Monitor Tests Forum

Full Version: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441
Yes it shows active for the display and the device manager shows generic pnp monitor. I also had a bunch of them the same which i all deleted and had CRU redetect the active display.
What about if you make a small change like 61 Hz? Make it the first detailed resolution.
I will try that, i had earlier used automatic and just put 75hz? Think that was too much?
I couldn't get it to work. Here are some screenshots.[attachment=14][attachment=15][attachment=16][attachment=17][attachment=18]
It looks like EDID overrides don't work with your laptop for some reason. I'm not sure why. Does it work for external displays?
(08-18-2013 04:45 PM)MEW2K Wrote: [ -> ]I did as you suggested and installed the X-star inf driver, but it had little effect. The strange thing is that if I reboot the computer and enter the windows monitor resolution settings, the 96/120hz settings show up in the the drop down meny, but if I start up NCP or mainly Nvidia Geforce Experience the monitor goes black for a second (just like when you install new graphic drivers, and the screen goes black/blink a few times) and the custom settings are removed from the Windows resolution settings, leaving only the 59/60hz settings in the drop down meny.
(08-17-2013 01:17 PM)Stylook Wrote: [ -> ]By the way, when I install the CRU and put in the refresh rates, I also have the same problem with MEW2K, that in the windows screen resolution, it doesn't show all the higher refresh rate 96hz to 120hz. I don't know if this matter or not, or affect any games. But when I use the NVCP custom, the windows screen resolution under advance does show all the higher refresh rate. I am using EVGA GTX 690 gpu card. Just to inform you.
I did some more testing and found this is caused by GeForce Experience when the tray icon loads. If the tray icon is not enabled, the problem happens when GeForce Experience is started.

This is definitely an NVIDIA driver bug. GeForce Experience seems to trigger some sort of monitor detection routine, but the driver doesn't properly update the Windows resolution list when that happens.

Reinstall the NVIDIA driver without GeForce Experience. Choose the custom install option and uncheck "NVIDIA GeForce Experience" and check "Perform a clean installation" just to be sure. Then patch the driver as usual and add the refresh rates back in CRU if necessary.
(08-24-2013 09:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]That could be interfering with your ability to use detailed resolutions. Uninstall the monitor using the device manager. Then scan for hardware changes. The monitor should be listed as Generic PnP Monitor or Generic Non-PnP Monitor. Then use CRU to add the resolutions again. If the monitor is Non-PnP, download CRU 1.0.1 to edit it.
Did this, was recognised as Generic PnP Monitor, rebooted, applied CRU settings, rebooted again. Games still not use the Detailed resolution refresh rate. They default to 100Hz (why 100Hz? because of the first entry in the Detailed resolutions?) and GPU still applies scaling (only for the 100Hz, 125Hz and 150Hz it doesn't apply any scaling).

(08-24-2013 09:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]Did you try adding the highest refresh rates as detailed resolutions? I don't see why using detailed resolutions would affect other resolutions.
This is how I've setup CRU now, all the resolutions that require 123Hz+ are in Detailed resolution list
(except for the first as this defines the default resolution, which is 1600x1200@100Hz my default for desktop) :
[Image: 8wCUuMj.png]

(08-24-2013 09:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]There shouldn't be any refresh rates other than the ones you add.
There aren't any other than the ones listed by CRU (including the Established resolutions and their respective refresh rates)

edit:
When having 1024x768@150Hz in Detailed resolutions and having 1024x768@120Hz in Standard resolutions it will not force 120Hz in games.
When having 1024x768@120Hz in Standard resolutions only it does not force 120Hz in games either.
So it seems I was wrong in the first place about Standard resolutions forcing refresh rates, sorry about that.
I guess 100Hz and 120Hz are enabled for 1024x768 because of the 1600x1200@100Hz first Detailed resolutions entry?
And that's why it defaults to 100Hz for those lower resolutions?

edit2:
I tried removing the 1600x1200@100Hz as first entry, adding it to the Standard resolution list, and having 800x600@160Hz as the first entry in Detailed resolutions now, so the highest refresh rate is listed first. This still does not force refresh rates for the lower resolutions, it keeps defaulting to 100Hz and applying scaling, it seems it keeps my desktop resolution 1600x1200@100Hz and centers the picture when I run a game (where I can't select a refresh rate) at 1024x768.
I wonder how to solve this? If at all possible with CRU?

edit3:
After setting my desktop resolution to 1920x1440@85Hz just for fun, then running a game in 1024x768 it does use 150Hz and no scaling?!?!?!?!?
After further testing it seems that when my desktop resolution is using a refresh rate that >= 100Hz, it uses 100Hz and applies scaling, anything < 100Hz it will use the refresh rate as listed in CRU and does not apply scaling.
After testing the above while I re-added 1600x1200@100Hz as the first entry in Detailed resolutions it always uses 100Hz and applies scaling when launching a game in 1024x768... Is this really a driver bug then? I'm lost now Confused

edit4:
This seems to be the cause for my scaling problem:
(08-24-2013 09:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]Usually GPU scaling will apply to any resolution that's not listed in the EDID regardless of that setting.
My question on this regard: is there a way around this? Smile
Or I just have to find a way to force any resolution to always use its maximum refresh rate.
(08-25-2013 08:58 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]It looks like EDID overrides don't work with your laptop for some reason. I'm not sure why. Does it work for external displays?

Not sure will have to test external display another time thanks for your help anyways.
Hey ToastyX
Thx! for this Handy tool! Smile <3

I have a problem! I have an Mobility ATI RADEON 5850 1Gb
I "can" go higher than 2560x1600 But when
i do it whit 2880x1620 i can see some weird noisy lines around icons and window
Can that be something whit BLANKING or Back Porch
here is a screen whit the settings i use whit 2560x1600 and it works fine!
and also a info link about my monitor!
I just want to get 2880x1620 with no noisy lines like around icons and so on!
[Image: http://i.minus.com/jbl0NWpzxhfWPK.jpg]

Here is a Manual PDF for my monitor! so you maybe can help me out better whit my problem!
us.aoc.com/monitor_displays/e2343fi
http://www.mediafire.com/?2r0d1u71r53av43
Hi, I'm running a Seiki 4kTV using HDMI 1.4a with a res of 3840x2160p at 30Hz. I'd like to run 2560x1600p at 60Hz but it isn't included between 1080p and 2160p when selecting my resolution. However, it is very well within the limitations/specs of 1.4a.

Would creating a lesser resolution of 2560x1600@60Hz cause any damage to the TV? I already tried it for a few secs and it ran fine. If so, I can use 4k for browsing and some strategic games while having 1080p120hz or 1600p60hz for either fast refresh rates or higher resolutions; which can be very convenient for me!

Thank you in advance!
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441
Reference URL's