Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
10-18-2018, 04:57 PM (This post was last modified: 10-18-2018 05:09 PM by loccothan.)
Post: #3621
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-10-2018 01:03 AM)gabrieldesrochers@hotmail.com Wrote:  
(10-09-2018 07:06 AM)loccothan Wrote:  
(10-08-2018 12:44 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-06-2018 09:44 PM)loccothan Wrote:  Can you elaborate the HDR settings ?
What we can do in this, i can see that Values are from 1-100 it mean 100%?
The values are 1-255 and represent the luminance calculated using formulas. The max values are 50 * 2 ^ (Value / 32), and the min value is Max * (Value / 255) ^ 2 / 100. I don't expect most people to find this useful. It's mainly there to show what the monitor supports.

THX Heart
Another words, do not touch it Wink
http://www.quantumdata.com/support/downl..._Win32.msi with this you can eddid the hdr and know in cdm2

Ok, but my Monitor is not HDR Native
-> 1440p 10Bit with Max Luminosity (Peak) at 400 cd/m²
So it can theoretically display HDR-400 format (but maby not? dunno, but we do like to OC Wink )

ZEN k17 8/16 4.01 GHz / Crosshair Hero VI / Predator 4133 CL19 1T / ATI Vega 64 XTX LiquiD / SB Z + MOD / XTR|SeaSonic 780 Platinum / CM WC Nepton 280L with Cold-Water MOD / Samie 850Pro 512GB System & RAID 0 + 2nd. 850Pro 512GB as Cache / Corsair 750D / ProLite XUB2792QSU-B1 10Bit > http://loccothan.blogspot.com
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-24-2018, 01:56 AM
Post: #3622
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
CRU v1.4.1
nvlddmkm-patcher v1.4.3
Windows 10 version 1803 build 17134.34
nVidia Driver 416.34

I've been using CRU for years, but now CRU on Windows 10 with nVidia driver 416.34 no longer works.
I recently updated my graphics driver 2 weeks ago, patched it with the latest nvlddmkm-patcher, and had no issues until today when I turned my PC on.
My custom refresh rate is no longer an option in display adapter properties, even though I've have it set up in CRU: http://puu.sh/BPYEC/9bc49861ff.png

Maybe this is due to a recent Windows 10 update? Anyone have any ideas?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-24-2018, 12:52 PM
Post: #3623
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-24-2018 01:56 AM)hutt132 Wrote:  I've been using CRU for years, but now CRU on Windows 10 with nVidia driver 416.34 no longer works.
The problem is the latest NVIDIA driver (416.34) made the patcher ineffective. I don't have a solution yet.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-07-2018, 07:47 AM
Post: #3624
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-24-2018 12:52 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-24-2018 01:56 AM)hutt132 Wrote:  I've been using CRU for years, but now CRU on Windows 10 with nVidia driver 416.34 no longer works.
The problem is the latest NVIDIA driver (416.34) made the patcher ineffective. I don't have a solution yet.

any idea when or if you will be able to have a solution?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2018, 01:41 AM
Post: #3625
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a Gl62m 7rd-1407 laptop gaming. I'd like to know if i can overclocking my monitor. I have fear Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-11-2018, 08:38 PM (This post was last modified: 11-11-2018 10:12 PM by cjber.)
Post: #3626
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello,

I have a cheap Philips 246E, which I am just tinkering for fun.

I can set individual resolutions of 1920x1080 at 35hz and 70hz (by changing some timing setting off the original native resolution) , without the screen going blank.

I assumed that I should be able to safely set a freesync range of 35-70, but the screen goes blank periodically (flashes) when doing so.

I am using a HMDI connection, and I set the max rate to 660 (without improving).

Could you please explain what is wrong in my assumption?

edit:
Some observations I found:
1. when I change the freesync range to 55-76, freesync appears to work (no screen flashing) at the native resolution 1920x1080@60hz
2. when I change to the custom 1920x1080@70hz resolution, the same freesync range causes the screen to flash once more
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-12-2018, 08:34 AM
Post: #3627
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi,
Hope someone can help me,
First of all much thanks for the developer/s of that tool,
I have the ASUS MG279Q which most of the users of it recommand to use CRU for modify the default freesync range from 35-90 to something that would go till 144 like 57-144..
My problem is pretty weird,At first I was sure it's coming from the GPU probably something wrong there till I discovered that all this crash are coming after I used CRU to modify my freesync range..
Question is why I have these issues when most of the owners of the MG279Q using CRU without single issue..
I mean,The tool works perfect.. I can open let's say AC Odessy and while benchmark when the FPS is around 50 I can see the freesync really working and the FPS changing in the monitor OSD..
But..Why after 20 minutes..Or even hour (It's in random time..) The PC crash?
I mean..Monitor crash like here - https://youtu.be/YLg8N9f_o9M?t=171 (Video I captured when I was sure it's coming from the GPU but its from the freesync change..)
It's like the monitor is freezing (I can still hear for example the music of the game but screen froze..) Let's say I shutdown the PC..The monitor would still show the frozen image like it's still getting signal even that the PC is shutdown ;/
Any idea?
The GPU is Vega 64,The connection is with Mini DP which was included with the ASUS MG279Q..
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-12-2018, 02:41 PM
Post: #3628
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(11-12-2018 08:34 AM)edoroom Wrote:  Hi,
Hope someone can help me,
First of all much thanks for the developer/s of that tool,
I have the ASUS MG279Q which most of the users of it recommand to use CRU for modify the default freesync range from 35-90 to something that would go till 144 like 57-144..
My problem is pretty weird,At first I was sure it's coming from the GPU probably something wrong there till I discovered that all this crash are coming after I used CRU to modify my freesync range..
Question is why I have these issues when most of the owners of the MG279Q using CRU without single issue..
I mean,The tool works perfect.. I can open let's say AC Odessy and while benchmark when the FPS is around 50 I can see the freesync really working and the FPS changing in the monitor OSD..
But..Why after 20 minutes..Or even hour (It's in random time..) The PC crash?
I mean..Monitor crash like here - https://youtu.be/YLg8N9f_o9M?t=171 (Video I captured when I was sure it's coming from the GPU but its from the freesync change..)
It's like the monitor is freezing (I can still hear for example the music of the game but screen froze..) Let's say I shutdown the PC..The monitor would still show the frozen image like it's still getting signal even that the PC is shutdown ;/
Any idea?
The GPU is Vega 64,The connection is with Mini DP which was included with the ASUS MG279Q..
Crashes are always either hardware problems or driver bugs, but in this case, it looks like the monitor is crashing and not the PC, especially since it still retains an image after the PC shuts off. There's no guarantee a monitor will handle an extended FreeSync range, which is why it doesn't go to 144 Hz by default. Maybe try a narrower range or lower refresh rates. You only need 70-144 Hz for LFC to take over, or you can try something like 58-120 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-12-2018, 02:42 PM
Post: #3629
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(11-11-2018 08:38 PM)cjber Wrote:  Hello,

I have a cheap Philips 246E, which I am just tinkering for fun.

I can set individual resolutions of 1920x1080 at 35hz and 70hz (by changing some timing setting off the original native resolution) , without the screen going blank.

I assumed that I should be able to safely set a freesync range of 35-70, but the screen goes blank periodically (flashes) when doing so.

I am using a HMDI connection, and I set the max rate to 660 (without improving).

Could you please explain what is wrong in my assumption?

edit:
Some observations I found:
1. when I change the freesync range to 55-76, freesync appears to work (no screen flashing) at the native resolution 1920x1080@60hz
2. when I change to the custom 1920x1080@70hz resolution, the same freesync range causes the screen to flash once more
The refresh rate you set is the maximum refresh rate FreeSync will use, so the range at 60 Hz is actually 55-60 Hz, but FreeSync won't activate if the range is less than 10 Hz, so it's not using FreeSync at all at 60 Hz. The refresh rates you can set without FreeSync have no bearing on what ranges it can handle with FreeSync.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-12-2018, 02:47 PM
Post: #3630
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(11-07-2018 07:47 AM)trek554 Wrote:  any idea when or if you will be able to have a solution?
I tried getting a used GTX 770, but it turned out to be defective or incompatible, so I'm delayed until I can get a newer NVIDIA card that supports the latest drivers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 63 Guest(s)