Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
02-26-2014, 04:10 PM
Post: #751
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-26-2014 12:29 PM)uhufreak Wrote:  I was not able to reproduce the issue with manual timings.
Even with the lowest possible values of

H. Black porch: 8
H. Blanking: 88
H. Total: 2648
V. Black porch: 1
V. Blanking: 9
V. Total: 1449

H: +
V: -

(Pixel Clock: 425.91 MHz)

applied, the issue still did not appear.
Those aren't the lowest possible values. "LCD reduced" sets the vertical total to 1446. Reduce the vertical front porch and sync width so the total can accommodate them. "LCD reduced" sets them to 2.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-05-2014, 01:52 PM (Last edited: 03-05-2014, 10:58 PM by krml)
Post: #752
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, all! I have a problem about my X-star 2710 (Same panel as Qnix 2710).

My monitor is doing 120hz without artifacts. The problem is that when I increase my refresh rate via CRU, top right side of monitor is becoming darker in (128-0-0) half color values than left side of monitor. Moreover, slight dark columns appear at right top side. Strange thing is top green, red or blue colors (255-0-0) are perfect and not affected with this problem. It can be seen at 90hz but so minimal. At 60hz, there is no problem at all.

Green colors are more vulnerable than blue or red. So, I am sharing pics of half green (128-0-0).

90hz:
http://imgim.com/1032inciu1558886.jpg

105hz:
http://imgim.com/810incis7726269.jpg

120hz:
http://imgim.com/2179inciq9693294.jpg

All there are LCD Reduced. It looks like LCD Standard has no impact with this issue. What is my problem exactly and how can I solve it?

Thanks...

Edit: We may now continue on https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa...-DP2710LED
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-07-2014, 05:50 PM (Last edited: 03-07-2014, 05:51 PM by Kanisteri)
Post: #753
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I was trying to use CRU to remove the 1080p 59hz option but instead, it wont remove it and it also adds a 50hz option in the Windows Refresh rate settings. Nvidia Control Panel was only showing the 60hz option but games were defaulting to 50hz. Actually, modifying anything with the CRU is adding the 50hz to 1080p and I cant get rid of the 59hz. Deleting the active profile gets rid of the 50hz. I tried using it with and without any extension block and with and without GeForce Experience.

Screen is a LG W2453, a 60hz 1920x1080 display with a DVI.
Video card is NVidia GTX 560.
OS is Windows 8.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-08-2014, 02:05 PM
Post: #754
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-07-2014 05:50 PM)Kanisteri Wrote:  I was trying to use CRU to remove the 1080p 59hz option but instead, it wont remove it and it also adds a 50hz option in the Windows Refresh rate settings. Nvidia Control Panel was only showing the 60hz option but games were defaulting to 50hz. Actually, modifying anything with the CRU is adding the 50hz to 1080p and I cant get rid of the 59hz. Deleting the active profile gets rid of the 50hz. I tried using it with and without any extension block and with and without GeForce Experience.
NVIDIA's driver automatically adds 59 Hz for certain 60 Hz resolutions. You might have to change the refresh rate to something like 60.01 Hz.

If the extension block is disabled and you don't have any 50 Hz resolutions defined in CRU, then 50 Hz shouldn't be listed in the Windows screen resolution settings with the "Hide modes that this monitor cannot display" option enabled.

If the extension block is disabled, make sure GeForce Experience and Samsung Magician aren't installed. The other option is to enable the extension block and import this file: blank-extension.dat
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-08-2014, 11:26 PM (Last edited: 03-09-2014, 12:39 AM by slimething)
Post: #755
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a LG w2286L. I am currently at 1680x1050 @75.003 hz. Going to 80 hz the monitor says "out of range". Is it maxed at 75?

EDIT: Is it best to use the stock settings @ 75 hz or one of the Automatic? I've used both, and the numbers (front porch, sync width etc.) change a lot from the monitors stock 60 hz to 75 hz using 'Automatic'.

I played with other custom resolutions; 1920 x 1080 works @75, but of course circles (ex. rifle scope) are not quite as round Smile 1920 x 1200 will not work even @ 60 hz, so I may be stuck with 1680 x 1050 @75 hz.....still a great improvement in smoothness while playing BF4.

Sorry, you're dealing with a noob here. I want to make sure to understand what is the best settings for performance/visual quality.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2014, 01:14 AM
Post: #756
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-08-2014 11:26 PM)slimething Wrote:  I have a LG w2286L. I am currently at 1680x1050 @75.003 hz. Going to 80 hz the monitor says "out of range". Is it maxed at 75?

EDIT: Is it best to use the stock settings @ 75 hz or one of the Automatic? I've used both, and the numbers (front porch, sync width etc.) change a lot from the monitors stock 60 hz to 75 hz using 'Automatic'.
Most LCD monitors will not accept more than 75-77 Hz. The settings don't really matter as long as the monitor accepts them and the pixel clock stays under 165 MHz for single-link DVI, but AMD cards require the "LCD standard" vertical blanking/total to reduce the memory clock when idle. The settings don't affect gaming performance or visual quality.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2014, 11:00 PM (Last edited: 03-09-2014, 11:20 PM by Kanisteri)
Post: #757
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-08-2014 02:05 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  NVIDIA's driver automatically adds 59 Hz for certain 60 Hz resolutions. You might have to change the refresh rate to something like 60.01 Hz.

If the extension block is disabled and you don't have any 50 Hz resolutions defined in CRU, then 50 Hz shouldn't be listed in the Windows screen resolution settings with the "Hide modes that this monitor cannot display" option enabled.

If the extension block is disabled, make sure GeForce Experience and Samsung Magician aren't installed. The other option is to enable the extension block and import this file: blank-extension.dat

With the 'Hide modes that this monitor cannot display' option on the 50hz option is still appearing there whether I use the blank extension or not.

Edit: Fixed it with removing every Established and Standard resolution, got rid of 59hz with a 60.133hz resolution but 1920x1080 wouldn't work outside of desktop.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-09-2014, 11:46 PM
Post: #758
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-09-2014 01:14 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-08-2014 11:26 PM)slimething Wrote:  I have a LG w2286L. I am currently at 1680x1050 @75.003 hz. Going to 80 hz the monitor says "out of range". Is it maxed at 75?

EDIT: Is it best to use the stock settings @ 75 hz or one of the Automatic? I've used both, and the numbers (front porch, sync width etc.) change a lot from the monitors stock 60 hz to 75 hz using 'Automatic'.
Most LCD monitors will not accept more than 75-77 Hz. The settings don't really matter as long as the monitor accepts them and the pixel clock stays under 165 MHz for single-link DVI, but AMD cards require the "LCD standard" vertical blanking/total to reduce the memory clock when idle. The settings don't affect gaming performance or visual quality.

Got it, thanks. Even at 75 hz, gaming is considerably better.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-12-2014, 10:36 PM (Last edited: 03-12-2014, 10:38 PM by mdrejhon)
Post: #759
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello ToastyX,

I am trying to test ToastyX Strobelight on an NVIDIA Optimus laptop, and it is not working as is already known. (Optimus is the GPU switching between Intel and NVIDIA).
However, I still would like to figure out if it's possible one way or another.

Does Intel graphics support DDC/CI? I found out that you can do custom resolutions on the NVIDIA via Intel's Graphic and Media Control Panel, and it works via Optimus -- basically you can't add custom resolutions via NVIDIA Control Panel, but you have to add it via Intel. This could mean that LightBoost initialization may need to be done via the Intel GPU rather than the NVIDIA GPU...

Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Owner of BlurBusters.com and TestUFO.com
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-13-2014, 12:26 AM
Post: #760
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
hi guys, i have gotten my 42in LG hdtvs to 75hz so far at 1920x1080 , i have 2 6970s with 2 cross bridges , why would a game {rfactor] studder at that rez at 75hz ? at 60 all is good , i have 3 of the lgs for eyefinity but cant get rf to play on 5760x1080 , any idea ? an do i need to create a custom rez 1 monitor at a time or can i do it with all 3 ? doing 1 now lol , i play iracing an rfactor for now , also, i cant get my tv to do even 90hz , driver is patched , even with the mini displayport to hdmi adapter to 1 tv
thanks for your help


steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 44 Guest(s)