Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
12-07-2022, 04:29 AM
Post: #7091
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello. I must be doing something wrong because I can't get this to work. I have an LG monitor. I installed Windows 10 fresh on an old computer running an old Geforce GTX470 card.
Windows recognizes my monitor as LGE2250 however it only lets me have 1280X1024 as my maximum resolution when the max for this monitor is 1920X1080 60hz.
When I use this application it shows the correct resolution as the detailed resolution (1920X1080 60hz).
When I click OK and run the restart program it doesn't change the resolution and when I go into display settings the LG profile is not recognized anymore and is replaced by "Display 1: Wired Display" now and the resolution is greyed out and I can't change it at all anymore.
When I go back into this program it now shows two monitor profile choices (the LG and "generic non-pnp" monitor.
What am I doing wrong?
Also, I tried updating my graphics card and when I try to download the latest driver it bricks my system so I gave up on that. Same if I try to update with Windows Update.
Also, downloaded the supposed latest driver from the LG website but none of the files seem to be an actual update that I can execute.
Like I said, I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I have no idea what. Any help?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-08-2022, 02:48 AM
Post: #7092
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-07-2022 04:29 AM)Carnage6 Wrote:  Hello. I must be doing something wrong because I can't get this to work. I have an LG monitor. I installed Windows 10 fresh on an old computer running an old Geforce GTX470 card.
Windows recognizes my monitor as LGE2250 however it only lets me have 1280X1024 as my maximum resolution when the max for this monitor is 1920X1080 60hz.
When I use this application it shows the correct resolution as the detailed resolution (1920X1080 60hz).
When I click OK and run the restart program it doesn't change the resolution and when I go into display settings the LG profile is not recognized anymore and is replaced by "Display 1: Wired Display" now and the resolution is greyed out and I can't change it at all anymore.
When I go back into this program it now shows two monitor profile choices (the LG and "generic non-pnp" monitor.
What am I doing wrong?
Also, I tried updating my graphics card and when I try to download the latest driver it bricks my system so I gave up on that. Same if I try to update with Windows Update.
Also, downloaded the supposed latest driver from the LG website but none of the files seem to be an actual update that I can execute.
Like I said, I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I have no idea what. Any help?
Post a screen shot of Device Manager that shows what's under display adapters and monitors.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-08-2022, 01:37 PM (Last edited: 12-08-2022, 02:46 PM by iakoboss7)
Post: #7093
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello and thank you very much for this amazing tool and support!

Monitor: AOC Q3279VWFD8
GPU: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GD5 (UEFI) SKU number: 11260-07
Connection: DisplayPort cable that came with monitor, using 10bit color depth.
Windows 11 22H2 , Latest AMD driver (atm 22.11.2) [I have created the custom resolution in CRU and not in AMD driver settings, idk if its correct?]
CRU settings: Look in screenshots

Stock @75hz (which does not seem to follow the VESA standard)
   

My over/under-clocked @76hz, changed freesync also from 48-75 to 38-76
   
   

My target is to get the "correct/best" settings for my monitor to achieve "LFC" (which requires the maximum freesync range to be at least x2 of the minimum freesync range).
I have it already working except a weird "tear/stuttering" that happens at ~@38fps probably because it is just about double and not even 1hz more as I get blank screen above 76.1/76.2 Hz.

But I am not sure if the monitor timings are correct and maybe hurting something Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2022, 12:15 AM (Last edited: 12-09-2022, 12:30 AM by RocZi)
Post: #7094
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Thank you for this tool.

I have been trying to figure out a FEW problems that I have been facing but wasn't aware of, and then later I realized there are problems and I couldn't solve them with native nvidia apps and window settings, until I found CRU.

TLDR : Active Signal Resolution is what the PC/GPU is receiving/interpreting the EDID from the monitor.
(I did not (want to spend any more time) read up the relationships/connections of these specific technologies to know which the words to use. Its what I came to interpret. In any case, my current understandings solved my issues.)

If the Active Signal Resolution is wrong, it causes a variety of problems.
- wrong native resolution
- unable to utilize your monitor's highest refresh rate
- alt-tab when returning from desktop back to game zoomed in the display in the game, changing the centre of your display location and your mouse centre location changes, forcing to close the game and restart or forcing to use windowed mode unable to utilize Nvidia Image Scaling.
- very low fps in games, even with super low graphic settings and resolution

I happened to accumulate and face all of them at the same time without knowing its from one source. Thankfully they are all linked.

Use CRU to force edit the right EDID for the PC/GPU so that your games/app/desktop runs at the correct native resolution and highest refresh rate possible, and your games get back higher fps and graphic settings and alt-tab works correctly for games that with link to your native resolution.



#############
My hardware :
Primary Monitor : BenQ EX2780Q (2560x1440p native (2.5K) @ 144Hz max refresh rate)
Secondary Monitor : Dell 2740L (1920x1080p native @ 60Hz max refresh rate)
GPU : RTX3080
CPU : AMD R5 3600

Issue 1 : I am not sure at what point in the 3 years since I built my new PC, did my 2560x1440 (2.5K) native resolution monitor begin to take in 3840x2160 (4K) Active Signal Resolution as the native resolution. But I have always set my desktop to either 2560x1440 or 1920x1080. I thought that this would set the base Desktop Resolution.

Issue 2 : my monitor is capable of going 144Hz refresh rate at native 1440p resolution but windows display settings only allow me up to 60Hz. I also did not know why and when did this changed. I kept my Nvidia drivers updated.

Issue 3 : When Alt-tabbing Fallout 4 from fullscreen to desktop and then go back into the game. The game returns but the display is now zoomed into the top left. The centre is off, mouse pointer is off centre. Many people in reddit reported as well. Game has to closed or use windowed mode which then can't utilize Nvidia Image Scaling.

Issue 4 : I noticed my games has horrendous fps especially when I turn on / increase the graphic settings. I just couldn't understand why when I use the same hardware but other people in their youtube benchmarks always has like double my fps.

I have a few issues to tackle. They seemed to be separate issues but initially I do not know where each of the problem source is. But they all originate from 1 main issue for me and it all linked up my understanding in the end.

The plot twist : Little did I know I have been rendering in 4K (based on what is indicated in Window's Active Signal Resolution) and scaling down everything, games, apps and even desktop resolution. Now it make sense why the "recommended" resolution in my windows display settings is 3840x2160 even if my monitor native is 2.5K. (my monitor can use windows/apps to scale up to 4K at max 60Hz refresh rate).

Somehow the EDID is wrong.

Recently I played some old games like Metro Exodus (2019), Fallout 4 (2015 with HD textures), Red Dead Redemption 2 (2018). Those games are few years old and yet I can't even get consistently 60 fps for all of them, like why man?! Even with low graphics settings and I still have to lower my resolution to 1080p or lower. When I watch other people in youtube with older hardware using the same games to do benchmarks, and get more fps than me with higher graphic settings and higher resolution, that is when I finally know something is very wrong somewhere.

eg. I crank down all my graphic settings and drop resolution to 720p in RDR2 to get 50 fps max
I spent a few hours reading watching and changing Fallout 4 graphic settings into acceptable 40-50 fps.
My low fps in Cyberpunk 2077 was not easily detected because it is a new game and is a graphics intensive game and it did provide a lot of graphic settings to increase fps to acceptable range.

I was playing Fallout 4 with low fps and I also need to Alt-Tab to desktop. I cannot accept having zoomed in display each time i get back in game and have to close the game, so I tried to solve this issue first. I then stumbled upon youtube about "how to increase fps for all games with nvidia settings". I read about NIS (Nvidia Image Scaling) and that we can enable a small overlay indicator ("NIS" text on top left of screen) to display whenever NIS is actively being executed. I was initially wondering why even in my my desktop has this NIS text when I am already setting desktop to my monitor native 1440p resolution.

Then it finally clicked. My desktop is being scaled down to 1440p. This is why my Active Signal Resolution is 4K and my max refresh rate is 60Hz because that's what my monitor limit is capable of. The PC is treating my monitor as native 4K! And the NIS text on desktop is proof. And I use my monitor's HUD information to check the current resolution and refresh rate. It is showing 4K @ 60Hz in all my games!

I have thought maybe my problem sources is to do with windows desktop scaling, or the HDMI cables and versions that I am using, or I need DisplayPort cable, or I need to adjust my Nvidia Control Panel settings or its a dual monitor issue where I need to change to use one monitor only when gaming (which I don't want). I already has all drivers updated. It was driving me nuts with so many trial and errors.

I then do a clean install of Nvidia drivers instead of the usual overwriting installation and low and behold! my 144Hz returns and the windows display settings recommended my monitor native resolution at 1440p. I then enabled NIS and the recommended resolution became 4K and my refresh rate options drop to 60Hz max. Well, that's one way I found that messes with my EDID. I did not try and find what else could have changed my EDID.

When I started up CRU for the 1st time, there is only 1 "detailed resolution" I see and it is 2560x1440 @ 143.something Hz. I supposed this is one of the current EDID resolution.
I created 2 more detailed resolution using Timing as "Automatic PC"
2560x1440 @ 144 Hz
1920x1080 @ 144 Hz

Somehow the NIS text is gone in my Fallout 4. but the Image Scaling option is turned on in Nvidia Control Panel (and can confirm in Geforce Experience as well). When I turn off and on NIS at Nvidia Control Panel, the problems came back. My Active Signal Resolution is 4K. the NIS text appeared on my desktop again. I then try to replicate the solution above but plot twist : it didn't work anymore.

Feelings of annoyance ensues. This is now a new issue. I did not do anything different because I immediately try to use CRU to solve it but it didn't work. I try to reorder and move up my created resolutions in the list of 3 detailed resolutions but nope. I use restart.exe and restart64.exe and reset-all.exe but nope.

But now aside from this new problem where CRU is not changing the EDID, I know where the old problem is which is the EDID is wrong. I know I wanted NIS so I left it being turned on as it is current is, but create problems. I didn't want to clean reinstall nvidia drivers as that will set to default profile which NIS will be turned off. So I try to use CRU timing as "Native PC", it doesn't seem like anything different from "Automatic PC", but this time I also delete the 1 original detailed resolution there, even if it seems like the correct resolution and similar refresh rate and create the 2 detailed resolutions I wanted again.

but guess what, it worked. and I did not try to do anything else after that. because the EDID might get changed again and unable to change back. Having to use CRU twice is indeed puzzling. Until I face the problems again, I will not attempt to try and figure out why.

so my initial issues are ALL solved :
- resolution back to correct native
- refresh rate back up to max capable
- alt-tab fallout 4 has some other graphical settings to change in its .ini files but now i can return to 100% correct display each time
- fps in fallout 4 was 40-50 at low graphic settings. with the native resolution solved and NIS turned on, i get 150-200 fps at ULTRA settings (but note that specifically for fallout 4, need to limit to 60 fps for the in-game timings. I turned off vsync to check if fps is boosted)

what's left : until next episode where I have to use CRU again. (And try the Automatic PC and Native PC timings to see which one works.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2022, 02:57 AM
Post: #7095
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-08-2022 02:48 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-07-2022 04:29 AM)Carnage6 Wrote:  Hello. I must be doing something wrong because I can't get this to work. I have an LG monitor. I installed Windows 10 fresh on an old computer running an old Geforce GTX470 card.
Windows recognizes my monitor as LGE2250 however it only lets me have 1280X1024 as my maximum resolution when the max for this monitor is 1920X1080 60hz.
When I use this application it shows the correct resolution as the detailed resolution (1920X1080 60hz).
When I click OK and run the restart program it doesn't change the resolution and when I go into display settings the LG profile is not recognized anymore and is replaced by "Display 1: Wired Display" now and the resolution is greyed out and I can't change it at all anymore.
When I go back into this program it now shows two monitor profile choices (the LG and "generic non-pnp" monitor.
What am I doing wrong?
Also, I tried updating my graphics card and when I try to download the latest driver it bricks my system so I gave up on that. Same if I try to update with Windows Update.
Also, downloaded the supposed latest driver from the LG website but none of the files seem to be an actual update that I can execute.
Like I said, I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I have no idea what. Any help?
Post a screen shot of Device Manager that shows what's under display adapters and monitors.

I added before and after using the program.

Let me know


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
               
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2022, 11:13 PM
Post: #7096
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-09-2022 02:57 AM)Carnage6 Wrote:  I added before and after using the program.
You need to install NVIDIA's driver for CRU to work and to get the correct resolutions, and "Generic Non-PnP Monitor" usually means there's a problem with the EDID, possibly because some bits got corrupted in the EEPROM, which can happen sometimes with older monitors.

When you say installing NVIDIA's driver bricks the system, do you mean the system won't boot, or do you mean the monitor won't display anything? If it boots but the monitor won't display anything with the driver installed, the EDID might be invalid. If that's the case, the easiest workaround is to use a different port on the monitor because that will have a different EDID.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2022, 11:13 PM
Post: #7097
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-09-2022 12:15 AM)RocZi Wrote:  I then do a clean install of Nvidia drivers instead of the usual overwriting installation and low and behold! my 144Hz returns and the windows display settings recommended my monitor native resolution at 1440p. I then enabled NIS and the recommended resolution became 4K and my refresh rate options drop to 60Hz max. Well, that's one way I found that messes with my EDID. I did not try and find what else could have changed my EDID.
The monitor does include 3840x2160, but the monitor is not making that the native resolution. NVIDIA's driver is doing that probably because some 4K TVs define 1080p as the native resolution, so they made the driver use the highest resolution available for DSR and NIS. You need to remove 3840x2160 using the same steps as this guide: https://www.monitortests.com/blog/guide-...4096x2160/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-09-2022, 11:15 PM
Post: #7098
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-08-2022 01:37 PM)iakoboss7 Wrote:  My target is to get the "correct/best" settings for my monitor to achieve "LFC" (which requires the maximum freesync range to be at least x2 of the minimum freesync range).
I have it already working except a weird "tear/stuttering" that happens at ~@38fps probably because it is just about double and not even 1hz more as I get blank screen above 76.1/76.2 Hz.

But I am not sure if the monitor timings are correct and maybe hurting something Sad
Honestly there's probably not much you can do. The FreeSync range should be at least 2.5x to handle edge cases correctly, so if the monitor can't handle a larger range, then there's no way to make it work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2022, 01:11 AM (Last edited: 12-10-2022, 01:12 AM by iakoboss7)
Post: #7099
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-09-2022 11:15 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-08-2022 01:37 PM)iakoboss7 Wrote:  My target is to get the "correct/best" settings for my monitor to achieve "LFC" (which requires the maximum freesync range to be at least x2 of the minimum freesync range).
I have it already working except a weird "tear/stuttering" that happens at ~@38fps probably because it is just about double and not even 1hz more as I get blank screen above 76.1/76.2 Hz.

But I am not sure if the monitor timings are correct and maybe hurting something Sad
Honestly there's probably not much you can do. The FreeSync range should be at least 2.5x to handle edge cases correctly, so if the monitor can't handle a larger range, then there's no way to make it work.

thank you for your reply!

is it ok that i kept the default monitor timings of the 75hz profile for my 76.1hz profile?
should i change them maybe for better compatibility with amd drivers?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-10-2022, 01:37 AM
Post: #7100
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-10-2022 01:11 AM)iakoboss7 Wrote:  is it ok that i kept the default monitor timings of the 75hz profile for my 76.1hz profile?
should i change them maybe for better compatibility with amd drivers?
That shouldn't matter.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 90 Guest(s)