Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-08-2017, 08:36 AM
Post: #2811
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Guys, hello. I have Samsung b2430, 1920x1080 75hz work. But I need a resolution of 1440x900 85hz for the game, please make settings for this resolution at 85 hz
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2017, 01:01 AM
Post: #2812
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Reddit seems to have no help at all with this... so here goes.

I just got an Asus MG279Q. IPS 144Hz, very nice looking, but of course, freesync only goes up to 90Hz. No biggie, CRU is supposed to help with that.

Only, after adjusting the freesync range to the usually reported working 57-144, the monitor will reset itself after ~20 minutes for no apparent reason. Freesync will be working perfectly fine up until that point and then it's a black screen refresh that sometimes closes the game as well and then it will be locked to only 60hz or 90hz as options, removing the 144Hz until I run restart64.exe. Is there a step I'm missing? Is there a feature in Crimson (latest 17.5.1 at time of post) that I need to turn off?

Running off DP1.2 with an R9 290 and a secondary 1080p 60hz monitor through a DVI > HDMI adapter.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2017, 03:17 AM
Post: #2813
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-08-2017 08:36 AM)FredyGGz Wrote:  Guys, hello. I have Samsung b2430, 1920x1080 75hz work. But I need a resolution of 1440x900 85hz for the game, please make settings for this resolution at 85 hz

There's a tutorial for setting up custom resolutions like that on page 1.

Alternately, try looking here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=410187
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2017, 07:51 PM
Post: #2814
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-09-2017 01:01 AM)DaemonWhite Wrote:  Reddit seems to have no help at all with this... so here goes.

I just got an Asus MG279Q. IPS 144Hz, very nice looking, but of course, freesync only goes up to 90Hz. No biggie, CRU is supposed to help with that.

Only, after adjusting the freesync range to the usually reported working 57-144, the monitor will reset itself after ~20 minutes for no apparent reason. Freesync will be working perfectly fine up until that point and then it's a black screen refresh that sometimes closes the game as well and then it will be locked to only 60hz or 90hz as options, removing the 144Hz until I run restart64.exe. Is there a step I'm missing? Is there a feature in Crimson (latest 17.5.1 at time of post) that I need to turn off?
That sounds like maybe there's a signal quality issue that's causing the connection to drop down to a lower speed. Try another cable if you have one, or try a lower range like 48-120 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2017, 11:17 PM
Post: #2815
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-09-2017 07:51 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-09-2017 01:01 AM)DaemonWhite Wrote:  Reddit seems to have no help at all with this... so here goes.

I just got an Asus MG279Q. IPS 144Hz, very nice looking, but of course, freesync only goes up to 90Hz. No biggie, CRU is supposed to help with that.

Only, after adjusting the freesync range to the usually reported working 57-144, the monitor will reset itself after ~20 minutes for no apparent reason. Freesync will be working perfectly fine up until that point and then it's a black screen refresh that sometimes closes the game as well and then it will be locked to only 60hz or 90hz as options, removing the 144Hz until I run restart64.exe. Is there a step I'm missing? Is there a feature in Crimson (latest 17.5.1 at time of post) that I need to turn off?
That sounds like maybe there's a signal quality issue that's causing the connection to drop down to a lower speed. Try another cable if you have one, or try a lower range like 48-120 Hz.

It could be the cable, it was an offbrand thing that I bought alongside the monitor. Trying the new one now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-10-2017, 12:57 AM (This post was last modified: 05-10-2017 01:02 AM by DaemonWhite.)
Post: #2816
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Well, it just crashed now, almost 2 hours later...

Again, it's blanked out and refreshed itself only giving me the 60 and 90hz options, resolution is the same... I had it running with 60-144 and playing Saint's Row 3, if that matters. It only blanked out after I closed the game.

Crimson gives me a "Link Failure, cannot set the requested resolution and refresh rate" everytime I try to refresh currently, and will keep doing that until I restart the computer.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-10-2017, 01:07 PM (This post was last modified: 05-10-2017 01:18 PM by whatever61.)
Post: #2817
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
The maximum resolution that I could choose is 3840x2160@30hz, I managed to set lower resolutions and it worked.

However, I don't manage to set 3840x2160@60hz (I add it through detailed resolutions and it's there when I open CRU). I can only choose 3840x2160@30hz. It could be because this is the limitation of my hardware, but I thought CRU will add ANY resolution that I put and if it's too high then it will just not work when I select it. Is this correct or not?

Thanks

UPDATE: I managed to add even 50hz and it works! 60hz is not being added for some reason..
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-10-2017, 03:49 PM
Post: #2818
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-10-2017 01:07 PM)whatever61 Wrote:  The maximum resolution that I could choose is 3840x2160@30hz, I managed to set lower resolutions and it worked.

However, I don't manage to set 3840x2160@60hz (I add it through detailed resolutions and it's there when I open CRU). I can only choose 3840x2160@30hz. It could be because this is the limitation of my hardware, but I thought CRU will add ANY resolution that I put and if it's too high then it will just not work when I select it. Is this correct or not?
The graphics driver will ignore resolutions that aren't supported. 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz requires DisplayPort 1.2 or HDMI 2.0.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-10-2017, 03:50 PM
Post: #2819
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-10-2017 12:57 AM)DaemonWhite Wrote:  Well, it just crashed now, almost 2 hours later...

Again, it's blanked out and refreshed itself only giving me the 60 and 90hz options, resolution is the same... I had it running with 60-144 and playing Saint's Row 3, if that matters. It only blanked out after I closed the game.

Crimson gives me a "Link Failure, cannot set the requested resolution and refresh rate" everytime I try to refresh currently, and will keep doing that until I restart the computer.
Link failure is usually a communication issue. Are you using the cable that came with the monitor? DisplayPort seems more finicky about cable quality, and many third-party cables are not made to handle the bandwidth required for 2560x1440 @ 144 Hz. If it's not the cable, then it's either a monitor issue or a driver bug. Does this happen at 144 Hz with FreeSync disabled?

I also found this thread, but it's not much help other than trying different cables: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.ph...le-gaming/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-10-2017, 09:29 PM (This post was last modified: 05-10-2017 09:30 PM by LinCeX.)
Post: #2820
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-23-2017 10:43 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(04-22-2017 09:54 PM)LinCeX Wrote:  R9 270x . Tested with latest drivers .
I've seen people report this with the 17.4.x drivers even without CRU. Try running this: reload.zip

If the resolutions appear after running reload.exe, then it's definitely a driver bug. The last driver without resolution issues is 17.1.2: http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles...Notes.aspx

It doesnt work . I have no idea why its happens , because yesterday it was fine and today it appears when i rebooted PC :/ . Its sucks because when it happens games dont start Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 40 Guest(s)