Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
02-18-2017, 07:47 PM
Post: #2621
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
ToastyX, thanks for this fantastic software and all the support you're giving. Unfortunately, I am unable to get this to work with my monitor.

I have an X-Star DP2710. I had it overclocked to 96Hz on my old GTX 780, and it was working fine using the Nvidia Control Panel. My GTX 780 just died, so I went and picked up an RX 480. Installed the driver for it, patched the driver, and added a custom detailed resolution at 96Hz. I reboot, and the new refresh rate is not showing up. I'm connecting to the monitor using DVI-D. Any ideas why it's not showing up? Did I miss a step?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-18-2017, 07:55 PM
Post: #2622
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Intel's vulkan driver for windows 15.45.14.4590 (21.20.16.4590) supposedly adds support for custom resolutions but does not work for me on Skylake + windows 7, nvidia optimus turned on.

Is anyone able to report success with CRU on these latest intel drivers?
Find here: https://communities.intel.com/message/449637#449637

I've also tried moving the custom resolutions up as #1 on the list in CRU, still does not work...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-18-2017, 09:31 PM
Post: #2623
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-18-2017 07:55 PM)margroloc Wrote:  Intel's vulkan driver for windows 15.45.14.4590 (21.20.16.4590) supposedly adds support for custom resolutions but does not work for me on Skylake + windows 7, nvidia optimus turned on.
What resolutions are you trying to add and for what monitor?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-18-2017, 09:35 PM
Post: #2624
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-18-2017 07:47 PM)sapsay Wrote:  I have an X-Star DP2710. I had it overclocked to 96Hz on my old GTX 780, and it was working fine using the Nvidia Control Panel. My GTX 780 just died, so I went and picked up an RX 480. Installed the driver for it, patched the driver, and added a custom detailed resolution at 96Hz. I reboot, and the new refresh rate is not showing up. I'm connecting to the monitor using DVI-D. Any ideas why it's not showing up? Did I miss a step?
Which driver did you install? 17.2.1 has an issue with EDID overrides not loading. Any previous driver should work. Just make sure the driver is patched.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-18-2017, 09:37 PM
Post: #2625
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-17-2017 11:40 PM)BLUuuE Wrote:  It was working fine on 16.11.5 with CRU, not sure why 17.2.1 broke it.

(02-14-2017 02:15 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  This seems to be a driver bug in 17.2.1. The driver is not loading EDID overrides on startup.

I found one workaround: toggling GPU scaling will load the EDID override, but you'll have to do this every reboot.
Make sure to report this to AMD: http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D23A3DE979
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2017, 12:18 AM
Post: #2626
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-18-2017 09:31 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-18-2017 07:55 PM)margroloc Wrote:  Intel's vulkan driver for windows 15.45.14.4590 (21.20.16.4590) supposedly adds support for custom resolutions but does not work for me on Skylake + windows 7, nvidia optimus turned on.
What resolutions are you trying to add and for what monitor?

1080p on the built in 1080p monitor, tried 61hz, 63hz. None show up in windows drop down list.

Also tried an attached 1440p monitor, added a custom refresh rate for it in CRU, restarted, rebooted, doesn't show up either.

Intel's built in tool of course does not work, it just gives a 'bandwidth exceeded' error every time even if I try to add 59hz.
I also removed both intel & novideo drivers via DDU, clean installed the intel drivers, and tried CRU again. Didn't find the custom refresh rate in Windows after restarting the driver, a reboot didn't help either.

I highly doubt it is a problem with CRU, just intel drivers not working like always.
Would be great if anyone else could report whether it was working on these new drivers or not.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2017, 03:47 AM
Post: #2627
Heart RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Awesome tool. It's super useful.

I would like to automate the process or adding some custom resolutions.
I would like to know if it would possible to embed your EDID generator code inside my app?
Is there any API you're exposing or any source code availlable?

Anyway, thanks a ton for your tool.
Romain
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2017, 02:17 PM
Post: #2628
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-17-2017 11:40 PM)BLUuuE Wrote:  I updated my drivers to 17.2.1 today and added a custom resolution as usual with these timings:
[Image: 8f1766ba67.png]

I then restarted my display driver via restart64.exe but when I went to select my 75Hz refresh rate in Windows, it wasn't there.

Specs:
  • LG E2441V-BN
  • Windows 10 Pro Version 1607
  • R9 380
  • connected via HDMI cable

Any ideas?

edit: I added a custom resolution via AMD settings, but when I test for frame skipping I get:
"SYNC FAILURE:
Imperfect sync. Try closing all apps and browser tabs."
It was working fine on 16.11.5 with CRU, not sure why 17.2.1 broke it.

Happened to me as well, it was working fine in the previous Crimson drivers, but not working anymore.

Hopefully ToastyX posts some info or fix for it Undecided

My Monitor Specs:

LG 23EA53
Windows 10 Pro
R9 290x
HDMI 1.2 cable used.

I went up as high as 75hz with this setup, but now custom refresh rates refuse to appear anymore.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2017, 02:51 PM
Post: #2629
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-19-2017 02:17 PM)TinchoX Wrote:  
(02-17-2017 11:40 PM)BLUuuE Wrote:  I updated my drivers to 17.2.1 today and added a custom resolution as usual with these timings:
[Image: 8f1766ba67.png]

I then restarted my display driver via restart64.exe but when I went to select my 75Hz refresh rate in Windows, it wasn't there.

Specs:
  • LG E2441V-BN
  • Windows 10 Pro Version 1607
  • R9 380
  • connected via HDMI cable

Any ideas?

edit: I added a custom resolution via AMD settings, but when I test for frame skipping I get:
"SYNC FAILURE:
Imperfect sync. Try closing all apps and browser tabs."
It was working fine on 16.11.5 with CRU, not sure why 17.2.1 broke it.

Happened to me as well, it was working fine in the previous Crimson drivers, but not working anymore.

Hopefully ToastyX posts some info or fix for it Undecided

My Monitor Specs:

LG 23EA53
Windows 10 Pro
R9 290x
HDMI 1.2 cable used.

I went up as high as 75hz with this setup, but now custom refresh rates refuse to appear anymore.

Same problem here. I've backed to 17.1.2 driver version and it's OK now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2017, 11:00 PM (Last edited: 02-19-2017, 11:16 PM by boxes)
Post: #2630
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have to flip GPU scaling on as someone else mentioned, to get the settings to to work. When I had a radeon 4670, I used to be able to run my monitor 1920x1200 @ 80Hz, but now only 60Hz shows up. I wonder what the problem is. I can still run 1440x900 and 1680x1050 @ 80 Hz, using LCD standard. I'm using a DVI to HDMI adapter on a generic monitor that I pulled out of a playstation store display, it's an CPVA/SPVA panel based on how the pixels look, and it having true 8-bit color.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 35 Guest(s)