Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
01-03-2019, 07:17 PM
Post: #3721
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-28-2018 02:35 AM)ReaverG Wrote:  Alright I changed to hdmi and on lcd standard I got to 70hz, lcd native I believe I got to 66hz and on reduced I got to 75hz. If I use the extension block can I achieve higher yet? I only ask cause if I use it and nothing changes I have to find out how to reverse the extension patch. I have a amd rx580. If not I will just stay at reduced 75hz. I always thought dvi was better than hdmi maybe that was old hdmi cables I don't know guess I learned something from this.
Those are the same refresh rates you would get with single-link DVI with the 165 MHz pixel clock limit. You shouldn't have to add an extension block if the monitor supports HDMI because it should already have one. If not, you can add one manually, and that might help you go beyond the 165 MHz pixel clock limit. The extension block is not a patch, and everything is easily reversible by following the instructions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-03-2019, 07:18 PM
Post: #3722
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-29-2018 01:07 AM)lcass Wrote:  So I'm attempting to overclock my macbook pro 2017 display using CRU but I'm coming up against some hurdles, basically I need to keep the pixel clock constant or it rapidly gets black screened. This means the best I can get is 61Hz (up from 60hz) by lowering the padding but as you can understand this is a pretty useless overclock. Is there anything else I can do to increase the pixel clock?
Sounds like it's not overclockable.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-03-2019, 07:19 PM
Post: #3723
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-29-2018 07:40 PM)Dannypa Wrote:  Could I use 120 hz in 800x600 in 60 HZ native? This have less bandwidth than 1080p. is it true?
That depends on the monitor. The monitor would have to support 120 Hz regardless of the bandwidth.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-08-2019, 06:02 AM
Post: #3724
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Those are the same refresh rates you would get with single-link DVI with the 165 MHz pixel clock limit. You shouldn't have to add an extension block if the monitor supports HDMI because it should already have one. If not, you can add one manually, and that might help you go beyond the 165 MHz pixel clock limit. The extension block is not a patch, and everything is easily reversible by following the instructions.
[/quote]
Sounds good I will give it a shot.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2019, 12:03 PM
Post: #3725
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
- Have the BenQ XL2546 (DyAc disabled, it causes headaches, which I didn't expect because it didn't happen with my XL2411) and a 1080 Ti.

- It's early and the new nvidia freesync drivers don't come out until next week.

- Does the freesync tweak/hack work at all and does it really only work on hdmi, or will displayport work.

- Has anyone anywhere gotten freesync to work on the BenQ XL2546 at least on an AMD card.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2019, 05:23 PM
Post: #3726
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-09-2019 12:03 PM)progamingnoob Wrote:  - Does the freesync tweak/hack work at all and does it really only work on hdmi, or will displayport work.
That trick only works with a few monitors, and only with HDMI. The point of the FreeSync data block is to allow editing the HDMI FreeSync range, not to add FreeSync to monitors that don't support it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2019, 05:49 PM
Post: #3727
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi all

Is there any way to suppress the "Graphics driver restarted" confirmation popup?

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-15-2019, 10:37 AM (This post was last modified: 01-15-2019 12:43 PM by TnF.)
Post: #3728
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello ToastyX and thanks for creating this utility. I have a new workstation laptop here that i borrow from work to use at home until i have funds to build a PC, it is a HP Zbook 17 with coffee lake 8850H and quadro p3200. I successfully overclocked the monitor LGD059E to 100hz@1080p without dropping frames (ufo frame skipping test). All with latest intel and nvidia drivers.

My question is that if i add a resolution over 100hz it will not appear inside the intel graphics control panel. (now that i think about it i haven't checked if it appears inside windows display properties; maybe it is a limit in the intel control panel edit: checked anything above 100hz doesn't appear). Any idea why this happens..also noticed it says that the bit-depth is 6-bit instead of 8-bit..weird.



update:
(12-23-2018 06:44 PM)xtcrefugee Wrote:  I just wanted to bring the following to ToastyX's attention in case they were unaware, the new Intel DCH (UWD) drivers (i.e. the one's you'll now see for 6th-9th gen Intel graphics in their download center) don't seem to work with CRU any more. Entries added to detailed resolutions did not show up either in the settings app or in the UWP Intel control panel. This has been verified on both HD Graphics 500 and HD Graphics 615. CRU worked correctly on both devices with the legacy drivers (6373 and earlier).

Not really; i was with these "legacy" drivers and updated to the latest DCH drivers and my CRU resolutions are still there and work. The only issue is that was supposedly an intel driver bug with these older drivers is the 6-bit bug (according to intel forum posts). However i've noticed the original 1080p@60hz resolution gives 8-bit color depth. Anything above 60hz drops down to 6-bit. As for the methodology i used to update was to use the "have disc" method because the installer wouldn't let me install them, after i did this once it let me re-install them with the installer. No idea what is going on here:/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-15-2019, 03:57 PM (This post was last modified: 01-15-2019 03:59 PM by nirkon.)
Post: #3729
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-11-2019 05:23 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-09-2019 12:03 PM)progamingnoob Wrote:  - Does the freesync tweak/hack work at all and does it really only work on hdmi, or will displayport work.
That trick only works with a few monitors, and only with HDMI. The point of the FreeSync data block is to allow editing the HDMI FreeSync range, not to add FreeSync to monitors that don't support it.

but could it theoretically add freesync support to monitors that don't support it?

Nvidia released today freesync support for nvidia cards, but it only works through displayport, Is there any way to hack/force the driver to think that freesync is supported with displayport? that would be amazing.
(I tried adding the freesync range to the displayport extension block, but no luck there.)


Anyway, thanks for your work on the CRU, cool piece of software!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-15-2019, 06:46 PM
Post: #3730
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-15-2019 03:57 PM)nirkon Wrote:  but could it theoretically add freesync support to monitors that don't support it?
The monitor needs to be able to handle variable vertical blanking intervals, which isn't common with HDMI scalers.

(01-15-2019 03:57 PM)nirkon Wrote:  Nvidia released today freesync support for nvidia cards, but it only works through displayport, Is there any way to hack/force the driver to think that freesync is supported with displayport? that would be amazing.
(I tried adding the freesync range to the displayport extension block, but no luck there.)
No, the monitor needs to support adaptive sync.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 37 Guest(s)