Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
02-07-2019, 08:32 PM
Post: #3811
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Has anyone ever tried to force Freesync support on a Gsync monitor. I understand its dumb to buy a Gsync monitor I just want to know for science.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2019, 09:21 PM
Post: #3812
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-07-2019 08:32 PM)Prefix Wrote:  Has anyone ever tried to force Freesync support on a Gsync monitor. I understand its dumb to buy a Gsync monitor I just want to know for science.
G-SYNC uses DisplayPort, and I haven't found a way to force FreeSync with DisplayPort, so I don't know if it's possible.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2019, 09:22 PM
Post: #3813
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-07-2019 08:11 PM)waldnebel Wrote:  As you can see in the following picture I entered the 2160p29 resolution in the Detailed resolution and in the Extension blocks sections.
You don't need the same resolution in multiple places. Just keep one of them. The first detailed resolution has the highest precedence. Also, check the TV resolutions and HDMI support data blocks and make sure to delete 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz if it exists.


(02-07-2019 08:11 PM)waldnebel Wrote:  The resolution is even listed in the nvidia control panel (as 30Hz and not 29Hz?):
Windows lists refresh rates as whole numbers, so anything between [29.5, 30.5) Hz will be listed as 30 Hz.


(02-07-2019 08:11 PM)waldnebel Wrote:  ..but if I start the video playback and choose that resolution in the PC section of the nvidia control panel I get a display refresh rate of 29.96954 and not 29.97003.
Refresh rates are not guaranteed to be exact because of hardware clock variance. The difference between 29.97003 and 29.96954 is 0.00049 Hz, which is very close, so it looks like it's working to me. It might be possible to nudge the refresh rate closer by changing the timing parameters, but making fine adjustments like that is difficult. This might help: https://www.monitortests.com/pixelclock....h=29.97052
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2019, 09:21 AM
Post: #3814
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-04-2019 04:25 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-03-2019 11:26 AM)heaae Wrote:  Another question… Some new 120, 144Hz screens have inverse ghosting issues:
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic...ia-drivers
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.ph...e-ghosting

I wonder if CRU could help…?
That's caused by badly-tuned response time compensation (overdrive) in the hardware. There's no way around that with software.

Mmmh, could it be fixed with a monitor firmware (?) upgrade by the end user? Is it possible on a laptop or requires special HW to connect to tune the Overdrive? I'm asking because it seems a defect of some entire lines of gaming laptops...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2019, 09:31 PM
Post: #3815
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-08-2019 09:21 AM)heaae Wrote:  Mmmh, could it be fixed with a monitor firmware (?) upgrade by the end user? Is it possible on a laptop or requires special HW to connect to tune the Overdrive? I'm asking because it seems a defect of some entire lines of gaming laptops...
It might be fixable with a firmware update, but it might not be user-updatable depending on how it's implemented. Even disabling overdrive altogether would be better than inverse ghosting.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-09-2019, 08:07 PM
Post: #3816
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-07-2019 09:22 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  You don't need the same resolution in multiple places. Just keep one of them. The first detailed resolution has the highest precedence. Also, check the TV resolutions and HDMI support data blocks and make sure to delete 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz if it exists.

I deleted the 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz resolution from the TV resolutions entry and now I have a display refresh rate of 29.9645... instead of 29.969.... .

What exactly do I have to look for in those HDMI support data blocks? Can I delete HDMI support entry in case HDMI 2.0 is used?

The resolution I entered into CRU really is recognized by the operating system. It is listed in the EDID section:

[Image: UX3U8fl4.PNG]

The pixel clock and refresh rate are exactly the same as in optimized pixel clock entry #32 I used to input the values into CRU.

[Image: xu3Gi2x1.PNG]

I was expecting a constant refresh rate of 29.970 with a variable tail and not an optimized one that results in frame drops every 3 minutes. I guess I need a few days to really believe it is based on hardware clock variance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-09-2019, 08:48 PM
Post: #3817
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-09-2019 08:07 PM)waldnebel Wrote:  I deleted the 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz resolution from the TV resolutions entry and now I have a display refresh rate of 29.9645... instead of 29.969.... .
The difference between 29.9645 and 29.96954 is 5.6 microseconds (0.0000056 seconds) per frame. Windows is not a realtime operating system, so time measurements won't be perfect.


(02-09-2019 08:07 PM)waldnebel Wrote:  What exactly do I have to look for in those HDMI support data blocks? Can I delete HDMI support entry in case HDMI 2.0 is used?
No, the HDMI data block is required even with HDMI 2.0. When you edit the data block, there's a list of resolutions at the bottom. Make sure 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz is not in there.


(02-09-2019 08:07 PM)waldnebel Wrote:  I was expecting a constant refresh rate of 29.970 with a variable tail and not an optimized one that results in frame drops every 3 minutes. I guess I need a few days to really believe it is based on hardware clock variance.
Did you try the pixel clock calculator? It lists the horizontal/vertical totals and pixel clock required to get a certain refresh rate. You should be able to nudge the refresh rate slightly higher to make up some of the difference.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-11-2019, 11:59 AM
Post: #3818
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Help guys, urgently! Send me a screen of resolution settings of 1600 x 900, I put 75 Hz in another program and now I can not restore the original settings
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-11-2019, 01:38 PM
Post: #3819
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-11-2019 11:59 AM)Nekti Wrote:  Help guys, urgently! Send me a screen of resolution settings of 1600 x 900, I put 75 Hz in another program and now I can not restore the original settings
I don't understand. 75 Hz with what program? Describe what you did. What settings are you looking for?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-11-2019, 03:29 PM
Post: #3820
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-11-2019 01:38 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-11-2019 11:59 AM)Nekti Wrote:  Help guys, urgently! Send me a screen of resolution settings of 1600 x 900, I put 75 Hz in another program and now I can not restore the original settings
I don't understand. 75 Hz with what program? Describe what you did. What settings are you looking for?

I edited the resolution by creating a new resolution through AMD Radeon Settings 19.2.1, but a new custom resolution was created based on 1600 * 900 (main), and I just edited the screen frequency to 75 Hz. And after that the resolution was set at 1680 * 1050 and 59-60 Hz, but I can not now return everything as before. Resolution 1680 * 1050 is not in the CRU. It is necessary to return the former permission, but I do not know how. Help me please
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 35 Guest(s)