Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
02-25-2021, 03:19 PM
Post: #5701
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-24-2021 07:15 PM)ashyt16 Wrote:  I'm now trying to use CRU to correct a resolution issue when trying to set a resolution of 3840x2160 @24hz via HDMI from PC to projector.
The issue as you can see from the attached images is what seems to be a timing issue as the images are topsy turvy.
Sometimes bottom on top, sometimes off center.
I'm using Intel 630 UHD graphics.

Is there a way to correct this with custom timings?
The timing parameters shouldn't affect positioning like that. Are you sure the projector supports 24 Hz?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2021, 03:20 PM
Post: #5702
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-25-2021 05:16 AM)oats123 Wrote:  Is anyone able to help me with setting up a Resolution for the Odyssey G9?
I can't figure out how to get 3440x1440 working at 240hz
That's not currently possible as far as I know.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2021, 03:23 PM
Post: #5703
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-25-2021 04:22 AM)mohitomish Wrote:  I need to clarify something, when I change the refresh rate in the detailed resolution section I get grainy output on my monitor but when I remove everything from the detailed section and add a Full HD 80 Hz refresh rate in the standard resolution section everything works fine with Full HD 80 fps gaming as well.

Can you tell me why this is? I don't see any difference in picture quality.
The timing parameters are different. Did you try the different timing options? Standard resolutions are usually equivalent to the CVT or GTF standards.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2021, 08:31 PM
Post: #5704
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-25-2021 03:19 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-24-2021 07:15 PM)ashyt16 Wrote:  I'm now trying to use CRU to correct a resolution issue when trying to set a resolution of 3840x2160 @24hz via HDMI from PC to projector.
The issue as you can see from the attached images is what seems to be a timing issue as the images are topsy turvy.
Sometimes bottom on top, sometimes off center.
I'm using Intel 630 UHD graphics.

Is there a way to correct this with custom timings?
The timing parameters shouldn't affect positioning like that. Are you sure the projector supports 24 Hz?

100% supports 24hz. its a home theatre projector. the effect is the same on my Samsung 4K TV.

Strangely if I use the custom resolution utility in the Intel CP and use CVT timing then I can run at 1920x1080 @24hz no problem. Same with 3140x2160 @24hz, BUT the setting has to be Maintain Aspect Ratio, unfortunately all this does is make the graphics chip scale the resolution to 1920x1080, so not actually outputting 4k.
If I try using Maintain Display Scaling then it's the same issue and the display goes all topsy turvy.

The closest I've got is 27hz.
Are there no tricks I can try?

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-26-2021, 12:08 AM
Post: #5705
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-25-2021 08:31 PM)ashyt16 Wrote:  100% supports 24hz. its a home theatre projector. the effect is the same on my Samsung 4K TV.
Then it's a driver or GPU bug. Are you using a custom extension block? Did you try adding a detailed resolution and try the different timing options?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-27-2021, 10:43 AM (Last edited: 02-27-2021, 10:44 AM by Snap)
Post: #5706
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a dell inspiron 15 laptop which is 60hz so I thought of overcloaking it to 75hz but when I chose the res as 1920x1080 and refresh rate as 75 and clicked OK and then clicked restart.exe everything was fine but when I restarted my laptop my screen went black and now I am running my laptop on safe mode and trying to undo the process but it's not working, on the windows settings and in display adapter settings in the monitor tab it's only showing 64hz , but before it used to show 60hz an 48hz now I am not able to change my refresh rate please help me or my Dad is gonna kill me Sad

(02-27-2021 10:43 AM)Snap Wrote:  I have a dell inspiron 15 laptop which is 60hz so I thought of overcloaking it to 75hz but when I chose the res as 1920x1080 and refresh rate as 75 and clicked OK and then clicked restart.exe everything was fine but when I restarted my laptop my screen went black and now I am running my laptop on safe mode and trying to undo the process but it's not working, on the windows settings and in display adapter settings in the monitor tab it's only showing 64hz , but before it used to show 60hz an 48hz now I am not able to change my refresh rate please help me or my Dad is gonna kill me Sad
I have windows 10 and a amd r5 m330 dedicated and intel HD 520 integrated
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-27-2021, 12:19 PM
Post: #5707
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-27-2021 10:43 AM)Snap Wrote:  I have a dell inspiron 15 laptop which is 60hz so I thought of overcloaking it to 75hz but when I chose the res as 1920x1080 and refresh rate as 75 and clicked OK and then clicked restart.exe everything was fine but when I restarted my laptop my screen went black and now I am running my laptop on safe mode and trying to undo the process but it's not working, on the windows settings and in display adapter settings in the monitor tab it's only showing 64hz , but before it used to show 60hz an 48hz now I am not able to change my refresh rate please help me or my Dad is gonna kill me Sad
You can't set the refresh rate in safe mode. Did you run reset-all.exe?

64 Hz means it's using the Microsoft basic display adapter driver. If it's showing that in normal mode, then the graphics driver is disabled. Run restart.exe to enable the graphics driver.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-27-2021, 05:05 PM (Last edited: 02-27-2021, 05:08 PM by NetWalker)
Post: #5708
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi there,

I am trying to use CRU 1.5.1 to remove all resolutions 4096x2160 to avoid black bars in some games. I was following a tutorial posted in youtube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OLurCh6hGqU) to play watch dogs legion. I have a Samsung 4K TV (Q70T) connected using HDMI 2.1 cable to a RTX 3070 video card and even after removing all resolutions I mentioned, Windows 10 still shows the 4096x2160 option to be selected and in the game the black bars are still there, even with the 3840x2160 resolution selected. I need help cause I don´t know what else to do. Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-27-2021, 06:02 PM
Post: #5709
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-27-2021 05:05 PM)NetWalker Wrote:  I am trying to use CRU 1.5.1 to remove all resolutions 4096x2160 to avoid black bars in some games. I was following a tutorial posted in youtube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OLurCh6hGqU) to play watch dogs legion. I have a Samsung 4K TV (Q70T) connected using HDMI 2.1 cable to a RTX 3070 video card and even after removing all resolutions I mentioned, Windows 10 still shows the 4096x2160 option to be selected and in the game the black bars are still there, even with the 3840x2160 resolution selected. I need help cause I don´t know what else to do. Thanks.
The tutorial doesn't mention 4:2:0 resolutions. Use this guide: https://www.monitortests.com/blog/guide-...4096x2160/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-27-2021, 06:43 PM
Post: #5710
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-27-2021 06:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-27-2021 05:05 PM)NetWalker Wrote:  I am trying to use CRU 1.5.1 to remove all resolutions 4096x2160 to avoid black bars in some games. I was following a tutorial posted in youtube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OLurCh6hGqU) to play watch dogs legion. I have a Samsung 4K TV (Q70T) connected using HDMI 2.1 cable to a RTX 3070 video card and even after removing all resolutions I mentioned, Windows 10 still shows the 4096x2160 option to be selected and in the game the black bars are still there, even with the 3840x2160 resolution selected. I need help cause I don´t know what else to do. Thanks.
The tutorial doesn't mention 4:2:0 resolutions. Use this guide: https://www.monitortests.com/blog/guide-...4096x2160/

Thank you very much ToastyX, it worked perfectly !
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 85 Guest(s)