Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
03-13-2023, 01:19 PM
Post: #7281
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-12-2023 07:37 AM)ahantos Wrote:  Hey Toasty,

I have a pretty serious problem that I've been trying to figure out for the past few days, and I'm really hoping you can help.

Background: ASUS G533ZW (3070ti) laptop with a 240hz refresh rate display in it. Windows update dropped a few days agi, and suddenly, after one year of everything being fine, my refresh rate options completely disappeared. Can only see 60hz in Windows, and in NVIDIA as well. If I try to force a higher hz in NVIDIA custom resolutions, it goes up to 160, and after that, the monitor goes black when I try it. I tried cleaning the system of drivers(ddu) and reinstalling them, as well as performing a clean install (format+reinstall windows), but the issue still persists.

I found your CRU tool and hoped to somehow be able to force the system to run at 240hz. I can confirm that I have the right values in the displayblock that I have (2560x1440 @ 240hz), however, I can't set a custom detailed resolution to anything above 162hz, as the number turns red. I tried creating custom extension blocks, tried importing one as the sticky post says, but nothing works, as the values are there and actually what I'd want them to be, yet I still can't set the hz in the resolution that high. The detailed resolution tab states as well: Range limits 60-240hz, 389-389khz, 1070mhz.

Enclosed I'm attaching the EDID file.

If you have any idea of what could be wrong, I'd really appreciate the help!
You need to add the detailed resolution inside the DisplayID extension block, but there's no point in doing this unless something is wrong with the EDID because the monitor should already define the correct resolutions. This sounds like a graphics driver issue. If the laptop has switchable graphics, you also need to install the Intel graphics driver.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-13-2023, 01:20 PM
Post: #7282
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-12-2023 09:37 AM)emse7en Wrote:  Hi. Could anyone help?

I have a Lenovo L27q-10 27" monitor (default 60Hz) and an Asus K53SV laptop with Intel HD Graphics 3000. When I connect the monitor via HDMI, I get a strange resolution of 1920x1200 by default...

When I connected this monitor to my friend's laptop (Dell G3) this laptop immediately detected the native resolution of 2560x1440.

I tried using the CRU to set 2560x1440 resolution (60Hz at first) on my laptop, but I get a message about returning to 2560x1440@60Hz(eee?) or the message "Power Saving Mode".

The only thing I managed to do was to set it to 2560x1440@55Hz or 54Hz but the monitor sometimes disappears for a second.

Currently I am forced to use 1920x1080@76Hz with Automatic PC setting (using EDID.exe) - maximum for this resolution. Later I also set 76Hz for my laptop's matrix (using the second EDID), so now I have 76Hz on both the monitor (HDMI) and the laptop.

Is there any possibility to set the resolution to 1440p on this monitor connected to my laptop?

I will be grateful for any help!
Your laptop is so old that it probably doesn't support the pixel clock needed for 2560x1440 @ 60 Hz, but you can try a lower refresh rate like 50 Hz or 40 Hz. 55 Hz might still be too high if it's blacking out intermittently.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-13-2023, 05:34 PM (Last edited: 03-14-2023, 08:19 AM by HighTechGeek)
Post: #7283
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-08-2023 11:58 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-06-2023 09:46 PM)HighTechGeek Wrote:  You are right that reset-all.exe didn't cause it because it was happening before I ran reset-all.exe. I thought reset-all.exe would restore it, but it didn't. The only other thing I did that I can think of was when I first ran CRU.exe, there were a total of 2 listings in "Detailed Resolutions" that were identical. It was one of those that I changed from 144Hz to 60Hz. When I was trying to get things back to original settings, I deleted one of those entries, so there is only one now. Would that cause this issue? If so, should I try to create a second entry identical to the first?

I didn't make any registry changes or open my laptop or connect any external monitors or anything like that. I didn't make any changes in Device Manager until after this happened (as I described) and the only thing I did then was uninstall the hidden device in the hopes I could rescan for it or re-install it. But before that point (when it was hidden), it was already saying it was disconnected and the system wasn't recognizing it.

What do you think? Does your software adjust the registry at all? Could there be a missing entry or something? Thx
Nothing CRU does could cause this. CRU doesn't touch anything related to the GPU. CRU only creates EDID overrides for the monitor in the registry, and running reset-all.exe removes any EDID overrides. The only thing I can think of is running restart.exe restarts the graphics driver, same as disabling and enabling the GPU in Device Manager, but that shouldn't disconnect the GPU and make it undetectable. It sounds like switchable graphics was disabled somehow, which usually isn't possible unless your laptop specifically has a feature that allows you to disable it through the BIOS/UEFI settings or some other method. Check Device Manager and see if the GPU moved to other devices. Try downloading the Intel and NVIDIA graphics drivers for your laptop and install them after using DDU to completely remove the old drivers: https://www.wagnardsoft.com/display-driv...aller-DDU-

** SEE END FOR NEW UPDATE**
Ok. I'll give it a shot. I ran restart.exe and restart64.exe. It's very strange. The Intel adapter is just no longer showing up in Device Manager. There are also no listed "Other Devices" ("Show hidden devices" is enabled).
[Image: F1A5PBq.png]
I ran the Intel graphics display adapter driver installer (which I've successfully run many times in the past). Here are the results:
[Image: L4s6sBy.png]
IntelGFX.log (Error Log):
Code:
2023/03/13 13:03:52.521|INFO|Logging started on 2023/03/13 13:03:52.478 ||
2023/03/13 13:03:52.543|INFO|Installer version: 1.0.610.0 ||
2023/03/13 13:03:52.543|INFO|The application has been launched with the parameters: NULL ||
2023/03/13 13:03:52.543|INFO|Language of the user interface: [en-US]. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:52.543|INFO|Operating system specification: Microsoft Windows NT 10.0.19045.0 ||
2023/03/13 13:03:52.713|INFO|CPU base clock: 2208Mhz. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:52.713|INFO|Test Signing: OFF. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:52.713|INFO|Windows Media Player status: Installed ||
2023/03/13 13:03:54.158|INFO|No Unknown PCI devices were found. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:54.212|INFO|
List of Graphics and Other Devices in Device Manager: {
  {
    Device detected: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 with Max-Q Design
    Version: 31.0.15.3118
    Device Instance Path: PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1ED0&SUBSYS_3FFE17AA&REV_A1\4&9DF52C6&0&0008
    Device manufacturer: NVIDIA
  }} ||
2023/03/13 13:03:54.212|INFO|Any platform is Gen12: False ||
2023/03/13 13:03:54.212|INFO|Dynamic background: False ||
2023/03/13 13:03:54.212|INFO|SetBackgroundType time: 0.0986211 ||
2023/03/13 13:03:54.802|INFO|No Unknown PCI devices were found. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:54.802|INFO|
List of Graphics and Other Devices in Device Manager: {
  {
    Device detected: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 with Max-Q Design
    Version: 31.0.15.3118
    Device Instance Path: PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1ED0&SUBSYS_3FFE17AA&REV_A1\4&9DF52C6&0&0008
    Device manufacturer: NVIDIA
  }} ||
2023/03/13 13:03:55.253|INFO|
Found INF files in installer location:
{
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\DisplayAudio\10.27\IntcD​Aud.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\DisplayAudio\11.1\IntcDA​ud.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\DisplayAudio\10.26\IntcD​Aud.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\DisplayAudio\11.2\IntcDA​ud.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\iigd_dch_d.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\iigd_dch.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\MSHdaDac.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\MiniCtaDriver\MiniCtaDri​ver.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\igcc_dch.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\cui_dch.inf",
    "C:\ProgramData\Package Cache\C4B644046B586610A7EB0C502D7B55671624ABEF\Graphics\HdBusExt.inf",
}
||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.755|INFO|
Found Intel INF files in DriverStore location:
{
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\tbthostcontroller.inf_amd64_0879d​c015f81da4b\tbthostcontroller.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\pieextension.inf_amd64_1755b7f945​72a086\PieExtension.INF",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\tbthostcontrollerextension.inf_am​d64_19c2426d87c1133b\tbthostcontrollerextension.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\piecomponent.inf_amd64_45da76e5d6​aa50af\PieComponent.INF",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\intcdaud.inf_amd64_5d859c98b49834​8f\intcdaud.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_e0623bd0cef728c6​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_29f2a38e62b7c3ab​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\killernetworkextension.inf_amd64_​c79e059a5246b447\KillerNetworkExtension.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_de20b063858b8adb​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_58342f0d15e5ce8a​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2i_gpio2_glk.inf_amd64_dad1​e0a2b185e32b\iaLPSS2i_GPIO2_GLK.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\igcc_dch.inf_amd64_db7985d30b50e2​8f\igcc_dch.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_8ff6b143469ba020​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\iastorswext.inf_amd64_4a7f6217b39​18ed9\iastorswext.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2_uart2_cnl.inf_amd64_98d3d​1fe3b737f77\ialpss2_uart2_cnl.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\vk_comp.inf_amd64_923cc0ba23cdc0e​b\vk_comp.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\mshdadac.inf_amd64_5dc8cf6e29a795​d7\mshdadac.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\intcdaud.inf_amd64_ad5691824a5386​fe\intcdaud.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\iigd_ext.inf_amd64_0b44ef635f974d​21\iigd_ext.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\iastorac.inf_amd64_a9a8972288e9f3​b5\iaStorAC.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2i_gpio2_skl.inf_amd64_b681​99ad84607c21\iaLPSS2i_GPIO2_SKL.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\msdk_comp.inf_amd64_ffe9cfe0f14be​40a\msdk_comp.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\intcdaud.inf_amd64_718877413f6508​de\IntcDAud.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_f91ea7b7c817fe8b​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_413e1fe360a9548f​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2_spi_cnl.inf_amd64_17385f0​b2647beda\ialpss2_spi_cnl.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\iai2c.inf_amd64_a77c815b2999404d\​iai2c.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\intcdaud.inf_amd64_a170e240b85cd0​32\intcdaud.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\igcc_dch.inf_amd64_03b951be52cd2a​a9\igcc_dch.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_b48af75ac3d3d813​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\iastorsw.inf_amd64_7e0639366e32ff​26\iastorsw.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2_i2c_cnl.inf_amd64_9c434e5​14c96e7a1\ialpss2_i2c_cnl.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2i_i2c_cnl.inf_amd64_f66830​9b543472eb\iaLPSS2i_I2C_CNL.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_516d88dbe7b50e60​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2i_i2c_bxt_p.inf_amd64_1908​58fd8e931883\iaLPSS2i_I2C_BXT_P.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2i_gpio2_cnl.inf_amd64_a608​33fda31e9831\iaLPSS2i_GPIO2_CNL.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_c0c348653dda2299​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\iastorav.inf_amd64_87f761c07c99d5​e7\iastorav.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2i_i2c_glk.inf_amd64_7b6c08​738ca8a856\iaLPSS2i_I2C_GLK.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\hdbusext.inf_amd64_4903c7d4af97cf​cc\hdbusext.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\intcdaud.inf_amd64_461786e87388a0​70\intcdaud.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\cui_dch.inf_amd64_ad4654f43fda305​f\cui_dch.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\tbthostcontrollerhsacomponent.inf​_amd64_05517c9302e032a7\tbthostcontrollerhsacomponent.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\killernetworkcomponent.inf_amd64_​4485c840d423bf7b\KillerNetworkComponent.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_b615d408ba815d94​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpssi_gpio.inf_amd64_62ffa3c954​46bcfc\ialpssi_gpio.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2i_gpio2_bxt_p.inf_amd64_8b​e317e01b44bf5a\iaLPSS2i_GPIO2_BXT_P.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\cui_dch.inf_amd64_19c2c86110716a5​4\cui_dch.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\igcc_dch.inf_amd64_07fa4837b9b820​3d\igcc_dch.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_6a8b35abe254373a​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpssi_i2c.inf_amd64_8e00e1aed7f​bdf70\ialpssi_i2c.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2_gpio2_cnl.inf_amd64_e8e5d​923cd0fc92c\ialpss2_gpio2_cnl.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\hdbusext.inf_amd64_9e3cae9f19ebc2​14\hdbusext.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\cui_dch_comp.inf_amd64_c8e108d4a6​2c59d5\cui_dch_comp.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\tbtp2pndisdrv.inf_amd64_3771126f6​093e135\tbtp2pndisdrv.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ibtusb.inf_amd64_69d273fee419b98b​\ibtusb.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\ialpss2i_i2c_skl.inf_amd64_9d9dbb​01837eba23\iaLPSS2i_I2C_SKL.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\iagpio.inf_amd64_07b64df61e783bfe​\iagpio.inf",
    "C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\cui_dch.inf_amd64_95bc605201b6451​7\cui_dch.inf",
}
||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.755|INFO|

List of found Graphics and Other devices with matching INF files:
{
  {
    Device
    {
      Device name: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 with Max-Q Design
      Device instance path: PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1ED0&SUBSYS_3FFE17AA&REV_A1\4&9DF52C6&0&0008
      Device manufacturer: NVIDIA
    }
    Matching Driver Store INF: "NULL"
    Matching Installer INF: "NULL"
  }
}
||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|INFO|No Unknown PCI devices were found. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while converting string to pci identifier. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while converting string to pci identifier. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while converting string to pci identifier. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while converting string to pci identifier. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading "DisplayDevice". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading "DisplayDevice". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading "DisplayDevice". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while converting string to pci identifier. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading "DisplayDevice". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading device. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading device. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading device. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading "DisplayDevice". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading device. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while creating device. Guid = "4d36e96c-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while creating device. Guid = "4d36e96c-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while creating device. Guid = "4d36e96c-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while loading device. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while creating device. Guid = "4d36e96c-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|ERROR|Something went wrong while creating device. Guid = "4d36e96c-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318". ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|INFO|No Intel media devices were found. ||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.775|INFO|

List of found Intel Audio and Other devices with installer matching INF files:
{
}
||
2023/03/13 13:03:56.811|ERROR|Could not find driver file. ||
I haven't been in the BIOS in years, but I'll check it out and scan through the options.

***UPDATE BELOW***
Your intuition was right again ToastyX. In my BIOS/UEFI under Configuration, there was a "Graphics Device" option. It was set to "Discrete Graphic". I changed it to "Switchable Graphics" and the Intel GPU is back. I have no idea how that got changed. I even had to look up the hotkey to get into the BIOS. I haven't gone in there in years.

Thanks for your patience and help. I'll leave my laptop alone for now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2023, 07:32 AM
Post: #7284
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-13-2023 01:19 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-12-2023 07:37 AM)ahantos Wrote:  Hey Toasty,

I have a pretty serious problem that I've been trying to figure out for the past few days, and I'm really hoping you can help.

Background: ASUS G533ZW (3070ti) laptop with a 240hz refresh rate display in it. Windows update dropped a few days agi, and suddenly, after one year of everything being fine, my refresh rate options completely disappeared. Can only see 60hz in Windows, and in NVIDIA as well. If I try to force a higher hz in NVIDIA custom resolutions, it goes up to 160, and after that, the monitor goes black when I try it. I tried cleaning the system of drivers(ddu) and reinstalling them, as well as performing a clean install (format+reinstall windows), but the issue still persists.

I found your CRU tool and hoped to somehow be able to force the system to run at 240hz. I can confirm that I have the right values in the displayblock that I have (2560x1440 @ 240hz), however, I can't set a custom detailed resolution to anything above 162hz, as the number turns red. I tried creating custom extension blocks, tried importing one as the sticky post says, but nothing works, as the values are there and actually what I'd want them to be, yet I still can't set the hz in the resolution that high. The detailed resolution tab states as well: Range limits 60-240hz, 389-389khz, 1070mhz.

Enclosed I'm attaching the EDID file.

If you have any idea of what could be wrong, I'd really appreciate the help!
You need to add the detailed resolution inside the DisplayID extension block, but there's no point in doing this unless something is wrong with the EDID because the monitor should already define the correct resolutions. This sounds like a graphics driver issue. If the laptop has switchable graphics, you also need to install the Intel graphics driver.

Thanks for the reply! I do agree that it sounds like a driver issue, but I'm a bit stumped, as I've reinstalled all drivers, NVIDIA and Intel as well, I've done a full format and reinstalled windows and done it again, and it's still not working. I even tried older drivers, but nothing. It's especially painful since the laptop ran fine for one whole year, and then just ended up losing the capability for higher refresh rates out of nowhere. I'm not really getting anywhere with the support I've been getting on other platforms, hence why I wanted to try to force something with the CRU, but nothing seems to work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2023, 03:49 PM (Last edited: 03-16-2023, 03:49 PM by vortex240)
Post: #7285
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey guys! I've looked around everywhere but I can't find an actual answer - maybe someone here knows. Is there a way to add a custom resolution on a neo G7. It has the same panel as the g8, so 240hz should work.

This is on nvidia, apparent amd cards have no issues with this. Cheers!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2023, 08:00 AM (Last edited: 03-17-2023, 09:42 AM by izy)
Post: #7286
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi , i have an Acer monitor V246HL @ 60hz , it has 1 DVI port and 1 VGA port. (this is my second monitor but i am intending to gift it)
It is connected to a RTX 2060 super GPU via DVI SL cable.

The DVI port on the monitor has the holes for Dual Link DVI but i coudnt find anywhere information about if the port is actual DL or not , i only have SL-DVI cable atm.
Some variation of this monitor model with the same specs have display port too and thats what makes me think maybe the DVI port could be DL.
Found a similar monitor that its rated at 75hz and it says that the DVI is dual link: https://www.displaydb.ro/monitor/acer-v246hl-bmdp
My model is v246hl bmd UM.FV6EE.005

I have some questions/ problems.
Does it worth getting a DL-DVI cable for it? (im OC-ing the monitor ofc)

I tried the patcher and it doesnt seem to make any difference, the max clock seems to be @ ~165.6Mhz, going any higher i am getting "Input is not supported".

I managed to OC it to 75HZ with this settings"
H: 32 32 32 96 2016
V: 3 4 4 11 1091

The problem is that i am getting a lot of tearing in games when i am using it at 75Hz but it seems that is working without tear at stock 60hz.

After playing a bit with the settings seems that i can get 75Hz with different timings, something like: ( i didnt try to see if tearing is gone yet with this settings)
H: 8 32 32 72 1992
V: 14 8 6 28 1108
(i started tweaking the values from CVT-RB2 standard and changed H Black porch from 40 to 32 and V Front Porch from 25 to 14 (i think it works with 16 too)

My question is what timing are better lowering/ tweaking so i can be @ max 165.6MHZ pixel clock and maybe to get rid of the tearing (if possible)?

Atm i am playing with V Front porch and H Back porch, should i lower V Front porch and leave the H Back porch higher or viceversa? It seems that is working doing it both ways with different values if i keep the pixel clock below 165.6Mhz

I am getting tearing at 75Hz with the old settings even if i cap the fps at a stable 75fps or if im uncapping the FPS, seems that capping the fps higher gives me less tearing but is still too much, only the Vsync seems to help which i do not like.

Edit: In the user manual i found this but the manual is like somehow general for all the variation of this model.
Anyway if it does indeed have dvi-DL could i get maybe a higher OC?
[Image: 8JfSFXE.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2023, 01:11 PM
Post: #7287
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-17-2023 08:00 AM)izy Wrote:  Hi , i have an Acer monitor V246HL @ 60hz , it has 1 DVI port and 1 VGA port. (this is my second monitor but i am intending to gift it)
It is connected to a RTX 2060 super GPU via DVI SL cable.

The DVI port on the monitor has the holes for Dual Link DVI but i coudnt find anywhere information about if the port is actual DL or not , i only have SL-DVI cable atm.
Some variation of this monitor model with the same specs have display port too and thats what makes me think maybe the DVI port could be DL.
Found a similar monitor that its rated at 75hz and it says that the DVI is dual link: https://www.displaydb.ro/monitor/acer-v246hl-bmdp
My model is v246hl bmd UM.FV6EE.005

I have some questions/ problems.
Does it worth getting a DL-DVI cable for it? (im OC-ing the monitor ofc)

I tried the patcher and it doesnt seem to make any difference, the max clock seems to be @ ~165.6Mhz, going any higher i am getting "Input is not supported".

I managed to OC it to 75HZ with this settings"
H: 32 32 32 96 2016
V: 3 4 4 11 1091

The problem is that i am getting a lot of tearing in games when i am using it at 75Hz but it seems that is working without tear at stock 60hz.
There's no reason for that monitor to have dual-link DVI. The patcher is for GPU driver limitations, not monitor limitations. Tearing has nothing to do with the monitor or the timing parameters. Use vsync if you don't want tearing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2023, 06:51 PM
Post: #7288
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
someone understand Huh what config must use in cru for 75hz for hp e190i.
as i read internet info, this is standard freq for this model. but i havnt 75hz in os

this is cru automatic pc setting:

[Image: image.png]

this is original monitor setting:

[Image: image.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2023, 08:24 PM
Post: #7289
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-17-2023 06:51 PM)pakos2835 Wrote:  someone understand Huh what config must use in cru for 75hz for hp e190i.
as i read internet info, this is standard freq for this model. but i havnt 75hz in os
That's a 60 Hz monitor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2023, 10:19 PM (Last edited: 03-17-2023, 11:43 PM by izy)
Post: #7290
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-17-2023 01:11 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-17-2023 08:00 AM)izy Wrote:  Hi , i have an Acer monitor V246HL @ 60hz , it has 1 DVI port and 1 VGA port. (this is my second monitor but i am intending to gift it)
It is connected to a RTX 2060 super GPU via DVI SL cable.

The DVI port on the monitor has the holes for Dual Link DVI but i coudnt find anywhere information about if the port is actual DL or not , i only have SL-DVI cable atm.
Some variation of this monitor model with the same specs have display port too and thats what makes me think maybe the DVI port could be DL.
Found a similar monitor that its rated at 75hz and it says that the DVI is dual link: https://www.displaydb.ro/monitor/acer-v246hl-bmdp
My model is v246hl bmd UM.FV6EE.005

I have some questions/ problems.
Does it worth getting a DL-DVI cable for it? (im OC-ing the monitor ofc)

I tried the patcher and it doesnt seem to make any difference, the max clock seems to be @ ~165.6Mhz, going any higher i am getting "Input is not supported".

I managed to OC it to 75HZ with this settings"
H: 32 32 32 96 2016
V: 3 4 4 11 1091

The problem is that i am getting a lot of tearing in games when i am using it at 75Hz but it seems that is working without tear at stock 60hz.
There's no reason for that monitor to have dual-link DVI. The patcher is for GPU driver limitations, not monitor limitations. Tearing has nothing to do with the monitor or the timing parameters. Use vsync if you don't want tearing.

Thanks for the reply , that is what i thought too but i had to be sure, i see no reason for DL on the monitor but in the manual says its DL (in the specs only says DVI-D) and I was wondering if indeed its DL if i could get an higher OC because of the higher bandwidth.
I was not sure about the tearing as i am not having tearing at 60hz but i am having it at 75hz and more noticeable if i cap the fps at 75fps, using like 72hz , 73hz without altering CRU timings has less tearing and thats why i was confused.

Edit: pic with the back of the board , seems that it has the pins for DVI-D DL soldered if i am not wrong:
https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/1OoAAOSwE...-l1600.jpg
https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/p5MAAOSwb...-l1600.jpg
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 105 Guest(s)