of course I don't get true scaling that way.
(07-11-2015 11:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-10-2015 06:46 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  Toasty, I need your help. I have a Vizio 4k TV that I run at 4k@60hz. Occasionally though I'd like to run at 1440 or something around that. Since the tv doesnt support native 1440p I decided to use gpu scaling to scale 1440 to the tv's native res. But, even though the tv is capable of 4k@60 when set to gpu scaling I only get the option of 30hz for scaled res. I think its because the EDID tells my pc that the native is 4k@30 so thats what gpu scaling defaults to. I tried making custom EDIDS, tried edids of other monitors, even got a black screen once but I just could not set the 4k@60 with the tvs timings that it works on as the native res and refresh rate. If you could make me an EDID overide to set whatever the timings and everything the tv is on at 4k@60 as the native I would be so happy.
Do you need 4096x2160 (4K) or do you mean 3840x2160 (UHD)? Are you getting YCbCr 4:4:4 at 60 Hz with HDMI 2.0, or is it YCbCr 4:2:0? What video card do you have?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)