Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
01-09-2021, 01:57 AM
Post: #5571
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-09-2021 01:46 AM)choichoi10 Wrote:  hey toastyx, would buying a dvi to vga adapter fix this problem?
An active adapter might work, but you have to be careful to make sure you get an active adapter and not a passive one. A passive DVI to VGA adapter will act the same as a normal VGA port. HDMI to VGA adapters are always active. You will still have to use CRU if it can't read the EDID, but hopefully an active adapter will avoid the driver crash.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2021, 02:00 AM
Post: #5572
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-09-2021 01:57 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-09-2021 01:46 AM)choichoi10 Wrote:  hey toastyx, would buying a dvi to vga adapter fix this problem?
An active adapter might work, but you have to be careful to make sure you get an active adapter and not a passive one. A passive DVI to VGA adapter will act the same as a normal VGA port. HDMI to VGA adapters are always active. You will still have to use CRU if it can't read the EDID, but hopefully an active adapter will avoid the driver crash.

thanks ill try doing that
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2021, 03:30 PM (Last edited: 01-09-2021, 03:42 PM by ioannis)
Post: #5573
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
FYI ToastX, with the latest NVIDIA driver the cru settings for freesync range stay after reboot as they should. So it was a driver issue, no problem at all on your side!! Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2021, 05:30 PM (Last edited: 01-09-2021, 10:51 PM by Epic753)
Post: #5574
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-27-2020 09:50 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-27-2020 06:34 PM)Epic753 Wrote:  Does this mean that the fix leans away from faulty computer hardware and towards Lenovo (or nvidia) firmware and drivers?
Seems like it.

Update: The new Lenovo Y27Q20 firmware has fixed my intermittent black screens.

CRU patched the issue on DP so I was able to stabilize my computer (monitor) and enjoy my new build while waiting. Then no issues on HDMI while waiting too.

You correct all along helping whittle it down to the final fix.

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2021, 10:30 PM (Last edited: 01-09-2021, 11:18 PM by pipa)
Post: #5575
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi there,
I got a new laptop with AMD Ryzen 4800H and VEGA 7 integrated video board. I need to output 1920x1080 50i (via HDMI on a BMD Atem mixer) but unfortunately I see only progressive resolutions. If I create an interlaced resolution manually in CRU, it won't show in my monitor modes. What's wrong? On my old PC I was able to switch from progressive to interlaced via Nvidia control panel. How could I solve this issue?

Thank you in advance, ciao
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2021, 02:40 AM
Post: #5576
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-09-2021 10:30 PM)pipa Wrote:  I got a new laptop with AMD Ryzen 4800H and VEGA 7 integrated video board. I need to output 1920x1080 50i (via HDMI on a BMD Atem mixer) but unfortunately I see only progressive resolutions. If I create an interlaced resolution manually in CRU, it won't show in my monitor modes. What's wrong? On my old PC I was able to switch from progressive to interlaced via Nvidia control panel. How could I solve this issue?
Normally 1920x1080i50 is defined in a TV resolutions data block in a CTA-861 extension block, so try adding it that way. If it's already there, then the driver doesn't support interlaced resolutions with your hardware.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2021, 09:12 AM
Post: #5577
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-10-2021 02:40 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  Normally 1920x1080i50 is defined in a TV resolutions data block in a CTA-861 extension block, so try adding it that way. If it's already there, then the driver doesn't support interlaced resolutions with your hardware.

Thanks for replying, ToastyX.

Indeed 1080i is there. This means that AMD Vega boards don't support interlaced resolutions, right? 1080i is still very used among TV professionals. I've to give it back to Amazon. What a pity, the laptop (Huawei MateBook 14 AMD) is very stylish and fast!

Ciao
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2021, 04:57 PM
Post: #5578
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-10-2021 09:12 AM)pipa Wrote:  Indeed 1080i is there. This means that AMD Vega boards don't support interlaced resolutions, right? 1080i is still very used among TV professionals. I've to give it back to Amazon. What a pity, the laptop (Huawei MateBook 14 AMD) is very stylish and fast!
The hardware might be able to support interlaced resolutions, but the driver does not for newer GPUs. NVIDIA RTX GPUs don't support interlaced resolutions either.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2021, 10:05 PM (Last edited: 01-10-2021, 11:57 PM by xnor)
Post: #5579
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I'm having some issues with my main monitor going black and the desktop on my other monitor freezing, and I don't know why.

So my setup is a 40-144 Hz Freesync monitor as main, and an additional fixed 60 Hz monitor. GPU is a 2070.

Now since some games insist on putting my (main) monitor into a fixed 60 Hz refresh, I though: why not just remove all the sub-144 Hz modes?
And this did work before, but when I try it now and restart/reboot I just get a black screen.

The main detailed resolution of the main monitor is 2560x1440 at 60 Hz.
The CTA-861 extension block has same 2560x1440 for 144, 120, 100 and 60 Hz.

So I just edited the main detailed resolution to the same values as the 144 Hz one in the extension block and removed the 120, 100 and 60 Hz extension ones.

There are also 1920x1080 at 144 Hz and 60 Hz extension resolutions, I left those untouched.
I've also left the other monitor completely untouched.

Is there any reason why this should not work? Did the NVidia driver maybe break this in recent updates?

edit: Windows desktop resolution / monitor refresh rate are of course set to 2560x1440 144 Hz
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2021, 03:19 PM
Post: #5580
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-10-2021 10:05 PM)xnor Wrote:  Now since some games insist on putting my (main) monitor into a fixed 60 Hz refresh, I though: why not just remove all the sub-144 Hz modes?
And this did work before, but when I try it now and restart/reboot I just get a black screen.
When you get a black screen, is the computer still working? Does pressing num lock or caps lock change the light?

What monitors do you have? Are you using DisplayPort?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 73 Guest(s)