Post Reply
AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
02-26-2020, 12:39 AM
Post: #961
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(02-25-2020 05:38 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Does that happen with the patch without any custom resolutions? I don't see why you can't define the main monitor with HDMI.
Yeah, it happens even without custom resolutions. Main monitor I meant in bios, OS loadscreens (Windows 10, macOS Catalina, CentOS)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-26-2020, 10:57 PM
Post: #962
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(02-26-2020 12:39 AM)TechnoStone Wrote:  Yeah, it happens even without custom resolutions. Main monitor I meant in bios, OS loadscreens (Windows 10, macOS Catalina, CentOS)
I don't see a reason for the crashes. That's not a known problem. Try renaming the patcher to atikmdag-patcher-bios.exe to patch only the BIOS signature check. If it still crashes after that, then the problem has nothing to do with the patcher itself, but any change might be triggering a bug in the driver. You could avoid using the patcher by getting an active adapter that supports higher pixel clocks, like this one: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F90H766/?tag=mtests-20#ad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-02-2020, 04:42 PM
Post: #963
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(02-26-2020 10:57 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-26-2020 12:39 AM)TechnoStone Wrote:  Yeah, it happens even without custom resolutions. Main monitor I meant in bios, OS loadscreens (Windows 10, macOS Catalina, CentOS)
I don't see a reason for the crashes. That's not a known problem. Try renaming the patcher to atikmdag-patcher-bios.exe to patch only the BIOS signature check. If it still crashes after that, then the problem has nothing to do with the patcher itself, but any change might be triggering a bug in the driver. You could avoid using the patcher by getting an active adapter that supports higher pixel clocks, like this one: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F90H766/?tag=mtests-20#ad
It seems that all works fine on new 20.2.2. I haven't gotten any bugs yet
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2020, 01:43 AM
Post: #964
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
Hey! So, Windows didn’t recognize my GPU so I searched and searched and searched (code43 on a RX570) finally stumbled on this. Downloaded it, and it worked! But now for some reason my drivers keep randomly crashing? I’m not sure I’d be playing a game or just sitting on the desktop and the gpu would stop working and it would say “Display drivers failed to start” and I’d have to restart my computer and it would either work or it wouldn’t. Any ideas?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2020, 01:49 AM
Post: #965
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(03-16-2020 01:43 AM)PlaugeDoctor Wrote:  Hey! So, Windows didn’t recognize my GPU so I searched and searched and searched (code43 on a RX570) finally stumbled on this. Downloaded it, and it worked! But now for some reason my drivers keep randomly crashing? I’m not sure I’d be playing a game or just sitting on the desktop and the gpu would stop working and it would say “Display drivers failed to start” and I’d have to restart my computer and it would either work or it wouldn’t. Any ideas?
If you bought a firmware-modded card, it's probably tweaked or overclocked too far to be stable.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2020, 01:55 AM
Post: #966
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(03-16-2020 01:49 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-16-2020 01:43 AM)PlaugeDoctor Wrote:  Hey! So, Windows didn’t recognize my GPU so I searched and searched and searched (code43 on a RX570) finally stumbled on this. Downloaded it, and it worked! But now for some reason my drivers keep randomly crashing? I’m not sure I’d be playing a game or just sitting on the desktop and the gpu would stop working and it would say “Display drivers failed to start” and I’d have to restart my computer and it would either work or it wouldn’t. Any ideas?
If you bought a firmware-modded card, it's probably tweaked or overclocked too far to be stable.
Any way to revert it back to the normal settings? Or would just buying a new GPU be the easiest decision? I had this pc built by someone and he said he's never had someone encounter this issue and is willing to look into it further as well. SO ATLEAST he's working with me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-16-2020, 12:47 PM
Post: #967
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(03-16-2020 01:55 AM)PlaugeDoctor Wrote:  Any way to revert it back to the normal settings? Or would just buying a new GPU be the easiest decision? I had this pc built by someone and he said he's never had someone encounter this issue and is willing to look into it further as well. SO ATLEAST he's working with me.
Well the card has modded firmware or you wouldn't need the patch. You would need to find the original firmware and flash it. There are some here: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2020, 12:18 AM
Post: #968
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
First of all, thank you very much for this little software!

I've been having an issue lately though, since I updated Windows. I used to run Windows 10 last updated like 2 years ago. I have an AMD HD6870 and I used to be able to display 4k content with it but more importantly 1080p@120hz. This was sorking with Catalyst 15.7.1. However, after I installed all the last Windows updates, it seems like the drivers were reset (low resolution when updates were finished), so I went ahead and reinstalled the Catalyst drivers.

Once it was done, I rebooted, re-patched the drivers with this software but on reboot, I had a blank screen. After the Windows loading screen it just turns black. I tried enabling low-resolution mode and same thing happened. The only way I could fix it was by uninstalling the driver in safe mode. I then reinstalled Catalyst once back to normal, but when I tried again same thing happened.

So I really don't understand what changed with the last update... did anyone have trouble after updating Windows?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2020, 01:33 AM
Post: #969
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(03-25-2020 12:18 AM)sam_1421 Wrote:  First of all, thank you very much for this little software!

I've been having an issue lately though, since I updated Windows. I used to run Windows 10 last updated like 2 years ago. I have an AMD HD6870 and I used to be able to display 4k content with it but more importantly 1080p@120hz. This was sorking with Catalyst 15.7.1. However, after I installed all the last Windows updates, it seems like the drivers were reset (low resolution when updates were finished), so I went ahead and reinstalled the Catalyst drivers.

Once it was done, I rebooted, re-patched the drivers with this software but on reboot, I had a blank screen. After the Windows loading screen it just turns black. I tried enabling low-resolution mode and same thing happened. The only way I could fix it was by uninstalling the driver in safe mode. I then reinstalled Catalyst once back to normal, but when I tried again same thing happened.

So I really don't understand what changed with the last update... did anyone have trouble after updating Windows?
When the screen is blank, is the mouse cursor visible? If you check the monitor with CRU, do you see 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz anywhere including in extension blocks and TV resolutions? If so, delete it before patching the driver. You should be able to unpatch the driver in safe mode if it doesn't work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2020, 02:57 PM (Last edited: 03-25-2020, 02:58 PM by sam_1421)
Post: #970
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(03-25-2020 01:33 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  When the screen is blank, is the mouse cursor visible? If you check the monitor with CRU, do you see 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz anywhere including in extension blocks and TV resolutions? If so, delete it before patching the driver. You should be able to unpatch the driver in safe mode if it doesn't work.

Thanks ToastyX, this really pointed me in the right direction. I went ahead and removed 3840x2160 @ 60hz from the extension block, and it did boot correctly after that!

However, I still was not able to get 1920x1080 @ 120hz. Although I was seeing the option in both Windows display settings and in Catalyst settings, I would only get a black screen before going back after the 15 seconds.

I finally found the solution though: I had to set the bit depth from 10bit down to 8bit in the Catalyst settings. After I tried that, 1920x1080 @ 120hz was working like a charm!

Thanks for the help and for this amazing software!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 12 Guest(s)