Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-17-2022, 01:32 PM
Post: #6901
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2022 08:10 AM)Lorgra93 Wrote:  Removed HDR, HDMI, Colorimetry and edited the color depth to 8 bpc.
I can still enable HDR on windows (and it's auto-enabled on fullscreen applications that support HDR natively)
I don't see a problem with the changes. AMD's driver is not listening to the override for some reason.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2022, 01:33 PM
Post: #6902
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2022 07:22 AM)antonsoch Wrote:  Running windows 11 on Dell Inspiron 14 5410 with integrated Intel UHD Xe Graphics. Samsung TV Q90A is connected via USB-C (Thunderbolt 3) via HDMI 2.1.
It was running fine at 4K@60Hz until couple days ago when it switched to 1080p and I cannot convince it to go back. When laptop is booting TV shows DELL logo at 4K@60Hz but as soon as Windows 11 boots up it goes back to 1080p.
CRU shows that detailed 4K@60Hz resolution is there but I don't see it in the list of available resolutions in Setting. Restarts doesn't help. Any ideas?
Update: If I uninstall Intel Driver, reboot, Windows uses Microsoft Basic Adapter and the only available resolution is 4K@60Hz but as soon as I reinstall driver 4K is gone and only 1080p is available. What's going on?
3840x2160 @ 60 Hz only requires HDMI 2.0, so either something is wrong with the cable or adapter that is causing the graphics driver to drop down to HDMI 1.x, or there's an issue with Intel's driver.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2022, 08:14 PM (Last edited: 09-17-2022, 08:33 PM by Hedwiga756)
Post: #6903
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
hello, i picked wrong resolution and now my laptop monitor is black, can u help me? ily
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2022, 08:28 PM
Post: #6904
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-17-2022 01:32 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-16-2022 04:18 PM)Zireael61 Wrote:  Hi, I am using an LG monitor (27gn600-b), its default refresh rate is 144 Hz. I can change it in CRU to 165 Hz but monitor says "out of range" all time and it is skipping frames. My GPU is RX 6600, I am using DP 1.4 cable. Can I do anything to increase refresh rate?
Is FreeSync enabled, and did you increase the FreeSync range to match?

Yes, it is enabled. I also increased the range. I tried some refresh rates, and I can only increase refresh rate to 146 Hz without any frame skipping issue.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2022, 08:40 PM
Post: #6905
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-17-2022 08:28 PM)Zireael61 Wrote:  Yes, it is enabled. I also increased the range. I tried some refresh rates, and I can only increase refresh rate to 146 Hz without any frame skipping issue.
Then the limitation is built into the monitor's firmware.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2022, 08:41 PM
Post: #6906
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-17-2022 08:14 PM)Hedwiga756 Wrote:  hello, i picked wrong resolution and now my laptop monitor is black, can u help me? ily
Boot Windows into safe mode and run reset-all.exe.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2022, 08:55 PM
Post: #6907
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-17-2022 08:40 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-17-2022 08:28 PM)Zireael61 Wrote:  Yes, it is enabled. I also increased the range. I tried some refresh rates, and I can only increase refresh rate to 146 Hz without any frame skipping issue.
Then the limitation is built into the monitor's firmware.

Can I do anything to that? There is an usb socket at the back of the monitor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2022, 10:32 PM
Post: #6908
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-17-2022 01:32 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-16-2022 08:10 AM)Lorgra93 Wrote:  Removed HDR, HDMI, Colorimetry and edited the color depth to 8 bpc.
I can still enable HDR on windows (and it's auto-enabled on fullscreen applications that support HDR natively)
I don't see a problem with the changes. AMD's driver is not listening to the override for some reason.

I also tried completely cleaning up drivers with DDU and reinstalling the latest ones, but still no change...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2022, 02:05 AM (Last edited: 09-18-2022, 02:09 AM by egagah)
Post: #6909
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi Toasty,

I have dual monitor setup and RTX2070super as below:
PRISM+ X270 PRO (running at 2560x1440 @ 119.988Hz)
AOC2402 24G2W1G4 (running at 1920x1080 @ 120.000 Hz)
NVIDIA driver vers. 516.94

When I set my PRISM+ to 59.951Hz, my gpu can downclock, but at 119.988, it won't downclock. Both monitors can go to 144Hz but I dare not set this since the GPU will never down clock at those Hz.

Problem arise is for the PRISM+ monitor, the target resolution of 1440p 120Hz above is only found under Extension blocks, and in here, even adding just 10 to the blanking vertical lines will cause the following events AFTER using restart64:
1) PRISM+ goes totally dark
2) AOC flashes quickly, mouse move super slow, flash again, repeat 3-5 times, then PC freezes.
A restart after above event will cause the pc to load up to the login screen where it just freezes the moment the windows time appears on the AOC screen (PRISM+ stays dark the entire time).

Any advise on this?

screenshot of prism+ settings

screenshot of the AOC settings. This one for some reason i cant find 120Hz exactly but windows has it?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2022, 10:34 AM (Last edited: 09-18-2022, 10:36 AM by Lorgra93)
Post: #6910
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-17-2022 10:32 PM)Lorgra93 Wrote:  I also tried completely cleaning up drivers with DDU and reinstalling the latest ones, but still no change...
Okay, so could this setting be the cause?
[Image: asus_pg329q_dp_versioerivc.png]
Maybe setting it like this force HDR with some specific flag that the CRU doesn't know about?
Setting it as 1.1 obviously works, but it also disable many other things like 165Hz.
At this point I'm groping in the dark...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 63 Guest(s)