Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-04-2021, 09:45 PM
Post: #6051
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-04-2021 02:13 PM)kenhm51 Wrote:  I'm trying to play on stretch resolution anything like 1728x1080 1756x1080 1600x1080 1440x 1080 1444x1080.
Okay, but what steps are you doing? Did you delete the default extension block? Your screenshots don't show this.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2021, 08:24 AM (Last edited: 09-05-2021, 10:16 AM by cide)
Post: #6052
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-01-2021 02:38 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-28-2021 01:59 PM)cide Wrote:  Hello
Custom any résolution or refresh rate nothing works

have used cru for long time now and its the first time have this problème like if cru no apply my setting

Have g7 1080ti on display port i don't inderstand why cru don't work
What are you trying to do? Is there a default extension block?

Hello
I use cru for just custom G-sync range and removed resolution i don't want

So I have delete default extension and now all work
I have removed all resolution and have make my native resolution 1440p 240hz for my odyssey G7 with extension display id 1.3

Now what is the best for my native 1440p 240hz automatic pc / native pc or other?

I don't inderstand higher pixel clock is better?
native refresh rate is 239.958hz

Thanks u for ur Superb tool
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2021, 11:39 AM (Last edited: 09-05-2021, 11:40 AM by moutarde)
Post: #6053
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-04-2021 09:45 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-04-2021 03:48 PM)moutarde Wrote:  I don't know if this has been already dealt with, but I didn't find this exact issue while googling. Using CRU on an intel cpu+igpu laptop (UHD 620) to create custom resolution works fine for 48hz for me. However, when I try to create 47.952hz to watch 23.976fps movies, it just shows up as 48p (just like 48hz) in intel graphics center and is in fact really a 48hz setting (can see with mpc hc and madvr). I have tried to disable the 48hz custom resolution, keeping only the 47.952hz one, but it acts the same. I have also tried different timing presets (automatic pc, exact) but none of them helped.
Is it expected, is there any way to troubleshoot the problem?
Windows will list both as 48 Hz, so you can't have both at the same time, but there should be no issues with fractional refresh rates. Try rebooting instead of restarting the driver to make sure it's applying correctly, and try using this with Chrome to check: https://www.displayhz.com/

If it's still not showing the correct refresh rate, then the driver is doing something strange. Try another refresh rate like 55.1 Hz to test.

I tried everything you said and no matter what, displayhz.com shows ~47.999-48.001hz. I also updated intel drivers and the result is the same.
Using 55.1hz custom setting shows up as 55p as expected but works fine at 55.1hz according to displayhz.com.
Also, I tried to use 23.976hz and 71.928hz to try to get away from this buggy setting but it just breaks my monitor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-05-2021, 05:44 PM (Last edited: 09-06-2021, 09:45 AM by Geonode)
Post: #6054
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Using MSI GE76 Raider (11UH) - 4k@120hz screen (Panel AUO B173ZAN03.3)

Able to get 121-126hz@4k via Nvidia panel without CRU (bpc lowers to 6 when going 123hz+). 127+ unstable
Able to get 121-124hz@4k with CRU with just Nvidia
Able to get 121-124hz@4k with CRU if running intel + nvidia

was trying to see if I could get 144hz at 1440p but i guess that wont work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-06-2021, 03:11 PM
Post: #6055
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-05-2021 11:39 AM)moutarde Wrote:  I tried everything you said and no matter what, displayhz.com shows ~47.999-48.001hz. I also updated intel drivers and the result is the same.
Using 55.1hz custom setting shows up as 55p as expected but works fine at 55.1hz according to displayhz.com.
Also, I tried to use 23.976hz and 71.928hz to try to get away from this buggy setting but it just breaks my monitor.
What about 47.9 Hz? If it turns that into 48 Hz, then that's Intel-specific behavior. What about with "CVT-RB standard" timing?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-06-2021, 03:12 PM
Post: #6056
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-05-2021 08:24 AM)cide Wrote:  Now what is the best for my native 1440p 240hz automatic pc / native pc or other?

I don't inderstand higher pixel clock is better?
native refresh rate is 239.958hz
There is no best. Use whatever works. The pixel clock is the total number of pixels per second including blanking.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-06-2021, 09:42 PM
Post: #6057
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-06-2021 03:11 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-05-2021 11:39 AM)moutarde Wrote:  I tried everything you said and no matter what, displayhz.com shows ~47.999-48.001hz. I also updated intel drivers and the result is the same.
Using 55.1hz custom setting shows up as 55p as expected but works fine at 55.1hz according to displayhz.com.
Also, I tried to use 23.976hz and 71.928hz to try to get away from this buggy setting but it just breaks my monitor.
What about 47.9 Hz? If it turns that into 48 Hz, then that's Intel-specific behavior. What about with "CVT-RB standard" timing?

47.9hz give 48.000hz for exact or CVT-RB standard timing. 47.000hz gives 47.000hz right though. Guess nothing I can do.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2021, 03:16 PM
Post: #6058
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-04-2021 09:45 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-04-2021 02:13 PM)kenhm51 Wrote:  I'm trying to play on stretch resolution anything like 1728x1080 1756x1080 1600x1080 1440x 1080 1444x1080.
Okay, but what steps are you doing? Did you delete the default extension block? Your screenshots don't show this.

I did all steps that i would normally do for my g7 and alienware. if i need to i would delete all exten blocks and standard resolutions including the established res
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2021, 07:20 PM
Post: #6059
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-09-2021 02:00 AM)choichoi10 Wrote:  
(01-09-2021 01:57 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-09-2021 01:46 AM)choichoi10 Wrote:  hey toastyx, would buying a dvi to vga adapter fix this problem?
An active adapter might work, but you have to be careful to make sure you get an active adapter and not a passive one. A passive DVI to VGA adapter will act the same as a normal VGA port. HDMI to VGA adapters are always active. You will still have to use CRU if it can't read the EDID, but hopefully an active adapter will avoid the driver crash.

thanks ill try doing that

Please, let me know if you find any solution to this. I have same problem, with same monitor.

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-11-2021, 09:21 PM
Post: #6060
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi ToastyX,

Need your advise here. I have followed your guides on removing 4096x2160 resolution under TV Resolutions, but it caused my monitor speaker's removed from Audio Output lists in Sounds Settings, while the audio driver is still Enabled in Device Management. Can you advised me on how to properly remove 4096x2160 without causing Audio not working? I've also tried using displayport-audio.dat files, but still have the same issue. I have tried to try the settings there but when the TV resolutions is modified, Audio seems not working. Thank you

Intel i7-1185G7
Intel Iris Xe Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 1650 MaxQ
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: mistero1982, 66 Guest(s)