Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-14-2019, 02:00 AM
Post: #4021
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-13-2019 10:41 PM)SirHawk Wrote:  After patching, that is correct for both cables, nothing beyond 165MHz is listed. I'll try tomorrow if non-patched drivers allow me to do overclock with plain DVI cable. Giving some further insight on specs: my current GPU is Sapphire RX 580 8GB Nitro+ and monitor is BenQ GL2250, if any of these help.
I'm looking into it right now with an RX 480 and I can confirm there's a new limit that affects HDMI-DVI, but it was added in 19.4.1, so I don't know why 19.1.1 didn't work for you. I also don't see why it's affecting DVI for you because I'm not seeing that. Maybe it's applying the same limit in your case.

Try this: https://www.monitortests.com/atikmdag-patcher-1.4.7.zip
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-14-2019, 10:01 AM (This post was last modified: 05-14-2019 10:06 AM by SirHawk.)
Post: #4022
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-14-2019 02:00 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-13-2019 10:41 PM)SirHawk Wrote:  After patching, that is correct for both cables, nothing beyond 165MHz is listed. I'll try tomorrow if non-patched drivers allow me to do overclock with plain DVI cable. Giving some further insight on specs: my current GPU is Sapphire RX 580 8GB Nitro+ and monitor is BenQ GL2250, if any of these help.
I'm looking into it right now with an RX 480 and I can confirm there's a new limit that affects HDMI-DVI, but it was added in 19.4.1, so I don't know why 19.1.1 didn't work for you. I also don't see why it's affecting DVI for you because I'm not seeing that. Maybe it's applying the same limit in your case.

Try this: https://www.monitortests.com/atikmdag-patcher-1.4.7.zip

Glorious, 80Hz on native is listed and working properly on HDMI-DVI (cuz plain DVI brings only issues :v)! Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-14-2019, 03:06 PM
Post: #4023
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello,

I have a Dell 7250 laptop and the max resolution is 1366 x 768 so would it possible to raise it to 1920 x 1080?

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-14-2019, 05:05 PM
Post: #4024
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-14-2019 03:06 PM)pip611 Wrote:  I have a Dell 7250 laptop and the max resolution is 1366 x 768 so would it possible to raise it to 1920 x 1080?
No.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2019, 06:46 AM (This post was last modified: 05-16-2019 06:52 AM by cezarium.)
Post: #4025
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
forgive me if this was already posted
- if i only want to increase the refresh rate there is no difference between your tool and nvidias custom resolution profile right?

- i have a samsung ips hdmi 60hz freesync monitor which does 75hz on a custom resolution and i have no frame skipping. my problem is that sometimes there is some white pixel flashing over a black wallpaper which goes away if i lower the refrash rate or just power off/power on the monitor. what do you think is the problem? i only used nvidia custom profile for 75hz and rest of timings left automatic, i compared them with your tool and they same the same value.
can it be the cable or a hdmi limit?
looks something like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiFmd_h_GTU
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2019, 01:28 PM
Post: #4026
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
hey , thank you , i was trying for so long time to fix my screen resolution but you gave me the solution , thank you again
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2019, 04:22 PM
Post: #4027
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-16-2019 06:46 AM)cezarium Wrote:  - if i only want to increase the refresh rate there is no difference between your tool and nvidias custom resolution profile right?
Some games won't recognize higher refresh rates added using the NVIDIA control panel.


(05-16-2019 06:46 AM)cezarium Wrote:  - i have a samsung ips hdmi 60hz freesync monitor which does 75hz on a custom resolution and i have no frame skipping. my problem is that sometimes there is some white pixel flashing over a black wallpaper which goes away if i lower the refrash rate or just power off/power on the monitor. what do you think is the problem? i only used nvidia custom profile for 75hz and rest of timings left automatic, i compared them with your tool and they same the same value.
can it be the cable or a hdmi limit?
HDMI cables can usually handle up to 300 MHz pixel clock no problem, so unless it's a bad cable, it's more likely a monitor limitation. The monitor probably can't quite handle the refresh rate with those timing parameters. Sometimes playing around with the timing parameters can eliminate artifacts. The timing parameters mainly control how long to wait between each line and each frame, so it's not dangerous to play around with them. Try reducing the horizontal/vertical totals. Reducing the totals will reduce the pixel clock, which reduces the bandwidth required.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2019, 04:28 PM (This post was last modified: 05-16-2019 04:31 PM by Azazel.)
Post: #4028
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a Sharp 80UH30U and have been trying to get CRU to work all night. This model has the full HDMI 2.0 spec on all ports. My GPU is a TXP and I am using Driver update 430.64 and I have patched it with nvlddmkm-patcher-1.4.6.

I have been able to set custom presets for 75hz/120hz/144hz at both 1080p/1440p. My TV confirms the change and the UFO test also confirms it, but it doesn't look any different than 60hz, unlike the Sony I had. Is there anyway to get higher refresh rates than 60hz? Am I doing something wrong?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2019, 04:37 PM
Post: #4029
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-16-2019 04:28 PM)Azazel Wrote:  I have a Sharp 80UH30U and have been trying to get CRU to work all night. This model has the full HDMI 2.0 spec on all ports. My GPU is a TXP and I am using Driver update 430.64 and I have patched it with nvlddmkm-patcher-1.4.6.
Don't use the patcher. It's not necessary for HDMI 2.0.


(05-16-2019 04:28 PM)Azazel Wrote:  I have been able to set custom presets for 75hz/120hz/144hz at both 1080p/1440p. My TV confirms the change and the UFO test also confirms it, but it doesn't look any different than 60hz, unlike the Sony I had. Is there anyway to get higher refresh rates than 60hz? Am I doing something wrong?
If the TV skips frames at 120 Hz, then it will look like 60 Hz. Did you use the frame skipping test? It should skip every other square at 120 Hz if it's skipping frames.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2019, 04:51 PM
Post: #4030
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-16-2019 04:37 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-16-2019 04:28 PM)Azazel Wrote:  I have a Sharp 80UH30U and have been trying to get CRU to work all night. This model has the full HDMI 2.0 spec on all ports. My GPU is a TXP and I am using Driver update 430.64 and I have patched it with nvlddmkm-patcher-1.4.6.
Don't use the patcher. It's not necessary for HDMI 2.0.


(05-16-2019 04:28 PM)Azazel Wrote:  I have been able to set custom presets for 75hz/120hz/144hz at both 1080p/1440p. My TV confirms the change and the UFO test also confirms it, but it doesn't look any different than 60hz, unlike the Sony I had. Is there anyway to get higher refresh rates than 60hz? Am I doing something wrong?
If the TV skips frames at 120 Hz, then it will look like 60 Hz. Did you use the frame skipping test? It should skip every other square at 120 Hz if it's skipping frames.
Yes, it seems to be skipping frames. anyway to fix it so that it properly displays 1080p/1440p 120hz?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 46 Guest(s)