Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
01-07-2021, 02:14 PM
Post: #5551
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-07-2021 05:30 AM)choichoi10 Wrote:  750ti using vga cable to my vga monitor (Samsung s19d300)

this is what i did and 1366x768 is still not detected as native resolution:
You can't have a default extension block with NVIDIA, and something is wrong with the monitor or cable because it shouldn't be detected as a non-PnP monitor. Where did you get these resolutions from? The other screen shot you showed me is not the correct EDID for a Samsung monitor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-07-2021, 02:17 PM
Post: #5552
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
@toastyx,

Is there anyway to force enable Dolby vision using CRU util. The EDID has a VSVDB which i believe contains data for identification of Dolby vision source devices.

i can force enable Dolby vision on my Apple Tv 4k.

Can the same be done using CRU?

i only need the TV to go into Dolby vision mode, unfortunately there is no control on the TV to force enable DV.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-07-2021, 02:49 PM (Last edited: 01-07-2021, 02:57 PM by choichoi10)
Post: #5553
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-07-2021 02:14 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-07-2021 05:30 AM)choichoi10 Wrote:  750ti using vga cable to my vga monitor (Samsung s19d300)

this is what i did and 1366x768 is still not detected as native resolution:
You can't have a default extension block with NVIDIA, and something is wrong with the monitor or cable because it shouldn't be detected as a non-PnP monitor. Where did you get these resolutions from? The other screen shot you showed me is not the correct EDID for a Samsung monitor.

the firsts screenshot is wrong mybad, my monitor has always been detected as generic non pnp even with other vga cables and the resolutions are there already when i used Cru, what should i put in the extension block? really need help because idk how this works

(01-07-2021 02:49 PM)choichoi10 Wrote:  
(01-07-2021 02:14 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-07-2021 05:30 AM)choichoi10 Wrote:  750ti using vga cable to my vga monitor (Samsung s19d300)

this is what i did and 1366x768 is still not detected as native resolution:
You can't have a default extension block with NVIDIA, and something is wrong with the monitor or cable because it shouldn't be detected as a non-PnP monitor. Where did you get these resolutions from? The other screen shot you showed me is not the correct EDID for a Samsung monitor.

the firsts screenshot is wrong mybad, my monitor has always been detected as generic non pnp even with other vga cables and the resolutions are there already when i used Cru, what should i put in the extension block? really need help because idk how this works

tried adding adding 1366x768 in the extension block detailed resolutions but it after running restart64.exe my screen turns black and have to go safemode and reset all settings.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-07-2021, 03:20 PM
Post: #5554
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-07-2021 02:49 PM)choichoi10 Wrote:  the firsts screenshot is wrong mybad, my monitor has always been detected as generic non pnp even with other vga cables and the resolutions are there already when i used Cru, what should i put in the extension block? really need help because idk how this works
You don't need an extension block. You only need one detailed resolution for 1366x768 @ 60 Hz and nothing else.

"Non-PnP" means the graphics driver couldn't read the EDID, so there shouldn't be any resolutions in CRU by default.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-07-2021, 04:13 PM (Last edited: 01-07-2021, 04:15 PM by choichoi10)
Post: #5555
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-07-2021 03:20 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-07-2021 02:49 PM)choichoi10 Wrote:  the firsts screenshot is wrong mybad, my monitor has always been detected as generic non pnp even with other vga cables and the resolutions are there already when i used Cru, what should i put in the extension block? really need help because idk how this works
You don't need an extension block. You only need one detailed resolution for 1366x768 @ 60 Hz and nothing else.

"Non-PnP" means the graphics driver couldn't read the EDID, so there shouldn't be any resolutions in CRU by default.

I tried this and gave me bsod "system thread exception not handled" Sad


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-07-2021, 06:45 PM
Post: #5556
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-07-2021 04:13 PM)choichoi10 Wrote:  I tried this and gave me bsod "system thread exception not handled" Sad
That's a driver bug then. What driver version do you have installed? Try installing the latest NVIDIA driver with the clean install option.

The real problem is the EDID on the monitor is probably corrupted, so it's not being detected correctly. I don't know what you can do if the driver won't accept an EDID override. Maybe a cheap active HDMI-VGA adapter would work around the problem.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-07-2021, 07:16 PM
Post: #5557
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-07-2021 02:17 PM)traderdude123 Wrote:  Is there anyway to force enable Dolby vision using CRU util. The EDID has a VSVDB which i believe contains data for identification of Dolby vision source devices.

i can force enable Dolby vision on my Apple Tv 4k.

Can the same be done using CRU?

i only need the TV to go into Dolby vision mode, unfortunately there is no control on the TV to force enable DV.
Dolby Vision is proprietary and requires a licensed device and software support. Have you tried this: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/app/9pltg1lwphlf
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-07-2021, 08:02 PM
Post: #5558
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
currently I'm using Lenovo Ideapad 500-14ACZ laptop switchable graphics running Windows 10 latest version 20H2, since my LCD replaced my max resolution stuck at 1360x768. I use CRU to try forcing to get 1920x1080, the program runs well, no error also restart GPU successfully, but I don't see the resolution, anyone know why?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-07-2021, 09:33 PM
Post: #5559
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-07-2021 07:16 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-07-2021 02:17 PM)traderdude123 Wrote:  Is there anyway to force enable Dolby vision using CRU util. The EDID has a VSVDB which i believe contains data for identification of Dolby vision source devices.

i can force enable Dolby vision on my Apple Tv 4k.

Can the same be done using CRU?

i only need the TV to go into Dolby vision mode, unfortunately there is no control on the TV to force enable DV.
Dolby Vision is proprietary and requires a licensed device and software support. Have you tried this: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/app/9pltg1lwphlf

yea, i tried that but could not enable DV on the TV.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-07-2021, 09:48 PM
Post: #5560
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I’m experiencing an issue with CRU where my edid is showing a blank serial number after changing my freesync range. I’ve used a couple utilities to view the edid from both windows and Mac and see that the serial number field is blank/0 while the serial number (numeric) field is being edited by cru. This is all causing display arrangement to be totally screwy on my laptop since it seems it’s no longer able to tell the displays apart

On my Mac, I see:
Quote:EDID version: 1.4
Manufacturer: ACI Model 27a7 Serial Number 0

on windows in MonitorInfoView I see an empty serial number column and values in serial number (numeric)

Displays are asus mg279 if it makes any difference
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 74 Guest(s)