Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
10-24-2021, 04:49 PM
Post: #6151
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-23-2021 07:32 AM)MyAngelMegu Wrote:  Hello, I am having issues with making new resolution on Windows 11. Over at Windows 10 this program worked flawlessly. My objective is to get 16:9 resolutions on 16:10 monitor. I can do exactly that on Windows 10, just add 1920x1080 at detailed resolution and done! However I can't seem to achieve that on Windows 11. I can't find the custom resolution I'm trying to add on Display settings. Even after restart64.exe and windows reboot, it's same issue.
I assumed it could be because my AMD software messing with it's own custom resolution, so I fresh reinstalled Windows 11 without AMD software, and it's still same. At least with AMD software I can add 1920x1080 but it doesn't automatically set 16:9 as native res as well as introduces problems like forced 6bit color depth and too much display flicker.
Can I get any solution about this? My GPU is AMD Radeon Vega 8, integrated on Ryzen 3 2200G. Windows 11 Pro 21H2
Something is wrong with the monitor or cable because it should not say Generic Non-PnP Monitor, which means the driver can't read the EDID.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-24-2021, 05:31 PM (Last edited: 10-24-2021, 05:40 PM by discokatt)
Post: #6152
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-24-2021 04:47 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-24-2021 11:33 AM)discokatt Wrote:  Hello, I'm getting the following error message for AMD Radeon software after trying to enable freesync with CRU.
https://www.amd.com/system/files/styles/...k=N0vY7wWl

I have an Ryzen 4700U. Is this normal?
No, that's not normal.

Any thoughts on how to fix it? Smile

Steps I took in CRU:
1. Imported HDMI2.dat
2. Click Edit CTA-861
3. Add FreeSync range: 40-60Hz
4. Reset64.exe

My monitor is an LG 27UK650-W which supports that freesync range.

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-24-2021, 06:28 PM
Post: #6153
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-24-2021 05:31 PM)discokatt Wrote:  My monitor is an LG 27UK650-W which supports that freesync range.
You shouldn't have to change anything if the monitor supports FreeSync.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2021, 01:51 PM
Post: #6154
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-21-2021 09:27 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-21-2021 02:21 PM)Flipfuchs Wrote:  dont get that to work... maybe its the GPU uses HDMI 2.1 Port?
I don't know what you mean. What device are you using for audio? Normally you shouldn't have to add Dolby Digital if the device supports it.

Using an RX6800 GPU with HDMI 2.1 Output to an LG C9 with ARC (no eARC, thats why i need the compressed format) to an AVR
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-27-2021, 02:20 PM
Post: #6155
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2021, 05:13 PM (Last edited: 10-28-2021, 05:13 PM by JasonMT)
Post: #6156
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Thanks so much for this useful utility! I had a question about modifying HDR static metadata.

What exactly does Max luminance, Max frame-avg, and Min luminance adjust? Max and min luminance seem to affect maxCLL/minCLL but do they also change maxTML/minTML? Max frame-avg is maxFALL? Is there any way to adjust maxFFTML?

Thanks again.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-30-2021, 07:09 PM (Last edited: 10-30-2021, 07:12 PM by Stagefire82)
Post: #6157
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
@ToastyX

Like JasonMT ... as well as me and some others from the ComputerBase Forum and the AVS Forum are currently interested in these values that can be set in the CRU.
Since our monitors / TVs are not recognized by Windows with regard to the nits, Windows uses default values ... with the OLED instead of 800 nits Peak , Windows then takes 1499 nits Peak as a value ..
but that's wrong. Fortunately, we can use your tool to adjust the values manually. So .. now we are faced with the problem that we do not know 100% what exactly is which value.

Max Luminance
Max Frame AVG
Min Luminance

But now the "Max Luminance" value has an influence on the "Max Effectice Value" as well as on "Max Peak Luminace"
And "Max Frame AVG" influences "Max Fullframe Value" and "Max Frame Average Luminance"

You can check this quite well with the "VESA DisplayHDR Test" tool. I'll upload a picture where I showed it.

https://abload.de/img/11ajnz.jpg

The question that interests me the most at first is whether
"Max Frame AVG" is the nits value that the device creates with a 100% white picture or whether it is the nits value that refers to the "Max brightness of all pictures on average" ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-30-2021, 07:58 PM
Post: #6158
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
This is the relevant standard for HDR static metadata: https://shop.cta.tech/products/hdr-stati...extensions

I don't have any other information beyond that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-30-2021, 08:10 PM
Post: #6159
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-30-2021 07:58 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  This is the relevant standard for HDR static metadata:
I don't have any other information beyond that.

hmm ok ... ok then let's take a look at this.
Maybe that will help us a little further.

Thank you for your quick reply.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-04-2021, 11:20 PM
Post: #6160
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Just noticed the following CRU related bug in Win11, for the Nvidia control panel:

After making changes in CRU and rebooting, the whole "display" section is missing from the nvidia control panel.
Deleting any changed profile from CRU and rebooting restores the "display" section

I am currently on win11, with nvidia driver ver 496.49
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 79 Guest(s)