Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
10-14-2020, 05:26 PM (Last edited: 10-14-2020, 05:57 PM by Kulagin)
Post: #5171
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-08-2015 06:36 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-07-2015 07:23 AM)falkentyne Wrote:  Does anyone know what Displayport version *reference* R9 290x cards use? Reviews keep mentioning DP 1.2, but the AMD driver won't allow any pixel clock higher than 480 MHz! The refresh rate or resolution is not even available if its 481 mhz. This seems to imply DP 1.1a....DP 1.2 should exceed 600 mhz...
The pixel clock limit depends on the number of lanes and the DisplayPort clock speed. You need a DisplayPort 1.2 monitor to get DisplayPort 1.2 speeds.

DisplayPort 1.1 max: 4 lanes @ 270 MHz = 360 MHz (8 bpc), 480 MHz (6 bpc)
DisplayPort 1.2 max: 4 lanes @ 540 MHz = 720 MHz (8 bpc), 960 MHz (6 bpc)

I bought a Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort v1.2 cable. At least it says it's v1.2.
Refresh rate and resolution doesn't show up in the properties if it's over 480 mHz(after I run restart64.exe, of course):
[Image: sMBcajA.png]

222 Hz which doesn't go over 480 mHz shows and works just fine:
[Image: IgComsy.png]

I'm using this cable:
[Image: LNBoShD.jpg]

On the back of the package it lists these specifications:
Quote:Interface: DisplayPort v.1.2
Connector1: DisplayPort (male)
Connector2: Mini-DisplayPort(male)
Bandwidth: 17.28 Gbps
Dual-Mode (DP++) support: yes
Supported resolution:
Max. 3840 x 2160 at 60 Hz
Audio suppord: 8 channels, 24 bit
3D Video support: yes
HDCP support: v.1.3
Cable length: 1.8 m

I also use this MSI r9 280x video card. I'm creating custom resolution for this Benq XL2720Z monitor.

[Image: 9zeOKg8.png]
Manufacturers of all 3 things claim to support 1.2? Looks like at least one of them is lying? Is it video card or the cable? Other people managed to overclock this monitor up to 250 Hz, so it's most probably not monitor's fault. Any suggestions what to do?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-14-2020, 11:36 PM
Post: #5172
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-14-2020 05:26 PM)Kulagin Wrote:  Manufacturers of all 3 things claim to support 1.2? Looks like at least one of them is lying? Is it video card or the cable? Other people managed to overclock this monitor up to 250 Hz, so it's most probably not monitor's fault. Any suggestions what to do?
That's just the maximum speed for DisplayPort 1.2, which requires HBR2 mode. The BenQ XL2720Z doesn't support HBR2 as far as I know. Going higher than 480 MHz requires YCbCr 4:2:2, but I don't know if AMD's driver has a way to do that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-14-2020, 11:38 PM
Post: #5173
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-14-2020 02:11 PM)Christosk88 Wrote:  I have overclock monitor my monitor is->https://www.lg.com/in/monitors/lg-22M38H# with custom resolution utility and i don't know how to back to default my monitor support only 60hz and no 75hz i don't have display port only hdmi. So my problem is how to go my monitor back to 60hz? Here is my screenshots...
Run reset-all.exe and reboot to reset the monitor back to default. I don't see anything wrong with the screen shots. They don't show an override in place, and 1920x1080 is at 60 Hz like it should be. Some monitors define 75 Hz at lower resolutions by default, so that's not a problem.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-15-2020, 11:42 AM
Post: #5174
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-10-2020 01:31 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-10-2020 05:38 AM)glockmane Wrote:  I want to try the alternate method but there is no .exe filetype when I click export, only .bin,.dat,.inf & .txt..
Then you are using an old version. You need 1.4.2.

Wow, was using 1.4.1.. Now with the right version I could overclock my display from 60Hz to 100Hz! Great stuff Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-15-2020, 12:12 PM
Post: #5175
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-14-2020 11:38 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-14-2020 02:11 PM)Christosk88 Wrote:  I have overclock monitor my monitor is->https://www.lg.com/in/monitors/lg-22M38H# with custom resolution utility and i don't know how to back to default my monitor support only 60hz and no 75hz i don't have display port only hdmi. So my problem is how to go my monitor back to 60hz? Here is my screenshots...
Run reset-all.exe and reboot to reset the monitor back to default. I don't see anything wrong with the screen shots. They don't show an override in place, and 1920x1080 is at 60 Hz like it should be. Some monitors define 75 Hz at lower resolutions by default, so that's not a problem.

Ok say that if i click reset.all exe then my monitor will turn on or i will have black screen?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-15-2020, 03:03 PM
Post: #5176
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-15-2020 12:12 PM)Christosk88 Wrote:  Ok say that if i click reset.all exe then my monitor will turn on or i will have black screen?
Running reset-all.exe simply resets software settings. It will not affect the monitor itself.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-15-2020, 04:07 PM
Post: #5177
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-15-2020 03:03 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-15-2020 12:12 PM)Christosk88 Wrote:  Ok say that if i click reset.all exe then my monitor will turn on or i will have black screen?
Running reset-all.exe simply resets software settings. It will not affect the monitor itself.

Actually i made some change in settings i click add and then i select Automatic - old standard then i put in standradr resolutions 800x600, 1024x768 then extension block i deleetd everything and i kept only hdmi after cllicked restart.exe and then restart my computer after restart computer i went to nvidia control panel and i saw only pc 1920x1080 (native) and not 1080p, 1080i, 720p cause i deleted in another profile and then in nvidia control panel see only pc 1920x1080 (native).

So, about the reset all.exe i will try it some point.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-18-2020, 10:45 PM
Post: #5178
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a BenQ EX3203r.

I am trying to remove HDR so that Windows, Games, or anything else does not see the monitor supports HDR.

I'm at my wits end with this "feature" that seems to have a mind of its own.

I deleted the HDR entry from the extension block and used the restart64 utility and also tried rebooting on another attempt. But that did not work.

I feel like I have exhausted digging through all the possible entries but I can only find the one reference to HDR. Definitely possible that I missed it but I have been messing with this for like an hour now.

Unfortunately, after deleting that entry Windows still says HDR is available. I tried a few other things that did not go well.

Is it even possible to prevent the monitor from being recognized that is supports HDR? If so what entries would I need to remove or modify?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-19-2020, 02:23 AM
Post: #5179
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-18-2020 10:45 PM)k3mist Wrote:  Is it even possible to prevent the monitor from being recognized that is supports HDR? If so what entries would I need to remove or modify?
HDMI or DisplayPort?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-19-2020, 06:22 PM (Last edited: 10-19-2020, 06:29 PM by falkentyne)
Post: #5180
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-14-2020 11:36 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-14-2020 05:26 PM)Kulagin Wrote:  Manufacturers of all 3 things claim to support 1.2? Looks like at least one of them is lying? Is it video card or the cable? Other people managed to overclock this monitor up to 250 Hz, so it's most probably not monitor's fault. Any suggestions what to do?
That's just the maximum speed for DisplayPort 1.2, which requires HBR2 mode. The BenQ XL2720Z doesn't support HBR2 as far as I know. Going higher than 480 MHz requires YCbCr 4:2:2, but I don't know if AMD's driver has a way to do that.

Hi ToastyX. Haven't seen you in a long time. Hope you're doing well.
Yeah I don't know how people got more than 221hz either. With reduced timings, 222hz+ goes above 480 mhz. Perhaps those people were using Nvidia video cards?
I saw that thread on blurbusters, but those people who got 230hz without the monitor white screening itself didn't say what video card they were using, afaik.

My Vega 64 died over a week ago (RIP) and I'm on a RTX 3090 FE now, but my XL2720Z is still in service until I can save up enough for a XL2746S. The 3090 FE purchase bankrupted my wallet.

To be honest, I wouldn't suggest going past 165hz on a XL2720Z anyway. You can stay below 360 mhz with some tweaking of the timings, and keep 8 bit color depth. 6 bpc completely sucks. I mean it's bad. Then if your panel can handle it, when you start getting close to 200 hz, the colors and gamma can start going south also.

Kulagin, what firmware is your XL2720Z? The last time I was messing around with 400 mhz+ pixel clocks, I was either on 004 or 005 Benq firmware. I forgot what I was doing back then, but I think I was messing around with a display scaled 2560x1440 custom resolution, which I got working at 100hz without problems, but 2560x1440 @ 120hz displayed an image but caused flickering pixels. I think I was around 460 mhz pixel clock. This was years ago but I remember the highest I could get was 115 mhz by reducing the pixel clock until the pixels stopped flickering.

Someone in the thread who said they got 240hz or something were on 008 Zowie firmware. I'm on 008, which I flashed with my Mstar ISP device ages ago but I never re-visited the 1440p 120hz issue on it with the high pixel clock. And I'm highly skeptical that a simple firmware update can make such high pixel clocks work. Maybe I'll mess around later and see what happens since I'm on an Nvidia card again anyway.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 71 Guest(s)