Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-11-2015, 01:19 PM
Post: #1391
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-11-2015 01:03 PM)andre@home Wrote:  OK! New for me... tnx...
Doing this (atikmdag-patcher-sl.exe and repatching)... will keep the other patched settings still the same, so I may still use it as it is now?
Yes, it will still patch the HDMI limits. The -sl option only affects dual-link DVI ports.

Actually, if the monitor's EDID defines HDMI support, then the DVI port might act like HDMI anyway with the same limitations, so it wouldn't matter unless you use CRU to disable the extension block or use a custom extension block without HDMI support.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-11-2015, 01:42 PM
Post: #1392
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
https://azerty.nl/8-2961-566104/club-3d-...-5450.html
Quote:InterfacesHDMI ¦ VGA ¦ DVI-I (dubbele link)
The card is double link DVI so it will become single Link: 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) @ 60 Hz....
Ok then patching HMDI is needed to have the max 2560x1440 (when I understand it well..)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-12-2015, 05:49 PM
Post: #1393
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-05-2014 02:18 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  AMD cards also dither, so the two dithering patterns might be clashing and producing the artifacts you're seeing.

Do Nvidia cards dither too, and if yes, how to disable it?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-13-2015, 12:43 AM
Post: #1394
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-12-2015 05:49 PM)MS-DOS Wrote:  Do Nvidia cards dither too, and if yes, how to disable it?
No, not in Windows. They dither in Mac OS X, but I haven't found a way to enable dithering in Windows.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-14-2015, 06:47 PM (Last edited: 05-14-2015, 06:49 PM by ZeosPantera)
Post: #1395
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey Toasty. Ive got an ATi 7970 connected to my Tascam 7.2 receiver via HDMI and that outputs to my epson 8350 projector. Well I built a 21:9 screen for my living room and the way everything is situated the bottom of my 1080 projector is what hits the screen.

[Image: lGOSKvYl.jpg]

I have been using MPC to shift the video down and shrink it essentially ignoring the pixels up top that land behind the screen. Now this is fine for video (annoying) but I would like to use programs on this as well and I need to define a custom res (1920x822 I think?) and have it so it blanks all the extra pixels on the top of the screen.

I can use the ATi CCC to set 1920x820 but it centers the desktop on my projector and that doesn't work with where my PJ is mounted. I have to be able to shift it down.

I tried a few times to get the custom res to work in CRU and it shows up in windows but never displays. I also had the issue of my surround receiver no longer being available as a sound device. What settings / process do I need to follow to get this setup to work?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-15-2015, 04:25 AM
Post: #1396
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-14-2015 06:47 PM)ZeosPantera Wrote:  I have been using MPC to shift the video down and shrink it essentially ignoring the pixels up top that land behind the screen. Now this is fine for video (annoying) but I would like to use programs on this as well and I need to define a custom res (1920x822 I think?) and have it so it blanks all the extra pixels on the top of the screen.

I can use the ATi CCC to set 1920x820 but it centers the desktop on my projector and that doesn't work with where my PJ is mounted. I have to be able to shift it down.
There's no way to do that with custom resolutions.

(05-14-2015 06:47 PM)ZeosPantera Wrote:  I tried a few times to get the custom res to work in CRU and it shows up in windows but never displays. I also had the issue of my surround receiver no longer being available as a sound device. What settings / process do I need to follow to get this setup to work?
The projector might not support the custom resolution. Information about audio support is in the main post.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-15-2015, 04:27 AM
Post: #1397
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Damn. Ok thanks anyway and awesome program.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2015, 12:56 AM (Last edited: 05-16-2015, 01:16 AM by Eagle)
Post: #1398
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi,

I have a R295x2 and I managed to buy Asus ROG PG278Q before I did some research. Sad So I'm kinda stuck here with 85hz at maximum, but then I found this utility, but when I try to add it still flickers when I add the custom settings for 144hz. I have tried to AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher before I applied the custom settings, anyone have any ideas?

Here are the settings I have applied in CRU.

Horizontal:
Active: 2560
Front Porch: 8
Sync Width: 16
Back Porch: 16

Vertical:
Active: 1440
Front Porch: 1
Sync Width: 1
Back Porch: 7

Pixel Clock: 542.58 MHz

/Eagle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-17-2015, 04:18 AM
Post: #1399
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-16-2015 12:56 AM)Eagle Wrote:  I have a R295x2 and I managed to buy Asus ROG PG278Q before I did some research. Sad So I'm kinda stuck here with 85hz at maximum, but then I found this utility, but when I try to add it still flickers when I add the custom settings for 144hz. I have tried to AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher before I applied the custom settings, anyone have any ideas?
What do you mean by stuck at 85 Hz? Are higher refresh rates not listed or are there issues when running higher refresh rates?

You shouldn't have to add a custom resolution to get 144 Hz. If 144 Hz was available but you're trying to override the timing parameters, then you might need to choose "Custom extension block" to disable the 144 Hz in the default extension block.

The pixel clock patch currently does nothing for DisplayPort and shouldn't be needed.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-18-2015, 09:45 PM (Last edited: 05-18-2015, 10:06 PM by Eagle)
Post: #1400
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-17-2015 04:18 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-16-2015 12:56 AM)Eagle Wrote:  I have a R295x2 and I managed to buy Asus ROG PG278Q before I did some research. Sad So I'm kinda stuck here with 85hz at maximum, but then I found this utility, but when I try to add it still flickers when I add the custom settings for 144hz. I have tried to AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher before I applied the custom settings, anyone have any ideas?
What do you mean by stuck at 85 Hz? Are higher refresh rates not listed or are there issues when running higher refresh rates?

You shouldn't have to add a custom resolution to get 144 Hz. If 144 Hz was available but you're trying to override the timing parameters, then you might need to choose "Custom extension block" to disable the 144 Hz in the default extension block.

The pixel clock patch currently does nothing for DisplayPort and shouldn't be needed.

I get flickering on the screen when I select 144hz, that's my problem. Hence the reason I tried your tool, but my main issue here is that the Asus ROG PG278Q is optimized for Nvidia cards, not AMD, and it dosen't support the screen since Nvidia dosen't do it the right way according to AMD.


/Eagle
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 73 Guest(s)