Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
03-28-2020, 08:24 PM
Post: #4601
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I've just spotted something curious. The mouse cursor is the right colour (a bright white), but the rest of the screen is kind of half brightness. I wonder if it is just the GPU driver, or somehow Windows related.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2020, 08:45 PM
Post: #4602
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-28-2020 08:24 PM)phufbq Wrote:  I've just spotted something curious. The mouse cursor is the right colour (a bright white), but the rest of the screen is kind of half brightness. I wonder if it is just the GPU driver, or somehow Windows related.
That sounds like HDR is on.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Yesterday, 01:13 PM (Last edited: Yesterday, 01:20 PM by lolitro)
Post: #4603
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey guys i need your help.

I want to use 1280x960 for CSGO but my AMD dont show this.

What are the best timings for 240hz with display port? Standar, reduced, native or any extension blocks? +/- or -/+ for Displayport?

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Yesterday, 01:25 PM
Post: #4604
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(Yesterday 01:13 PM)lolitro Wrote:  I want to use 1280x960 for CSGO but my AMD dont show this.

What are the best timings for 240hz with display port? Standar, reduced, native or any extension blocks? +/- or -/+ for Displayport?
There is no best. Just use whatever works. If you enable GPU scaling, then the timing parameters don't matter.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Yesterday, 01:56 PM
Post: #4605
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(Yesterday 01:25 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(Yesterday 01:13 PM)lolitro Wrote:  I want to use 1280x960 for CSGO but my AMD dont show this.

What are the best timings for 240hz with display port? Standar, reduced, native or any extension blocks? +/- or -/+ for Displayport?
There is no best. Just use whatever works. If you enable GPU scaling, then the timing parameters don't matter.


Not gpu scaling, +/- or -/+?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Yesterday, 05:24 PM
Post: #4606
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(Yesterday 01:56 PM)lolitro Wrote:  Not gpu scaling, +/- or -/+?
Doesn't matter.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Yesterday, 07:33 PM (Last edited: Yesterday, 07:41 PM by Rod's)
Post: #4607
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi ToastyX!

After using the alternative method, I can't get any of the custom res/hz to show up after restart.

Laptop: ThinkPad X220 2nd Gen.
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 3000
Driver: 15.28 (latest available in Intel's site)

Is my laptop incompatible with CRU?

These are the default settings:
[Image: ss.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Yesterday, 08:03 PM
Post: #4608
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(Yesterday 07:33 PM)Rods Wrote:  Hi ToastyX!

After using the alternative method, I can't get any of the custom res/hz to show up after restart.

Laptop: ThinkPad X220 2nd Gen.
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 3000
Driver: 15.28 (latest available in Intel's site)

Is my laptop incompatible with CRU?
I don't know because I don't have a way to test it. Keep in mind that higher refresh rates may be limited by pixel clock, and laptop screens can't display non-native resolutions without GPU scaling. If lower refresh rates won't show up, then the driver might not support EDID overrides with your laptop.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Yesterday, 08:30 PM
Post: #4609
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-28-2020 08:45 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-28-2020 08:24 PM)phufbq Wrote:  I've just spotted something curious. The mouse cursor is the right colour (a bright white), but the rest of the screen is kind of half brightness. I wonder if it is just the GPU driver, or somehow Windows related.
That sounds like HDR is on.

My monitor doesn't support HDR (at least not out of the box). I've turned off Sleep for now and I am just shutting down my machine (as a temporary fix).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Today, 04:18 AM (Last edited: Today, 04:20 AM by EeK)
Post: #4610
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Ever since installing the two most recent Windows updates (KB4551762 and KB4537572, both on March 28), I've been having issues.

I use a TV (LG OLED C9) as my display, and every time I install new graphics drivers, I fire up CRU to remove the non-native UHD (4096x2160) TV resolutions from the extension block (since they can cause issues with DSR), and add a custom detailed resolution of 3840x2160 with a 66Hz refresh rate (as, for some reason, I haven't been able do it through NVCP since several driver versions ago - the test always fails).

Everything was fine until the aforementioned Windows updates were automatically downloaded and the system rebooted to finish installing them. Immediately after Windows started (and not a second before), the entire screen became tinted green. I also noticed that Windows was defaulting to a resolution that wasn't the native one, after booting.

Changing resolutions/refresh rates and color formats/depths solved the issue (even reverting to the original ones didn't cause the green tint to appear), but only for that session. The green tint would be back on the next reboot. I tried uninstalling the problematic updates, and even hid them from Windows Update, so they wouldn't be installed again by accident, but the issue persisted.

After countless uninstalls and reinstalls of the graphics drivers (always via DDU), plugging the HDMI cables to different ports on the GPU (mine has three), and using CRU to add/remove resolutions, the green tint issue is seemingly gone.

The apparent fix was to simply remove the default secondary detailed resolution (1366x768), like I'd always done, but, instead of adding another detailed resolution and using the arrows to move it up to the top slot (making it the native res), I simply edited the default detailed res (3840x2160@60Hz) and changed its refresh rate to the preferred 66Hz.

However, on every boot, Windows is still defaulting to the "4k x 2k, 3840 x 2160" resolution (at 60Hz) listed under "Ultra HD, HD, SD", instead of the "3840 x 2160 (native)" resolution (at 66Hz) listed under "PC" (and the only detailed resolution in CRU).

ToastyX, do you have any idea what's going on, and if I can use CRU to force Windows to default to my resolution of choice?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 45 Guest(s)