Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-18-2022, 02:28 PM
Post: #6911
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-18-2022 10:34 AM)Lorgra93 Wrote:  Okay, so could this setting be the cause?
https://abload.de/img/asus_pg329q_dp_versioerivc.png
Maybe setting it like this force HDR with some specific flag that the CRU doesn't know about?
Setting it as 1.1 obviously works, but it also disable many other things like 165Hz.
At this point I'm groping in the dark...
I just realized what it is. It's the FreeSync data block. It has additional data for HDR that CRU doesn't show because it's undocumented, but this is AMD-specific. Delete the FreeSync data block. The data block shouldn't be needed for DisplayPort if you don't want HDR. If that disables FreeSync for some reason, add the FreeSync range back in manually and it won't have the HDR information.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2022, 02:28 PM
Post: #6912
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-18-2022 02:05 AM)egagah Wrote:  I have dual monitor setup and RTX2070super as below:
PRISM+ X270 PRO (running at 2560x1440 @ 119.988Hz)
AOC2402 24G2W1G4 (running at 1920x1080 @ 120.000 Hz)
NVIDIA driver vers. 516.94

When I set my PRISM+ to 59.951Hz, my gpu can downclock, but at 119.988, it won't downclock. Both monitors can go to 144Hz but I dare not set this since the GPU will never down clock at those Hz.

Problem arise is for the PRISM+ monitor, the target resolution of 1440p 120Hz above is only found under Extension blocks, and in here, even adding just 10 to the blanking vertical lines will cause the following events AFTER using restart64:
1) PRISM+ goes totally dark
2) AOC flashes quickly, mouse move super slow, flash again, repeat 3-5 times, then PC freezes.
A restart after above event will cause the pc to load up to the login screen where it just freezes the moment the windows time appears on the AOC screen (PRISM+ stays dark the entire time).
Normally for the GPU to clock down with multiple monitors, both monitors have to be perfectly synchronized so the vertical blanking periods happen at the same time, but this is hard when the resolutions don't match. I don't know how it clocks down at 59.951 Hz because that doesn't match the other monitor exactly. Freezing would be an NVIDIA driver bug, but that might be happening if the monitor isn't staying connected properly. If the PRISM+ can't handle custom parameters, that makes it much more difficult to synchronize both monitors, and I can't even guarantee synchronizing them would allow the GPU to clock down because the driver might not handle all cases where the resolutions are different. If the PRISM+ can handle a very slight tweak to the timing parameters, making all the parameters and the pixel clock a multiple of 4 would allow making a 1920x1080 equivalent by multiplying the parameters by 0.75 and the pixel clock by 0.5625. Technically these two are perfectly synchronized:

   
   

You should also check the TV resolutions and delete 1920x1080 @ 120 Hz if it's in there. I don't know if that's enough blanking for the GPU to clock down, but if it isn't, I'm not sure what you can do if the PRISM+ won't accept higher vertical totals.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2022, 02:36 PM
Post: #6913
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-17-2022 08:55 PM)Zireael61 Wrote:  Can I do anything to that? There is an usb socket at the back of the monitor.
I don't know what you're expecting. The firmware is proprietary, so there's no information on how to modify it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-20-2022, 12:23 AM
Post: #6914
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi guys, im first time here and was wondering if there was any way to fix/reduce ghosting on VA panel via CRU?
Thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-20-2022, 03:53 AM
Post: #6915
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-20-2022 12:23 AM)Demmortal Wrote:  Hi guys, im first time here and was wondering if there was any way to fix/reduce ghosting on VA panel via CRU?
VA panels are physically slow. That can't be fixed with software.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-20-2022, 07:02 AM (Last edited: 09-20-2022, 07:10 AM by Matthewxl)
Post: #6916
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey all. I recently got this 4k 60hz oled portable monitor. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B4276QBW/?tag=mtests-20#ad

And I wanted to try and add some freesync range /support over the HDMI 2.1 (which will convert to 2.0) on my rtx 3060 laptop - which happily powers my 120hz 4k HDMI 2.1 gsync LG c9.

To my surprise, the monitor already had a 40-61hz entry in the edid natively - despite not advertising freesync. However nomatter what I do in Cru so far - I cannot get gsync to be detected in the control panel.

I've tested each individual refresh Hz from 61 to 30 and they all work. It's just not recognizing or allowing the enabling of gsync support.

What can I try that I might not thought of? The monitor has USB-c, mini dp, and hdmi 2.0. I cannot try the mini dp or usb c because my laptop does not have video passthrough on the USB-c port, and it does not have dp, or mini dp.

I'm not counting on getting this to work. But I figure I would ask those of you with more experience since I might have overlooked something.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2022, 12:30 AM
Post: #6917
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi All,

I own the Gigabyte AORUS AD27QD + RX 6750XT and i'm trying to adopt my monitor to CVT-RB2 in order to let the AMD driver clock down the memory if two monitors are connected. However once I choose CVT-RB2 the refresh rate option becomes red and the highest I can go is 110.

https://www.gigabyte.com/Monitor/AORUS-AD27QD/sp#sp

Any clue on what's going on here?


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2022, 01:59 AM
Post: #6918
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-21-2022 12:30 AM)Toetje583 Wrote:  I own the Gigabyte AORUS AD27QD + RX 6750XT and i'm trying to adopt my monitor to CVT-RB2 in order to let the AMD driver clock down the memory if two monitors are connected. However once I choose CVT-RB2 the refresh rate option becomes red and the highest I can go is 110.
Vertical front porch can't be greater than 63 with EDID detailed resolutions. Use CVT-RB instead, but the monitor probably already uses CVT-RB for 120 Hz by default. The issue with multiple monitors is not about having enough vertical blanking. For the GPU to clock down with two monitors, both monitors have to be perfectly synchronized so the vertical blanking periods happen at the same time. If both monitors are the same resolution, then they just need to use the same timing parameters and frequency.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2022, 01:59 AM
Post: #6919
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-20-2022 07:02 AM)Matthewxl Wrote:  And I wanted to try and add some freesync range /support over the HDMI 2.1 (which will convert to 2.0) on my rtx 3060 laptop - which happily powers my 120hz 4k HDMI 2.1 gsync LG c9.
NVIDIA does not support FreeSync over HDMI, only DisplayPort adaptive sync and HDMI 2.1 VRR.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2022, 09:16 AM
Post: #6920
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-21-2022 01:59 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-20-2022 07:02 AM)Matthewxl Wrote:  And I wanted to try and add some freesync range /support over the HDMI 2.1 (which will convert to 2.0) on my rtx 3060 laptop - which happily powers my 120hz 4k HDMI 2.1 gsync LG c9.
NVIDIA does not support FreeSync over HDMI, only DisplayPort adaptive sync and HDMI 2.1 VRR.

The reason I was confused about that is how I was running my LG c9 gsync 40- 60hz across HDMI 2.0 years prior to having the tv support HDMI 2.1 and prior to me having a HDMI 2.1 cable.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 46 Guest(s)