Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
12-28-2015, 03:56 AM
Post: #1911
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-28-2015 03:52 AM)tgshinta Wrote:  i read a review on http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/sams...h6203.html and it says thjis, The H6203 does have a 120Hz native panel (clear motion manipulated 240) and many other web pages says the same i gonna try your advice thanks
That just means it can output 120 Hz using frame interpolation. The review doesn't mention if it can handle 120 Hz input.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2015, 03:58 AM
Post: #1912
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-27-2015 08:04 PM)MightyUnit Wrote:  I am hoping that CRU may be able to clear up a potential EDID issue. I am not sure why with Maxwell cards that Nvidia drivers would deem my 30Q5 as non existent to windows. If I try to "Detect" displays in the control panel without first power cycling my 30Q5 it shows nothing is there to detect... please help.
This sounds like a possible EDID problem or a driver bug. Use the power cycle trick to get it working. Then use MonInfo to save the real-time EDID to a .bin file and post it here so I can see if there's anything wrong with it: http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2015, 04:02 AM
Post: #1913
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-28-2015 03:56 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-28-2015 03:52 AM)tgshinta Wrote:  i read a review on http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/sams...h6203.html and it says thjis, The H6203 does have a 120Hz native panel (clear motion manipulated 240) and many other web pages says the same i gonna try your advice thanks
That just means it can output 120 Hz using frame interpolation. The review doesn't mention if it can handle 120 Hz input.

thank you so much, its strange in this page some one ask this Is this a true 120hz panel TV? Not a 60hz, right? and the answer is Yes, it is a real 120Hz TV.
http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/h6203 but i trust you in a future i will buy a 120 hz monitor Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2015, 04:22 AM
Post: #1914
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-28-2015 04:02 AM)tgshinta Wrote:  thank you so much, its strange in this page some one ask this Is this a true 120hz panel TV? Not a 60hz, right? and the answer is Yes, it is a real 120Hz TV.
http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/h6203 but i trust you in a future i will buy a 120 hz monitor Smile
Looks like you also asked here: http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/h6203/settings

He gave the same answer:
Quote:There are no Samsung TVs that accept a 120hz input at the moment. They are only able to display 120Hz internally via interpolating a 60hz or lower signal. You can see the full list of TVs that support a real 120Hz input here.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2015, 04:38 AM
Post: #1915
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-28-2015 04:22 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-28-2015 04:02 AM)tgshinta Wrote:  thank you so much, its strange in this page some one ask this Is this a true 120hz panel TV? Not a 60hz, right? and the answer is Yes, it is a real 120Hz TV.
http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/h6203 but i trust you in a future i will buy a 120 hz monitor Smile
Looks like you also asked here: http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/h6203/settings

He gave the same answer:
Quote:There are no Samsung TVs that accept a 120hz input at the moment. They are only able to display 120Hz internally via interpolating a 60hz or lower signal. You can see the full list of TVs that support a real 120Hz input here.
my mistake toasty sorry, i thought that they had not answered me
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2015, 04:56 AM
Post: #1916
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-26-2015 11:39 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  
Quote:Screenshots represent the pixel data, not the (card) output.
What do you mean?
I mean screenshots are basically RGB 4:4:4 because the pixel data is always RGB. The conversion to YCbCr happens on output.

(12-26-2015 11:39 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  Also, how a GPU driver can determine monitor color depth choice supported at given resolution, if color bit depth is stated "undefined" in EDID?
If the color depth is undefined, it's normally assumed to be 8 bpc. This only applies to EDID 1.4. EDID 1.3 does not have color depth information in the base block.

(12-26-2015 11:39 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  Indeed, with the option ticked "Import complete EDID", CRU imports bin and exports inf without conversion. Blush But when the exported EDID v1.4 is written to Registry by successfully installing via Device Manager with Sig Control off, upon reboot the newly installed override when exported from Registry shows EDID v1.3 and no YCbCr 4:4:4 in base section in Notepad++. I deleted all other hidden monitors, so no other display profiles are shown in Registry.

If I save the imported bin in CRU by pressing OK (its presumably saved in Registry), and then restart the driver by running restart64.exe, Windows creates a new Generic Monitor profile without Override keys in Reg, but upon reboot the old profile with updated by CRU override section is used instead, and its again EDID v1.3 instead of v1.4.
That's strange. Windows would not convert the EDID override, and neither would the driver. This sounds more like the EDID override is reverting to the previous configuration. Maybe there's something wrong with it. Can you post the .inf file so I can take a look at it?

(12-26-2015 11:39 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  I tried the test image at 1080P resolution with Just Scan option turned On in the TV Setup GUI. With that option, a 1080P reso desktop is shown centered at native 4K TV reso, but occupies only 1/4th of the entire TV screen as it should (of 4k or 4k UHD native screen?) without scaling to fit. The test image at 100% zoom shows both values equally clear 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 as on this photo, which was scaled down for upload in an image viewer, but shows exactly what I see on screen regardless of RGB or YCbCr 4:4:4 output selected. How to interpret it? Can it mean that at 1080P native reso, the LCD controller converts any incoming signals to 4:2:0, and the test image is confused? Smile In 4K reso it only shows 4:2:2, and on another 1080P monitor only 4:4:4, but not both values at once.
That's weird. The TV is messing with the image somehow. Try playing with the sharpness setting if it has one.

(12-26-2015 11:39 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  How likely Seiki to enable 4:4:4 in firmware owing to customers outcry? Is it competition driven of 4K TVs versus 4K monitors? I think so, since any HDMI2.0 rev B or A port must support 4K@60Hz 8bpc 4:4:4 signal as per HDMI2.0 standard.
I have no idea, but maybe they'll do something if enough people complain.

(12-26-2015 11:39 PM)zamar19 Wrote:  On a relevant note... Can you suggest any tool or method that would ID the DP version (1.1 or 1.2) and profile (HBR or HBR2) used in my V4900 card, or measure max DP throughput? Can I flash GPU BIOS to upgrade the DP profile? AMD site says its v1.2, but Dell spec says its DP (no version given, but V1.1 means twice lower bandwidth limit). The card 800 MHz engine clock seems to allow driving at least one 4K@60Hz 8bpc 4:4:4 display.
I don't know of a way to check the DisplayPort version or the bandwidth limits.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2015, 05:10 AM
Post: #1917
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-26-2015 06:55 PM)McBanjo Wrote:  New update. I got it working! Monitors have no issue doing 75hz. I had to disable eyefinity and have 3 seperate 1920x1080 monitors. How can i get this working with eyefinity?
You should be able to enable Eyefinity after configuring the monitors separately. If it still only allows 60 Hz, try making 75 Hz the first detailed resolution for all three monitors.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2015, 05:36 AM
Post: #1918
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-28-2015 03:58 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-27-2015 08:04 PM)MightyUnit Wrote:  I am hoping that CRU may be able to clear up a potential EDID issue. I am not sure why with Maxwell cards that Nvidia drivers would deem my 30Q5 as non existent to windows. If I try to "Detect" displays in the control panel without first power cycling my 30Q5 it shows nothing is there to detect... please help.
This sounds like a possible EDID problem or a driver bug. Use the power cycle trick to get it working. Then use MonInfo to save the real-time EDID to a .bin file and post it here so I can see if there's anything wrong with it: http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm

You mean this, correct? If not please tell me what you need. Thank you for helping me!


Monitor #3 [Real-time 0xF700]
Model name............... LGi_DIGITAL
Manufacturer............. DND
Plug and Play ID......... DND9220
Serial number............ TPL_V1.8_Q3
Manufacture date......... 2006, ISO week 1
Filter driver............ None
-------------------------
EDID revision............ 1.3
Input signal type........ Digital
Color bit depth.......... Undefined
Display type............. RGB color
Screen size.............. 640 x 400 mm (29.7 in)
Power management......... Active off/sleep
Extension blocs.......... 1 (Reserved - 0x00)
-------------------------
DDC/CI................... Not supported

Color characteristics
Default color space...... Non-sRGB
Display gamma............ 2.20
Red chromaticity......... Rx 0.638 - Ry 0.342
Green chromaticity....... Gx 0.293 - Gy 0.609
Blue chromaticity........ Bx 0.147 - By 0.068
White point (default).... Wx 0.313 - Wy 0.329
Additional descriptors... None

Timing characteristics
Range limits............. Not available
GTF standard............. Not supported
Additional descriptors... None
Preferred timing......... No
Detailed timing #1....... 1280x800p at 60Hz (16:10)
Modeline............... "1280x800" 71.000 1280 1328 1360 1440 800 803 809 823 +hsync -vsync
Detailed timing #2....... 2560x1600p at 60Hz (16:10)
Modeline............... "2560x1600" 268.000 2560 2608 2640 2720 1600 1603 1609 1646 +hsync -vsync

Standard timings supported

Report information
Date generated........... 12/27/2015
Software revision........ 2.90.0.1002
Data source.............. Real-time 0xF700
Operating system......... 6.1.7601.2.Service Pack 1

Raw data
00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,11,C4,20,92,F0,00,00,02,01,10,01,03,80,40,28,78,28,60,E5​,A3,57,4B,9C,25,
11,50,54,00,00,00,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,BC,1B,00,A0,50​,20,17,30,30,20,
36,00,81,91,21,00,00,1A,B0,68,00,A0,A0,40,2E,60,30,20,36,00,81,91,21,00,00,1A,00​,00,00,FC,00,4C,
47,69,5F,44,49,47,49,54,41,4C,0A,20,00,00,00,FF,00,54,50,4C,5F,56,31,2E,38,5F,51​,33,0A,20,01,1E

---------------------------

Hardware data
BUS_SLOT = PCI00000.PCI00004.PCI00008.PCI0000C.PCI00010.PCI00014.PCI00018.PCI0001C
00000000 = 01508086.20900006.06000009.00000000.00000000.00000000.00000000.00000000
00000008 = 01518086.00100007.06040009.00810010.00000000.00000000.00010100.2000E0E0
00000010 = 01628086.00900407.03000009.00000000.F7400004.00000000.D000000C.00000000
000000A0 = 1E318086.02900406.0C033004.00000000.F7E20004.00000000.00000000.00000000
000000B0 = 1E3A8086.00100406.07800004.00800000.F7E3B004.00000000.00000000.00000000
000000C8 = 15038086.00100406.02000004.00000000.F7E00000.F7E39000.00000001.00000000
000000D0 = 1E2D8086.02900006.0C032004.00000000.F7E38000.00000000.00000000.00000000
000000D8 = 1E208086.00100006.04030004.00000010.F7E30004.00000000.00000000.00000000
000000E0 = 1E108086.00100004.060400C4.00810010.00000000.00000000.00020200.200000F0
000000E8 = 1E268086.02900006.0C032004.00000000.F7E37000.00000000.00000000.00000000
000000F8 = 1E448086.02100007.06010004.00800000.00000000.00000000.00000000.00000000
000000FA = 1E028086.02B00407.01060104.00000000.0000F0D1.0000F0C1.0000F0B1.0000F0A1
000000FB = 1E228086.02800003.0C050004.00000000.F7E35004.00000000.00000000.00000000
000000FE = 1E248086.00100000.11800004.00000000.00000004.00000000.00000000.00000000
00000100 = 17C810DE.00100006.030000A1.00800010.F6000000.E000000C.00000000.F000000C
00000101 = 0FB010DE.00100006.040300A1.00800010.F7080000.00000000.00000000.00000000
00000300 = 10421B21.00100406.0C033000.00000010.F7D00004.00000000.00000000.00000000
00000400 = 10421B21.00100406.0C033000.00000010.F7C00004.00000000.00000000.00000000
00000500 = 860810B5.00100007.060400BA.00010010.F7B00000.00000000.000C0605.0000D1B1
00000608 = 860810B5.00100004.060400BA.00010010.00000000.00000000.00070706.000001F1
00000620 = 860810B5.00100004.060400BA.00010010.00000000.00000000.00080806.000001F1
00000628 = 860810B5.00100007.060400BA.00010010.00000000.00000000.00090906.0000D1D1
00000630 = 860810B5.00100007.060400BA.00010010.00000000.00000000.000A0A06.0000C1C1
00000638 = 860810B5.00100006.060400BA.00010010.00000000.00000000.000B0B06.000001F1
00000648 = 860810B5.00100007.060400BA.00010010.00000000.00000000.000C0C06.0000B1B1
00000900 = 06121B21.00100007.01060101.00000010.0000D051.0000D041.0000D031.0000D021
00000A00 = 91301B4B.00100007.01060111.00000010.0000C041.0000C031.0000C021.0000C011
00000B00 = 21001745.00100006.04800000.00000010.F220000C.00000000.F7800000.00000000
00000C00 = 816810EC.00100400.02000009.00000010.0000B001.00000000.F210400C.00000000
--------
01060000 = 00FFFFFF.FFFFFF00.1E6D0100.01010101.01190103.80A05A78.0AEE91A3.544C9926
00000020 = 0F5054A1.08003140.45406140.71408180.01010101.0101023A.80187138.2D40582C
00000040 = 45004084.6300001E.662150B0.51001B30.40703600.40846300.001E0000.00FD003A
00000060 = 3E1E5310.000A2020.20202020.000000FC.004C4720.54560A20.20202020.202001E6
01060100 = 020319F1.48902220.05040302.01230957.0767030C.00100080.1E023A80.1871382D
00000020 = 40582C04.05408463.00001E01.1D801871.1C162058.2C250040.84630000.9E011D00
00000040 = 7251D01E.206E2855.00408463.00001E8C.0AD08A20.E02D1010.3E960040.84630000
00000060 = 18000000.00000000.00000000.00000000.00000000.00000000.00000000.00000008
02010000 = 00FFFFFF.FFFFFF00.11C42092.F0000002.01100103.80402878.2860E5A3.574B9C25
00000020 = 00505400.00000101.01010101.01010101.01010101.0101BC1B.00A05020.17303020
00000040 = 36008191.2100001A.B06800A0.A0402E60.30203600.81912100.001A0000.00FC004C
00000060 = 47695F44.49474954.414C0A20.000000FF.0054504C.5F56312E.385F5133.0A20011E
02010000 = 00FFFFFF.FFFFFF00.11C42092.F0000002.01100103.80402878.2860E5A3.574B9C25
00000020 = 00505400.00000101.01010101.01010101.01010101.0101BC1B.00A05020.17303020
00000040 = 36008191.2100001A.B06800A0.A0402E60.30203600.81912100.001A0000.00FC004C
00000060 = 47695F44.49474954.414C0A20.000000FF.0054504C.5F56312E.385F5133.0A20011E
02010000 = 00FFFFFF.FFFFFF00.11C42092.F0000002.01100103.80402878.2860E5A3.574B9C25
00000020 = 00505400.00000101.01010101.01010101.01010101.0101BC1B.00A05020.17303020
00000040 = 36008191.2100001A.B06800A0.A0402E60.30203600.81912100.001A0000.00FC004C
00000060 = 47695F44.49474954.414C0A20.000000FF.0054504C.5F56312E.385F5133.0A20011E
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2015, 06:23 AM (Last edited: 12-29-2015, 01:08 AM by zamar19)
Post: #1919
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
@ ToastyX

Quote:EDID override is reverting to the previous configuration. Can you post the .inf file so I can take a look at it?

See attached INF. But it looks in previous EDID 1.4 bin I ticked Dual DVI support, and since this TV doesn't have a DVI port, may be it caused the reversals?

Quote:This TV may not support 4:4:4 at 30Hz or at all.

Contrary to its own EDID? In this review of the winning Samsung: "by using PC mode and enabling ‘UHD color,’ it can display a 4k @ 60 hz @ chroma 4:4:4 signal". I wonder if I'm missing some switch in Service Menu in addition to PC Mode? Can you suggest anything looking through the TV's On-Screen Menus?

Here's the test image photo from this monitor. And other reported, its getting much worse at 60Hz. What these photos say to you? Can it be due to extra processing that's not switched off fully at PC Mode? How PC Mode in 4K TVs is different from Game Mode, since some offer both? Can it be that 4K TVs in Game Mode downgrade incoming signal to 4:2:0, thus freeing extra controller power to decrease lag? The TV Setup GUI offers PC Mode, but in Service Menu ist shown as Game Mode, so I wonder if Seiki just mixed up the modes in FW?

Also, when an HDMI port is selected in TV Source GUI, it shows 2160P. I wonder if it IDs the PC as TV source at 30Hz, and switches to chroma downsampling? The Service Menu calls HDMI sources "DTV", and VGA source "PC". When I select RGB 4:2:2 out in FirePro CC, the TV converts it to 4:2:0. It seems to just downsample any HDMI source signal one step, not only 4:4:4. May be its a FW bug preventing it to correctly ID source type and switch to proper display mode, not a hidden switch ticked for marketing reasons?

I tried using EDID 1.4 override, it works now with Dual DVI option unticked, but with v1.4 only one monitor is lit despite both are On and recognized, and no chroma improvements, so I switched back to v1.3. Earlier mentioned test image with both 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 shown indeed started showing just 4:2:2 when decreasing Sharpness to 0.


Attached File(s)
.zip  SEK0030_1.4.zip (Size: 829 bytes / Downloads: 209)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-31-2015, 05:25 AM
Post: #1920
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-28-2015 06:23 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  See attached INF. But it looks in previous EDID 1.4 bin I ticked Dual DVI support, and since this TV doesn't have a DVI port, may be it caused the reversals?
If you mean in the HDMI support data block, the driver doesn't use that information with EDID 1.3, but I never checked with EDID 1.4. You should probably set the digital interface type to "HDMI-a" in the base EDID.

(12-28-2015 06:23 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  
Quote:This TV may not support 4:4:4 at 30Hz or at all.

Contrary to its own EDID?
That just means it will accept YCbCr 4:4:4, but there's no guarantee it will display properly.

(12-28-2015 06:23 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  In this review of the winning Samsung: "by using PC mode and enabling ‘UHD color,’ it can display a 4k @ 60 hz @ chroma 4:4:4 signal". I wonder if I'm missing some switch in Service Menu in addition to PC Mode? Can you suggest anything looking through the TV's On-Screen Menus?
I can't comment on the settings or how it behaves with PC/Game mode because I don't have the TV, but based on what you and other people have reported, I don't think there's anything you can do to make it display 4:4:4. This is something Seiki needs to fix.

(12-28-2015 06:23 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  Here's the test image photo from this monitor. And other reported, its getting much worse at 60Hz. What these photos say to you?
The 60 Hz photo is probably 4:2:0. You need HDMI 2.0 to get 4:4:4 or 4:2:2 at 60 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 36 Guest(s)