Monitor Tests Forum

Full Version: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440
(04-15-2015 12:58 AM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]
(04-13-2015 07:47 PM)kammi23 Wrote: [ -> ]I have my laptop running to a Samsung 60hz monitor via HDMI. I currently have it overclocked in the Nvidia control panel to 75hz (fraps shows 75 fps when vsynced in game). My question is am I actually getting the benefit of the extra 15hz because i have read a few places that HDMI limits your refresh rate or something?? any help would be super appreciated thx Smile
Ports are limited by pixel clock, not refresh rate. HDMI is definitely capable of 75 Hz. You should be able to see the difference just by moving the mouse cursor with a 1000 Hz mouse. Some monitors will only display 60 FPS though. Use this to make sure the monitor is not skipping frames: http://testufo.com/#test=frameskipping

Well i dont seem to be skipping frames Smile but What are the pixel clock limitations? Nvidia control panel says my pixel clock is at 185mhz and Im pretty sure somewhere i read 165 is the limit for hdmi..
(04-20-2015 07:13 PM)kammi23 Wrote: [ -> ]Well i dont seem to be skipping frames Smile but What are the pixel clock limitations? Nvidia control panel says my pixel clock is at 185mhz and Im pretty sure somewhere i read 165 is the limit for hdmi..
165 MHz was the limit before HDMI 1.3. The driver will allow higher pixel clocks if the monitor defines HDMI support in the extension block, and NVIDIA removed some of the restrictions for custom resolutions back when the Titan came out.
(04-20-2015 09:00 PM)Loli Co. Wrote: [ -> ]Sorry if this doesn't make too much sense, but I'm not sure how else to explain it. I'd very much appreciate it if someone could help me out with this.
Can you export those configurations and post the files? Is GPU scaling enabled or disabled? What video card are you using?
(04-18-2015 11:45 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]
(04-18-2015 04:58 PM)fabiobad Wrote: [ -> ]I dont know if "stutter" is the right expression, but you can see clearly the the image go out of sync when you rotate the camera, it go fluid for a bit and then you have a spike, and go on...

Regarding that setting, do you mean like that?
I meant with the custom extension block enabled so it can override the default, but disabling has the same effect with AMD. It doesn't matter anyway because the driver seems to be hard-coded to add 1920x1080, 1280x720, 720x480, and 640x480 at 59 and 60 Hz even if they are not defined. I could have sworn it was possible to override this before, but maybe not with AMD at those resolutions. The driver would have to be modified to remove those resolutions. I might be able to integrate that into a future version of the pixel clock patch if I can find where they're being added. NVIDIA also adds 59 Hz if 60 Hz exists at any resolution. I still don't understand why that would cause stuttering or sync issues unless the game has a frame rate cap. The point of vsync is to synchronize with the actual refresh rate.

One option is to change 1920x1080 to something like 1920x1078. That will get rid of 1920x1080 @ 59 and 60 Hz. Leave the totals at 2200x1125 to keep it at exactly 60 Hz. Use the "Enlarged" (aspect scaling) or "Normal" (1:1 mapping) screen size option in your monitor to prevent the monitor from scaling the resolution.
I tried the extension block resolution and the 1920x1078 one but nothing is changed, still 59HZ in-game and stutter :/

When i play at GTAV with 1920x1080 resolution and the in-game V-sync activated, the OSD of MSI Afterburner read that the game is running at 58.9 FPS, when i move the camera it going up a bit like 59.00/59.03.

In this way i have a lot of stutter... so i think that is a problem of the game AND the of the AMD drivers, because some people have resolved the issue with your program:
http://www.reddit.com/r/GrandTheftAutoV_...tentially/

but they have Nvidia... i tried to make another resolution, but i can't select 60HZ in-game in any way.

So there is nothing to do?
I need to sell this card and NEVER buy again an AMD one?

Pls help :'(
Is there anyway to have a 96hz refresh rate at 2560x1440 while using Accel's DisplayPort to DVI-D Dual Link adapter (I believe it's capable of 300mhz)?

The reason I ask is because I have 3 monitors, all QNIX, and the one that is running off the DisplayPort adapter has a different color hue. I assume it looks so different because it's running at a lower refresh rate than the other two but I could be wrong.
I just noticed that the Accell B087B-007B (for 3D monitors) supports up to 330mhz rather than 300mhz. I wonder if that extra bit would let me squeeze out the 96mhz refresh rate I'm looking for.
(04-23-2015 03:42 AM)allindaze Wrote: [ -> ]Is there anyway to have a 96hz refresh rate at 2560x1440 while using Accel's DisplayPort to DVI-D Dual Link adapter (I believe it's capable of 300mhz)?
2560x1440 @ 96 Hz is 353,894,400 pixels per second without blanking. That's impossible to fit within 300 MHz.

(04-23-2015 03:42 AM)allindaze Wrote: [ -> ]The reason I ask is because I have 3 monitors, all QNIX, and the one that is running off the DisplayPort adapter has a different color hue. I assume it looks so different because it's running at a lower refresh rate than the other two but I could be wrong.
Did you try that monitor on another port? The refresh rate can affect the gamma on the QNIX, but it shouldn't affect the hue. Individual panels can have different white points from manufacturing variations.

(04-23-2015 08:11 AM)allindaze Wrote: [ -> ]I just noticed that the Accell B087B-007B (for 3D monitors) supports up to 330mhz rather than 300mhz. I wonder if that extra bit would let me squeeze out the 96mhz refresh rate I'm looking for.
That adapter will allow 96 Hz but only at 6-bit color. That adapter can actually handle around 400 MHz, but DisplayPort will limit higher pixel clocks to 6-bit color.
(04-22-2015 07:24 PM)Loli Co. Wrote: [ -> ]I have GPU scaling enabled, and I'm using an AMD Radeon HD 7990.
Here are my different configurations:

Current: All three resolutions at 60hz in CRU (x1260 and x1440 in Custom Extension Block), working fine (x1260 and x1440 w/o 50hz)
1920x1081@50hz: Adds blurry 50hz to x1260 & x1440 (w/ 60hz options)
1920x1080@50hz (Lowering the 'Default Resolution' x1080 entry to 50hz): Adds normal looking 50hz to x1260 and x1440 (w/o 60hz options)
x1260 & x1440 @ 50hz: Go 'Out of range' when switched to 50hz (w/ 60hz options)
I don't understand how you're getting those results. What driver version are you using and what version of Windows do you have? The results only make sense if the GPU is scaling down higher resolutions to the native resolution, which shouldn't be possible with CRU. CRU is for defining monitor resolutions. If the monitor can scale down higher resolutions, turn off GPU scaling to send the higher resolutions to the monitor. I can't help you with scaling down higher resolutions with the GPU because CRU is not a downsampling utility.
(04-22-2015 04:21 PM)fabiobad Wrote: [ -> ]I tried the extension block resolution and the 1920x1078 one but nothing is changed, still 59HZ in-game and stutter :/
59 Hz should not exist if you changed 1920x1080 to 1920x1078. Export your configuration and post the file so I can see what's happening.

(04-22-2015 04:21 PM)fabiobad Wrote: [ -> ]When i play at GTAV with 1920x1080 resolution and the in-game V-sync activated, the OSD of MSI Afterburner read that the game is running at 58.9 FPS, when i move the camera it going up a bit like 59.00/59.03.

In this way i have a lot of stutter... so i think that is a problem of the game AND the of the AMD drivers, because some people have resolved the issue with your program:
http://www.reddit.com/r/GrandTheftAutoV_...tentially/
That is 100% a game issue. 59 Hz is supposed to be an alias of 60 Hz or 59.94 Hz. The game is incorrectly locking the frame rate to 59 FPS instead of synchronizing with the refresh rate like it should. You should also be able to select 60 Hz regardless of whether or not 59 Hz exists, so that's two different problems.
I just wanted to thank you for this program. I had problem with AOC 2757m which sadly have only HDMI inputs - it was detected as HDTV in nvidia panel.

That casued limited colors but also very annoying bug with refresh rate - when you ran game and tabbed back desktop refresh rate was somehow broken (flickering etc.). Temporary solution was to set 59hz in desktop and 60hz in games.

Recently I bought GTX 960 which had almost all outputs so I tried different ones. Suddenly with DVI-D monitor was detected as "DVI - PC display"! Happy end? Not really... next day I turn on PC and get 800x600 resolution and "driver installing". What the...?! Reboot and I got older nvidia driver installed and monitor is back to HDTV.

Now I tried everything to bring it back as DVI - PC but nothing works until I found this topic. When I removed all duplicates, set "no extension block" and rebooted - finally it worked, monitor got detected again as DVI - PC which means correct color range and no refresh rate problems.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440
Reference URL's