Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
01-11-2021, 05:14 PM (Last edited: 01-11-2021, 05:15 PM by xnor)
Post: #5581
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-11-2021 03:19 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  When you get a black screen, is the computer still working? Does pressing num lock or caps lock change the light?

What monitors do you have? Are you using DisplayPort?
I will try again to answer your first question.

EDID that matches that of my monitor: https://github.com/linuxhw/EDID/blob/mas...BA13BADD14

Yes, using DP.

One more thing that is curious: there are 2 entries for my monitor, the (active) one with the extension block with the 5 detailed resolutions and another entry that seems identical to the active one except that it has only a default extension block.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2021, 05:29 PM
Post: #5582
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-11-2021 05:14 PM)xnor Wrote:  One more thing that is curious: there are 2 entries for my monitor, the (active) one with the extension block with the 5 detailed resolutions and another entry that seems identical to the active one except that it has only a default extension block.
That's not a problem. Inactive entries are not being used. Extension blocks are only available with active monitors because Windows doesn't store extension blocks in the registry.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2021, 08:02 PM
Post: #5583
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I've tried a couple of different things and I've had both lockups and just the main monitor staying black.
Strangely, if I go into recovery (F8) and then restart the GPU again, it seems to accept my changes to the detailed resolutions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2021, 02:33 PM
Post: #5584
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey,

i already tried to search in this forum but i didn't find anything ( of course i find some entries but nothing special )

i have ASUS ROG Swift PG259QN with 360HZ but CRU isn't working.
Is there some way to get CRU work this this Monitor?

If its important

CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5900x
GPU: ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3080 OC
RAM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16GB DDR4-4000 CL15
Mainboard: ASUS ROG Strix B550-E Gaming

thanks for your help!

cheers
Kirby
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2021, 06:53 PM
Post: #5585
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-12-2021 02:33 PM)Kirby640L Wrote:  i have ASUS ROG Swift PG259QN with 360HZ but CRU isn't working.
Is there some way to get CRU work this this Monitor?
What isn't working? What are you trying to do?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2021, 07:00 PM
Post: #5586
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-12-2021 06:53 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-12-2021 02:33 PM)Kirby640L Wrote:  i have ASUS ROG Swift PG259QN with 360HZ but CRU isn't working.
Is there some way to get CRU work this this Monitor?
What isn't working? What are you trying to do?

Hey ToastyX,

thanks for your reply! Well i tried to make 360HZ work @ Display Scaling but sadly i did not make it work :[

only GPU is working - like i cannot make 1024 ( for example ) work @ fullscreen. Its like a tiny little black bars ( all the way ) screen then Big Grin

thanks & cheers
Kirby
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2021, 09:59 PM
Post: #5587
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-12-2021 07:00 PM)Kirby640L Wrote:  thanks for your reply! Well i tried to make 360HZ work @ Display Scaling but sadly i did not make it work :[

only GPU is working - like i cannot make 1024 ( for example ) work @ fullscreen. Its like a tiny little black bars ( all the way ) screen then Big Grin
Display scaling requires the monitor to support the resolution. G-Sync monitors only support a limited set of resolutions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2021, 10:01 PM
Post: #5588
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-12-2021 09:59 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-12-2021 07:00 PM)Kirby640L Wrote:  thanks for your reply! Well i tried to make 360HZ work @ Display Scaling but sadly i did not make it work :[

only GPU is working - like i cannot make 1024 ( for example ) work @ fullscreen. Its like a tiny little black bars ( all the way ) screen then Big Grin
Display scaling requires the monitor to support the resolution. G-Sync monitors only support a limited set of resolutions.

ah... is there a way to find out what resolutions are being supported?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-13-2021, 03:24 AM
Post: #5589
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-12-2021 10:01 PM)Kirby640L Wrote:  ah... is there a way to find out what resolutions are being supported?
You'll have to try and see. Usually it's just the native resolution and some lower fallback resolutions at 60 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-13-2021, 02:55 PM (Last edited: 01-13-2021, 03:13 PM by Reloaded87)
Post: #5590
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Possible to enable freesync on non freesync monitor via displayport? Or need Displayport-HDMI adapter? My monitor support only 60Hz via HDMI and 170Hz via Displayport. I need a high refresh rate of the monitor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 48 Guest(s)