Monitor Tests Forum

Full Version: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440
When I make a new custom resolution and I reboot, I get a black screen and it never goes away, is there a fix for this?
Someone with BenQ GW2270 , how high you can raise hz for a stable oc ? I can't even reach 70 hz (everything is blury)


Edit : nevermind , i didint read the main thread how i should , my dvi was limited to 165mhz , i downloaded the unlocker for ati and now i can make 70 hz Smile

Edit edit : my current cable is single dvi-d to single dvi-d , (with the max frequency is 165mhz) but i have another cable , http://www.allsystemsbroadband.com/wp-co..._specs.pdf this , it's hdmi 1.3 to single dvi-d (my video card supports hdmi but my monitor does't) will improve something ?
(01-13-2017 01:34 AM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]
(01-13-2017 12:38 AM)billycarter86 Wrote: [ -> ]Hey ToastyX. I was wondering if you could help me out. I am currently using a Vizio E552VLE Television as a monitor. I have already pushed the television successfully to 120HZ.

The problem I have is that once I overclock the tv, I lose all audio. I have tried using different audio outputs but to no avail. I use HDMI for audio and video from my system. If I use Radeon Relive I can overclock to 95hz max and still keep audio.
What timing parameters did you use? Try the "LCD native" timing option. "LCD standard" at 120 Hz does not have enough horizontal blanking for the audio data.

I am currently useing LCD Native @ 120
(01-15-2017 09:03 PM)billycarter86 Wrote: [ -> ]I am currently useing LCD Native @ 120
That's a driver issue then. Those are the correct timing parameters for 120 Hz, so there should be audio. Try using a "TV resolutions" data block in the extension block to add 1920x1080 @ 120 Hz as a TV resolution.
(01-15-2017 06:01 PM)Beryv Wrote: [ -> ]Edit edit : my current cable is single dvi-d to single dvi-d , (with the max frequency is 165mhz) but i have another cable , http://www.allsystemsbroadband.com/wp-co..._specs.pdf this , it's hdmi 1.3 to single dvi-d (my video card supports hdmi but my monitor does't) will improve something ?
HDMI will just act like single-link DVI with a DVI monitor, so that won't make a difference.
(01-14-2017 07:56 PM)an55432 Wrote: [ -> ]When I make a new custom resolution and I reboot, I get a black screen and it never goes away, is there a fix for this?
Run reset-all.exe in safe mode. I shouldn't have to keep telling people this. It's in the instructions in the first post. Use restart.exe instead of rebooting so you can press F8 if you can't see the screen.
(01-14-2017 05:48 PM)nfshp253 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi guys, I have a peculiar problem here. I have a 1280x1024 monitor that I'm trying to do a custom 1440x1152 resolution on. Over VGA (using an adaptor on the GPU's DVI port), it works well. But when I switch over to the monitor's DVI port (on the same GPU DVI port as above), the monitor says 'Cannot display this video mode'. What gives?

Additionally, I have another 1280x1024 monitor running well at 1440x1152 over DVI-I. When I use the DVI-D port, it gives an permanent 'input signal out of range' message, while displaying the image just fine behind it. Any ideas why?
LCD monitors are only designed to display the native resolution. Anything beyond that is up to the scaler and firmware in the monitor. Monitors will usually accept lower resolutions, but many will not accept higher resolutions. The results can vary depending on the model and even different ports on the same monitor.
I have an HP Omen 32 hooked up to my RX 480 through display port. It is a 1440p @ 75Hz display. I was able to increase the Freesync range from 48-75 to 30-75 with CRU and that has been working great for a while now.

I recently tried to use higher refresh rates, but have run into problems. I cannot seem to go above 300 MHz pixel clock (~76 Hz) without the monitor complaining about being out of range.

The weird thing to me is that the monitor still works and I can run frame skipping tests and play games fine. It doesn't even always display the out of range message. However, I can reliably cause the message to appear by turning on/off the OSD or turning the monitor off/on. Messing with the resolution settings in games will often cause the message to appear as well. The display continues to work even with the message, but obviously it would be annoying to try to use it like that.

I have tried all of the timing presets as well as the timings from the built-in 75 Hz resolution and get similar results. I have also tried increasing the H rate and pixel clock range limits as well with the same results.

Any idea what my problem could be?
(01-17-2017 05:50 PM)Istario Wrote: [ -> ]I recently tried to use higher refresh rates, but have run into problems. I cannot seem to go above 300 MHz pixel clock (~76 Hz) without the monitor complaining about being out of range.

The weird thing to me is that the monitor still works and I can run frame skipping tests and play games fine. It doesn't even always display the out of range message. However, I can reliably cause the message to appear by turning on/off the OSD or turning the monitor off/on. Messing with the resolution settings in games will often cause the message to appear as well. The display continues to work even with the message, but obviously it would be annoying to try to use it like that.

I have tried all of the timing presets as well as the timings from the built-in 75 Hz resolution and get similar results. I have also tried increasing the H rate and pixel clock range limits as well with the same results.

Any idea what my problem could be?
Clearly the monitor's firmware was not designed to handle higher refresh rates even if the monitor can do it.
(01-18-2017 05:40 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]Clearly the monitor's firmware was not designed to handle higher refresh rates even if the monitor can do it.

I figured it would be something like that. Thanks for the response.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440
Reference URL's