Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
10-21-2017, 07:13 PM
Post: #3241
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-21-2017 10:55 AM)bones Wrote:  I like these beta drivers more because of the support for WDDM 2.3 and SM6.0. And they finally fixed voltage spikes for DXVA which were introduced in 17.7.2. One more good thing is that they put a switch that lets you use a blockchain compute driver and revert to gaming driver.
I'm not seeing any issues with the beta driver either. What exactly are you doing that isn't working?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-21-2017, 11:37 PM
Post: #3242
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
First I patched the driver, restarted PC, then I tried to apply these settings as always:
[Image: 2AFanSr.png] [Image: BG3OmgA.png]
Restarted the driver, no 72Hz option. Restarted the PC, still no option. Dunno what I missed Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-22-2017, 01:04 AM
Post: #3243
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-21-2017 11:37 PM)bones Wrote:  Restarted the driver, no 72Hz option. Restarted the PC, still no option. Dunno what I missed Sad
What video card do you have? Are you using DVI? Any adapters?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-22-2017, 12:16 PM
Post: #3244
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Asus RX480 8GB, HDMI to DVI cable.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-22-2017, 11:27 PM
Post: #3245
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-22-2017 12:16 PM)bones Wrote:  Asus RX480 8GB, HDMI to DVI cable.
Using an HDMI-DVI cable makes it work like single-link DVI, which limits you to 165 MHz pixel clock. The patch is supposed to get around that, but it looks like they added another check in the driver at some point. I will look into that. For now, you should be able to get under 165 MHz pixel clock by reducing the horizontal/vertical totals. Then you won't need the patch at all. Try reducing the vertical total to 1100. If that doesn't work for your monitor, try reducing the horizontal total to 2048 and set the vertical total to 1111. That'll also get you closer to 71.928 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-23-2017, 12:00 PM
Post: #3246
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
It seems my monitor is a shitty overclocker. Reducing the vertical total fixes my VRAM speed to maximum, and reducing the horizontal total gives artifacts Sad
But I appreciate the help Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-23-2017, 07:42 PM
Post: #3247
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-23-2017 12:00 PM)bones Wrote:  It seems my monitor is a shitty overclocker. Reducing the vertical total fixes my VRAM speed to maximum, and reducing the horizontal total gives artifacts Sad
But I appreciate the help Smile
What driver were you using when it worked? It looks like the check was added in 17.7.2. I will have to update the patcher for this.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-23-2017, 07:52 PM
Post: #3248
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Last it worked on 17.9.3. Could've it been a placebo? :/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-24-2017, 12:10 AM
Post: #3249
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-23-2017 07:52 PM)bones Wrote:  Last it worked on 17.9.3. Could've it been a placebo? :/
No, the refresh rate wouldn't have been available if the check was working.

Try this: https://www.monitortests.com/atikmdag-patcher-1.4.6.zip
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-24-2017, 01:45 AM (This post was last modified: 10-24-2017 01:51 AM by timescroll.)
Post: #3250
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-24-2017 12:10 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-23-2017 07:52 PM)bones Wrote:  Last it worked on 17.9.3. Could've it been a placebo? :/
No, the refresh rate wouldn't have been available if the check was working.

Try this: https://www.monitortests.com/atikmdag-patcher-1.4.6.zip

Tried the new patcher . Did not solve my Freesync block problem ( FS range 30-74 with 75Hz used to make Freesync work ) . Now Upper Freesync rate should match monitor refresh rate for Freesync to work Sad Having this problem since BETA driver . Used to work ok in 17.10.1
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: ToastyX, 58 Guest(s)