Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-19-2017, 06:46 PM
Post: #2841
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-18-2017 08:44 AM)lafyn9 Wrote:  Its for monitor of my laptop (at windows XP it can work at 200hz 1024x768 resolution)
Are you sure about this? Laptop displays usually don't support non-native resolutions. That's why you can't turn off GPU scaling. Usually you'd have to add higher refresh rates at the native resolution. If none of the changes in CRU are having any effect, then the driver is ignoring EDID overrides with your laptop for some reason.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2017, 07:45 PM (This post was last modified: 05-19-2017 08:27 PM by lafyn9.)
Post: #2842
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-19-2017 06:46 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Are you sure about this? Laptop displays usually don't support non-native resolutions. That's why you can't turn off GPU scaling. Usually you'd have to add higher refresh rates at the native resolution. If none of the changes in CRU are having any effect, then the driver is ignoring EDID overrides with your laptop for some reason.
Yes, I feel difference when I play at Windows XP 800x600 (100fps and 200hz) in csgo and Win7 give me at same settings (140-160 fps and 60hz) its feels like shit..
GPU scaling I can change(I make smaller resolution and its makes switchable):
[Image: 92949dd195524e179000ff1f9058eddf.png]
Maybe I can fix it in registry or use windows XP driver for monitor... idk, I can't find any insturctions, please I need help Sad

(05-19-2017 06:46 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Laptop displays usually don't support non-native resolutions.
Btw, at Win XP I have active this button, and when its turned off I can make resolution above 1366x768, like 2048×1556 (I will see half of this resolution at screen but anyway)
screenshot from 7:
[Image: cc388122c8974387932169d0d94c2f2e.png]
screenshot from xp
[Image: 7ea77e949dc846b9ba61af42ab02c07b.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2017, 07:10 PM
Post: #2843
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-19-2017 07:45 PM)lafyn9 Wrote:  Yes, I feel difference when I play at Windows XP 800x600 (100fps and 200hz) in csgo and Win7 give me at same settings (140-160 fps and 60hz) its feels like shit..
GPU scaling I can change(I make smaller resolution and its makes switchable):
Those options don't let you turn off GPU scaling. You can't add other refresh rates at lower resolutions with GPU scaling on. Normally you'd have to add the refresh rates at the native resolution, but that doesn't seem to be working either according to your screen shots.

(05-19-2017 07:45 PM)lafyn9 Wrote:  Maybe I can fix it in registry or use windows XP driver for monitor... idk, I can't find any insturctions, please I need help Sad
I don't know what you want me to do. If CRU doesn't work with your laptop, then your options are limited. Maybe you can try the AMD Custom Timing Tool modded to work with any card: http://aburamushi.net/calamity/amdcustom...ol-mod.rar
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2017, 07:19 PM
Post: #2844
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello there! Thanks for all the information here, much appreciated!

I have a GTX 1080 with 3x Asus VE278 1920 x 1080 monitors attached via DP cables.

After the last few Nvidia driver updates my monitors keep switching to limited output dynamic range after waking from sleep or after a reboot. Making me nuts!!

I read a bit and noticed that in control panel the highest resolution for PC is 1680 x 1050 and I think that is my issue. The driver thinks they are TV's... All under Ultra HD, HD, SD section.

How do I fix this limited output issue? I did try a search before posting, but it seems to not be working. Dodgy

Thanks in advance for any assistance!


Peace
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2017, 12:24 AM
Post: #2845
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-20-2017 07:19 PM)Mrshades Wrote:  I have a GTX 1080 with 3x Asus VE278 1920 x 1080 monitors attached via DP cables.

After the last few Nvidia driver updates my monitors keep switching to limited output dynamic range after waking from sleep or after a reboot. Making me nuts!!

I read a bit and noticed that in control panel the highest resolution for PC is 1680 x 1050 and I think that is my issue. The driver thinks they are TV's... All under Ultra HD, HD, SD section.

How do I fix this limited output issue? I did try a search before posting, but it seems to not be working. Dodgy
I don't see why that would happen with DisplayPort. That's usually an HDMI issue. Try editing the extension block and deleting the TV resolutions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2017, 02:58 AM
Post: #2846
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-21-2017 12:24 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-20-2017 07:19 PM)Mrshades Wrote:  I have a GTX 1080 with 3x Asus VE278 1920 x 1080 monitors attached via DP cables.

After the last few Nvidia driver updates my monitors keep switching to limited output dynamic range after waking from sleep or after a reboot. Making me nuts!!

I read a bit and noticed that in control panel the highest resolution for PC is 1680 x 1050 and I think that is my issue. The driver thinks they are TV's... All under Ultra HD, HD, SD section.

How do I fix this limited output issue? I did try a search before posting, but it seems to not be working. Dodgy
I don't see why that would happen with DisplayPort. That's usually an HDMI issue. Try editing the extension block and deleting the TV resolutions.

Okay will give it a shot. I'm just worried that the max PC resolution that control panel shows is 1680 x 1050...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2017, 04:42 AM
Post: #2847
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, owner of a Benq XL2540 here; is there any way to get 1440x1080 at 240hz?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2017, 04:46 AM
Post: #2848
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-21-2017 04:42 AM)zortos Wrote:  Hi, owner of a Benq XL2540 here; is there any way to get 1440x1080 at 240hz?
If the monitor won't accept it directly, it should be possible with GPU scaling.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2017, 06:42 AM
Post: #2849
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-21-2017 02:58 AM)Mrshades Wrote:  
(05-21-2017 12:24 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-20-2017 07:19 PM)Mrshades Wrote:  I have a GTX 1080 with 3x Asus VE278 1920 x 1080 monitors attached via DP cables.

After the last few Nvidia driver updates my monitors keep switching to limited output dynamic range after waking from sleep or after a reboot. Making me nuts!!

I read a bit and noticed that in control panel the highest resolution for PC is 1680 x 1050 and I think that is my issue. The driver thinks they are TV's... All under Ultra HD, HD, SD section.

How do I fix this limited output issue? I did try a search before posting, but it seems to not be working. Dodgy
I don't see why that would happen with DisplayPort. That's usually an HDMI issue. Try editing the extension block and deleting the TV resolutions.

Okay will give it a shot. I'm just worried that the max PC resolution that control panel shows is 1680 x 1050...

That did the trick!

So, before I made changes I exported to that .bin file... so if I have issues I can just import those original settings to get back to stock?

Thanks again!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2017, 07:07 AM
Post: #2850
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-21-2017 06:42 AM)Mrshades Wrote:  So, before I made changes I exported to that .bin file... so if I have issues I can just import those original settings to get back to stock?
Importing will still create an override. Run reset-all.exe and reboot to reset everything.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 46 Guest(s)