Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
08-11-2016, 05:55 PM
Post: #2221
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-11-2016 04:21 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-11-2016 12:44 PM)Cross-Flow Wrote:  anny idea about CRU and HDMI Freesync?

I'v got an LG MP68VQ-P with a RX 480 on Windows 10 ( Crimson 16.7.3 ).

With CRU i try to edit the Freesync rage to 35 Hz - 75 Hz or 30 Hz - 75 Hz. CRU make the change but in the Crimson control center the driver still report 40 Hz - 75 Hz ( yes, after reboot the system ).

In game i still got 40 Hz - 75 Hz ( testet with the Nvidia G-Sync demo ).

CRU didn't support Freesync over HDMI yet?
Make sure "Include if slot available" is checked. The range limits should be listed in the detailed resolutions list. If that doesn't work, run reset-all.exe and then restart.exe. Then use MonInfo to save the "real-time" EDID for the monitor to a .bin file: http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm

Then post the file here so I can see if there's anything that needs to be done.

Hi,

yes it was checked but didn't work. Here is the file.


Attached File(s)
.bin  dspinfo.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 568)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2016, 01:53 PM
Post: #2222
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-11-2016 05:55 PM)Cross-Flow Wrote:  yes it was checked but didn't work. Here is the file.
That's weird. The file is the right size but the extension block is blank. Try this instead: https://www.monitortests.com/GetEDID-1.2.zip
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2016, 01:55 PM
Post: #2223
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey, thanks!

I'll do in a few minutes only go home from work.

cheers
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2016, 03:27 PM
Post: #2224
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-09-2016 05:16 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-07-2016 06:55 PM)ebaer Wrote:  I am attaching both the HP (HP2956) and Sony (SNY1A02) Real-time .bin files. I didn't see a specific option for "Full", so I am assuming that just saving them gets that for you.

Hopefully, the HP file will give some insights as to what is wrong with the Sony one.
I don't see anything wrong with the SNY EDID. I just realized AMD doesn't have a Windows 10 driver for 3000-series GPUs except through Windows Update. It's possible the driver from Windows Update doesn't support EDID overrides. I can't really recommend using anything older than the 5000-series with Windows 10. AMD hasn't released a driver for 3000-series GPUs in over three years, and the last version is for Windows 8. It might be possible to install that version in Windows 10, but I don't know if EDID overrides will work with it: https://community.amd.com/thread/185041

ToastyX,

OK, so this is an older Motherboard, (around 11/2012), but it does what I need for all other purposes.

Can you recommend an in-expensive graphics card that I could add that would work in one of the open slots (1 PCI, 1 PCI Express X1)? Particularly one that can benefit from your tool on Windows 10 and Windows 7.

I don't need a high power gaming card, just one that can provide 1920x1200 to 2 monitors. 1 port needs to be VGA because I have it on a KVM. The other can be DVI or HDMI, but not VGA, because the monitors don't support VGA. (That's why I have the SNY VGA => HDMI adapter)

Even a USB 2.0 that could provide the VGA at 1920x1200 that has drivers for Windows 10, which allows the EDID override would be fine as well. (If there is such a thing)

I would prefer to have both monitors running off a single card, and then disable the On-Board Graphics, unless you think there is a better solution...

Thanks again for your assistance.

ewb
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2016, 04:46 PM (Last edited: 08-12-2016, 05:10 PM by 5plus2equals9)
Post: #2225
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-11-2016 04:22 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-10-2016 05:32 PM)5plus2equals9 Wrote:  I recently purchased a Qnix QX2710, and I've been trying to set a custom resolution through CRU. No matter what I do, I can't get any custom resolution I set in CRU to show up in windows. I can set custom resolutions in NVCP, but I'm only able to hit 96hz stable with tightened timings ( GPU doesn't downclock). When I use the auto timings at 96hz I get a slight puprle haze on the left of the display when particular colours are displayed. I'd like to set some detailed resolutions in CRU, but this has not been possible thus far. I'm using a GTX 970 on Windows 10, with the 368.81 Nvdia drivers.
Did you make sure to choose the "Custom extension block" option? Did you patch the driver?
Yes, I patched the driver and chose the custom extension block. I actually just tried it again before posting this and still no luck.

Edit: So I've managed to get it to work by going through the entire process of loading drivers and patching once again. Can anyone suggest some timings to get at least 96hz with GPU downclocking? Right now when I use auto timings at 96hz I get a purple haze on the left of the screen when certain colours are displayed. When I use Lawson's 120hz tightened timings for 96hz on my monitor, I no longer get the purple haze, but my GPU won't downclock.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2016, 05:00 PM
Post: #2226
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Done Blush


Attached File(s)
.txt  .0.12.txt (Size: 830 bytes / Downloads: 521)
.bin  .0.12.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 491)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2016, 07:34 PM
Post: #2227
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-12-2016 05:00 PM)Cross-Flow Wrote:  Done Blush
The extension block has a vendor-specific data block with AMD's vendor ID. Since it's not publicly documented, I don't know what all the bytes mean, but it seems to have the FreeSync range in there. CRU doesn't have a way to edit the data block directly, but it can import hex data from text files.

I formatted the .txt file to group the data blocks and resolutions:
.txt  edid.txt (Size: 789 bytes / Downloads: 577)

Look for this line:
68 1a 00 00 01 01 28 4b 00

Hex 28 = 40
Hex 4b = 75

Try changing those numbers (30-75 Hz would be 1e 4b). Then import the text file using CRU.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2016, 07:43 PM
Post: #2228
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-12-2016 04:46 PM)5plus2equals9 Wrote:  Edit: So I've managed to get it to work by going through the entire process of loading drivers and patching once again. Can anyone suggest some timings to get at least 96hz with GPU downclocking? Right now when I use auto timings at 96hz I get a purple haze on the left of the screen when certain colours are displayed. When I use Lawson's 120hz tightened timings for 96hz on my monitor, I no longer get the purple haze, but my GPU won't downclock.
Start with the tightened timing parameters, then increase the vertical blanking/total until it clocks down.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2016, 08:36 PM
Post: #2229
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-12-2016 03:27 PM)ebaer Wrote:  Can you recommend an in-expensive graphics card that I could add that would work in one of the open slots (1 PCI, 1 PCI Express X1)? Particularly one that can benefit from your tool on Windows 10 and Windows 7.

I don't need a high power gaming card, just one that can provide 1920x1200 to 2 monitors. 1 port needs to be VGA because I have it on a KVM. The other can be DVI or HDMI, but not VGA, because the monitors don't support VGA. (That's why I have the SNY VGA => HDMI adapter)
There aren't many PCIe x1 graphics cards. This is the only one I could find that would meet your needs: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6814500395
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2016, 05:03 AM
Post: #2230
Lost sound on Seiki se39uy04 after following steps
Title says it all. I have an EVGA gtx 780 ti and I use my Seiki se39uy04 as my monitor (connected using hdmi 1.4). I love having it at 120 hz at 1080p for gaming and other misc. things but it would come with the annoyance of the screen going black for a couple of seconds and then reappearing displaying the 1920x1080 resolution along with the 120hz refresh rate (this would happen about every 10-20 minutes). I followed this tutorial and this one (http://blog.ysutopia.net/?p=362) to create my own resolution and pixel timer (with even values) to get a stable 120 hz at 1080p. My screen no longer blanks! Unfortunately as I solved one problem there is another...Problem is that now I have no sound coming out my TV! In my Nvidia control panel, my connector for resolution is only recognized as DVI - PC display. How do I get it so I can keep my custom 1080p 120hz resolution but get my connector to be recognized as hdmi so I can receive sound again? Thanks


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: Diorye, 145 Guest(s)