Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
07-09-2022, 12:52 AM
Post: #6761
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-09-2022 12:32 AM)NJDeac Wrote:  55 worked! I also tested various increments and everything worked up to 145. 146 and higher all failed.
When you say failed, do you mean the driver doesn't add it? Then it must be some pixel clock limit. 40 Gbps is supposed to allow at least 1485 MHz, but it sounds like you're getting around 1440 MHz, which doesn't make sense for HDMI 2.1. You can still get 150 Hz under 1440 MHz if you try the different timing options.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-09-2022, 08:16 AM (Last edited: 07-09-2022, 09:05 AM by IIISi Z16 HF LE)
Post: #6762
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Guyyyyz
Iiiiiiiiiitttt woooooooorrks I just used HDMi 4 port and it suddenly started to work !!! aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
But I think I have tried it I don't remember I had it connected in HDMi3 becsue my desktop PC perfectly works via HDMi 3 4k@120 vrr

But one thing I did yesterday I have installed official IIISi drivers from my support website of laptop and driver is from 22.3.2021
Before I have used that stupid intel driver support assistand and it updated to version 30 which is probably bad I will try it with that driver and see if they aded restriction !
When I turn HDR on it will revert back to 60 Hz but I don't use HDR so that's good !
BUT DAMN I AM HAPYYYYY !!

[Image: kermit-crazy.gif]


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
       
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2022, 12:21 AM
Post: #6763
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Having problem with audio formats, no matter what I set the display will use the audio formats from its edid. Trying to use higher audio depth. I'm Using Asus VG259qm via DisplayPort on RX580.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2022, 06:33 PM
Post: #6764
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-10-2022 12:21 AM)chalermla24 Wrote:  Having problem with audio formats, no matter what I set the display will use the audio formats from its edid. Trying to use higher audio depth. I'm Using Asus VG259qm via DisplayPort on RX580.
The resolution you're using might need more horizontal blanking to transmit the audio format. Edit the detailed resolution matching the resolution/refresh rate you're using and try "Native (PC)" timing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2022, 08:21 PM
Post: #6765
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
hey toasty quick question for you so I'm on a 2019 iMac Boot Camp running a Radeon Pro 560x 21.5 inch 4k display and I'm trying to overclock the monitor from 60hz to at least like 75 but I run into an issue every time if I clock it to 40 it black screens if I clock it to 61 it black screens nothing I do will work with it and its kind of bugging me because AMD doesn't allow me to even set a custom resolution the button jus wont appear so I'm kind of SOL
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2022, 09:55 PM
Post: #6766
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-10-2022 08:21 PM)Itzjustbrando Wrote:  hey toasty quick question for you so I'm on a 2019 iMac Boot Camp running a Radeon Pro 560x 21.5 inch 4k display and I'm trying to overclock the monitor from 60hz to at least like 75 but I run into an issue every time if I clock it to 40 it black screens if I clock it to 61 it black screens nothing I do will work with it and its kind of bugging me because AMD doesn't allow me to even set a custom resolution the button jus wont appear so I'm kind of SOL
Apple displays only accept officially supported refresh rates.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2022, 03:42 PM (Last edited: 07-11-2022, 03:45 PM by Clavius)
Post: #6767
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi ToastyX,

Thanks for your software.
I have a monitor Philips 279M1RV. It is 4K144 monitor with DP 1.4 and HDMI 2.1. And the graphic card is RTX3080Ti.
I want to use HDMI 2.1 because I can set 4K/144Hz/RGB full range/10bit without using DSC.
But I found when g-sync compatible(VRR/Adaptive Sync) is on, it will be limited to 120Hz. https://youtu.be/N3g2Zfs7DCM
The software is VRRTest https://github.com/Nixola/VRRTest

I found CRU can adjust it but it is not working.
This is default.:
   
And I modified.:
   
Do I set wrong? Or is it controlled by hardware?
Thanks.


Attached File(s)
.bin  279M1RV-default.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 33)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2022, 05:16 PM (Last edited: 07-11-2022, 05:34 PM by IIISi Z16 HF LE)
Post: #6768
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
DisplayPort/USB-C has less bandwidth than HDMI 2.1,
So the default 4K@120/100Hz requires either YCbCr 4:2:2 or DSC)
8 bpc should always be available.
Dynamic range is set in the GPU's control panel and not in the EDID.
RGB color format should always be available.
YCbCr 4:2:2 is normally supported and should be available without any changes, but I don't know if the adapter is messing that up.
[/quote]

Hi ToastyX

I have tested both drivers please see pics there is 27 and 30 version
And interestingly When I installed original 27 version (OEM MSi) I have 4k@120 with RGB 8bpc
Becsue I had installed previously latest from Intel website by assistant which detected old gpu I updated. There was warning message that I should stay with OEM drivers when it comes to laptops but I have updated to test and 30 version will change 4k@120 to YCbCr422 and I could notice difference reduced colors.
I am now back on 27 OEM driver with RBG Smile It supports HDR in YCbCr422 doesn't.
Interesting is it ?
It bacically prooved what you explained above ... The adaprer will not mess things up it wil just pass through what driver will offer. Sabrent is quality I have SSD from them and it is fast.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
           
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2022, 05:40 AM
Post: #6769
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey guys

Got a problem here with the latest Nvidia drivers - the moment i modify anything with CRU, the nvidia control panel loses 90% of its features.

Delete the changes in CRU, restart64 and they come back.

Anyone seen this before, and knows of a fix?

4K 70Hz so nothing drastic - change/breakage occurs when i adjust in detailed resolutions, or add in the extension block


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2022, 04:48 PM
Post: #6770
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-11-2022 05:16 PM)IIISi Z16 HF LE Wrote:  I have tested both drivers please see pics there is 27 and 30 version
And interestingly When I installed original 27 version (OEM MSi) I have 4k@120 with RGB 8bpc
Becsue I had installed previously latest from Intel website by assistant which detected old gpu I updated. There was warning message that I should stay with OEM drivers when it comes to laptops but I have updated to test and 30 version will change 4k@120 to YCbCr422 and I could notice difference reduced colors.
I am now back on 27 OEM driver with RBG Smile It supports HDR in YCbCr422 doesn't.
Interesting is it ?
If you see a difference in behavior between different driver versions, then you should report that to Intel support because that seems like a driver bug.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 62 Guest(s)