Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
06-12-2019, 10:27 PM
Post: #4071
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(06-12-2019 05:01 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  The driver is not handling EDID overrides correctly. Export a file from CRU and post it here. I will see if I can create an alternative method that works with Intel.

I believe the problem is solved.

I had previously been using the most recent Intel GPU drivers (at the time, ~6 months old atm). I reverted back to the manufacturer default drivers, which would not allow ANY CRU overrides to be applied. I browsed through the original post looking to see if I was missing something - I was. Downloaded the [15.40] Intel GPU drivers and manually installed them to override the "Driver being installed is not validated for this computer" error. Now it appears everything is working properly. I retain HDMI audio and the settings persist after losing signal to the TV. Restarted the computer, went to display settings, it properly continues to show 1080 as my (Recommended) resolution and games are properly output to 1080 without having to use restart64.exe.

So yes, I thought as long as I had the most recent drivers it would be fine. But it seems necessary to use those specific [15.40] drivers if you have an Intel GPU. Appreciate your help and your work on this awesome program, otherwise this TV would be a huge PITA.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2019, 10:31 PM
Post: #4072
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I deleted all of the resolutions and just kept the extension block. So should I just reset CRU back to default to get the first detailed resolution back?

There were I think 4 other extension blocks when I initially had CRU installed.

As to the Hz change, for whatever reason the regular refresh rate of 239.759 exhibited a picture with heavy stuttering. This was confirmed by other owners of the monitor and LG is currently investigating the issue. As soon as you bring the Hz to 239.760, there's no more stuttering. I had to manual adjust the vertical lines to get to 1304 which would give me that Hz refresh rate of 239.760.

So it sounds like I shouldn't have deleted all of those resolution profiles that originally came when I started CRU. Would you suggest I reset it back to default somehow?

Thanks for your reply.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-12-2019, 10:53 PM
Post: #4073
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(06-12-2019 10:31 PM)witega Wrote:  So it sounds like I shouldn't have deleted all of those resolution profiles that originally came when I started CRU. Would you suggest I reset it back to default somehow?
You don't need to, but you should have something as the first detailed resolution. You can move 239.760 Hz there. It's more likely adjusting the vertical total removed the stuttering, not the very slight difference in refresh rate.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 04:10 AM
Post: #4074
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I added that as a first detailed resolution:

[Image: jU6NtMb.png]

Now I'm running into an issue where after restarting the driver (and not going into Recovery Mode) my monitor turns off and back on again after every 5 seconds or so. So I basically go back into my monitor's OSD, while the screen is still on, power it off, wait a few minutes then turn it on again. Then I restart the drivers until it's stable where I'm not encountering this issue.

Should I remove the extension block from the CRU application since it's identical to my first detailed, or does that not matter?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-13-2019, 03:58 PM
Post: #4075
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(06-13-2019 04:10 AM)witega Wrote:  Should I remove the extension block from the CRU application since it's identical to my first detailed, or does that not matter?
It's redundant so it doesn't need to be there, but it doesn't matter. Blinking on and off would indicate the monitor or cable can't handle the resolution or timing parameters you gave it. I would try the "LCD standard" and "LCD native" timing options to see if that improves anything.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-14-2019, 03:07 PM
Post: #4076
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
ToastyX, thanks for your replies.

When you said "Recovery Mode" applies the default settings until the next graphics driver restart, what do you mean by "default settings" here? The first detailed resolution I have or something else?

So now every time I do the restart.exe, run a benchmark, I keep getting these black line artifacts as I posted earlier in my videos. Yet, if I do restart.exe and then go into Recovery Mode, these artifacts are no longer present in the benchmark. They also are gone from games like PUBG.

This is kind of a head scratcher to me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-14-2019, 03:20 PM
Post: #4077
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(06-14-2019 03:07 PM)witega Wrote:  When you said "Recovery Mode" applies the default settings until the next graphics driver restart, what do you mean by "default settings" here? The first detailed resolution I have or something else?
Default as in no override, as if you didn't change anything with CRU.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-23-2019, 03:40 PM
Post: #4078
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(06-12-2019 05:01 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  The driver is not handling EDID overrides correctly. Export a file from CRU and post it here. I will see if I can create an alternative method that works with Intel.

Just FYI I finally found a solution for the current Intel DCH drivers (tested with 26.20.100.6912 on my Surface Go). Under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\DISPLAY\SHP14A6 there were two keys that referred to the same display, one with the EDID_OVERRIDE key (presumably added by CRU) and one without. So I copied everything in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\DISPLAY\SHP14A6\4&3291bf54&0&UID265988\Device Parameters\EDID_OVERRIDE to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\DISPLAY\SHP14A6\1&8713bca&0&UID0\Device Parameters\EDID_OVERRIDE and rebooted, and afterwards my custom resolutions were again shown and usable in Windows display settings.

This is a relief as it looks like the DCH drivers are required for Windows 10 1903, the legacy drivers no longer have a control panel on this version.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-23-2019, 04:46 PM
Post: #4079
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(06-23-2019 03:40 PM)xtcrefugee Wrote:  Just FYI I finally found a solution for the current Intel DCH drivers (tested with 26.20.100.6912 on my Surface Go). Under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\DISPLAY\SHP14A6 there were two keys that referred to the same display, one with the EDID_OVERRIDE key (presumably added by CRU) and one without. So I copied everything in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\DISPLAY\SHP14A6\4&3291bf54&0&UID265988\Device Parameters\EDID_OVERRIDE to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\DISPLAY\SHP14A6\1&8713bca&0&UID0\Device Parameters\EDID_OVERRIDE and rebooted, and afterwards my custom resolutions were again shown and usable in Windows display settings.
CRU should list both entries in the monitor list, so you should be able to use the "Copy" and "Paste" buttons at the top instead of editing the registry directly. The solution doesn't make sense though. The second entry is added by the Microsoft Basic Display Adapter driver and shouldn't apply to Intel's driver. That seems like a bug in Intel's driver.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-25-2019, 12:18 PM (This post was last modified: 06-25-2019 12:19 PM by scottroberts91.)
Post: #4080
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I currently have a Samsung Q900RA 8K set, i can enable 8K 30HZ @ 4.2.0 Chroma in CRU but I've been unable to add 3840x2160 @ 120HZ @ 4.2.0

The TV does have a 120HZ panel and enough bandwidth for 4K 120 @ 4.2.0 but i cant add the resolution.

My GPU is a 1080TI

Regards
Scott
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 38 Guest(s)