Monitor Tests Forum

Full Version: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441
(09-18-2017 06:46 AM)netW0RTHplus Wrote: [ -> ]Also, how to change the format like 21:9 - https://imgur.com/a/dMKrC this is what is showing in my ingame resolution selection
That's the game calling it 12:5, not a format issue.
(09-18-2017 07:27 AM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]
(09-18-2017 06:46 AM)netW0RTHplus Wrote: [ -> ]Out of the box resolution was 640x480, that's why I was looking for a utility to bring the monitor to its correct resolution by 3440x1440 @75hz
That shouldn't happen unless there's a problem with the EDID. Either the HDMI cable is faulty or the monitor needs to be replaced. If the fault is intermittent, the driver might see the monitor as two different monitors, which should appear as separate monitors in CRU. I'm still not seeing how you got the PNP09FF ID with the correct data unless you copied/pasted or imported from a working configuration. Normally it would show "PNP09FF - Generic Non-PnP Monitor" with no data at all.

You're correct the monitor is showing - "PNP09FF - Generic Non-PNP Monitor with no data.
(09-18-2017 08:02 AM)netW0RTHplus Wrote: [ -> ]You're correct the monitor is showing - "PNP09FF - Generic Non-PNP Monitor with no data.
Yeah, sounds like a faulty HDMI cable or problem with the monitor. With a working EDID, CRU would show you everything the monitor defines by default, and the resolution would be correct out of the box.
(09-18-2017 03:25 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]
(09-18-2017 08:02 AM)netW0RTHplus Wrote: [ -> ]You're correct the monitor is showing - "PNP09FF - Generic Non-PNP Monitor with no data.
Yeah, sounds like a faulty HDMI cable or problem with the monitor. With a working EDID, CRU would show you everything the monitor defines by default, and the resolution would be correct out of the box.

Might be the EDID, coz ive tried lot of dp and hdmi cables but the resolution is still the same despite reinstalling gpu driver and downgrading OS.
(09-19-2017 02:23 PM)netW0RTHplus Wrote: [ -> ]Might be the EDID, coz ive tried lot of dp and hdmi cables but the resolution is still the same despite reinstalling gpu driver and downgrading OS.
HDMI and DisplayPort have separate EDIDs. If the problem is happening with both, then the monitor is definitely faulty. Get it replaced.
hey forum,

i got a new computer with a nvidia NVS 510 Graphics card, which by description should be able to do up to 4 monitors at 4k resolution at 60hz.
3840-2160 is selected automatically however no option higher than 30hz is possible. i tried adding with higher refresh rate on the CRU and also used the nvidia patch to disable the pixel clock limits but still not able increase the refresh rate.
mouse is not smooth enough at 30hz, if someone could help me please understand what the problem is, im not very expert, thank you.

i use displayport to connect the monitor, windows 10
Hello,

I am new to this forum, and want to open up by saying,"Thank you for a great piece of software like CRU." I hope that one day I can provide something as useful to this forum one day, but alas I am a beginner at how to make custom resolutions work--particularly with EDIDs. So it brings me to my question that I would hope others would like to hear about.

I own a few capture cards as I practice live streaming more for learning the technical aspects of it. The capture cards that I am experimenting with right now are the Datapath VisionAV line of cards. I have a VisionAV/B, a VisionAV-SDI, and a VisionAV-HD. I went with Datapath cards as I have been a long time owner of an E1 and E2 card, as well as a user of the E2S, and I know how well they are at accepting any resolution that you can throw at it for the most part. I've had much success in working analog capture, as well as DVI-SL to their maximum potential. However, the card itself is supposed to be able to receive HDMI 1.3 signals (if I said that correctly,) but this line of cards has a limitation that I can accept for what it is. The receiver chip that Datapath uses in this line of capture cards is the ADV7604, which receives 3 types of signals. The first is analog capture with a limit of 170 Mega Sample per Second (170MSps) that makes for really nice sharp RGB capture. The Second is DVI-SL in which can sample at 165MHz, which I was able to push 2560x1440@42Hz with reduced blanking timings. The last and one that has me stumped the most, is HDMI 1.3 which is supposed to allow custom resolutions, but the chip itself can only sample at 225MHz.

The thing that I am trying to do is capture, as an HDMI signal an output from a modern nVidia card, 2560x1440@50fps. I know I should be able to do this as it would only take about 201MHz to accomplish this, or that is what I belive is supposed to happen. However, when I try to do this, the image will not capture.

I ran Datapath's application called RGBHelper that comes with the downloaded driver and application package from their site, and it shows that the signal shows as DVI-SL. I tried patching the card to remove it's limitations, and tried to write in a custom block that would hopefully show the video card as HDMI instead of DVI-SL. In the end it will not show up as anything other than DVI-SL.

Has anyone here have any experience with this matter?

Thanks for reading this post, and for any responses in this matter.

Sincerely,

TechnicalMonkey

EDIT: I just wanted to update you guys on what I found. According to Datapath, the DVI/HDMI dongle that they pack with their VisionAV cards are proprietary, and the seemingly DVI-I looking ports can work as standard DVI-SL, but are also wired for HDMI on the pins normally not used in a DVI-SL configuration. I plan on ordering some of these dongles and will post an update on this section.

Lesson to be learned here: DON'T lose your capture card accessories.
Hey!

I tried looking for answers cause i do not like asking questions that have been answered already, nor i do not like seeing others doing it, but i really didn't find a solution.

So i have a PC with Intel HD 4400 on board. I am using it as a Car PC and i use its HDMI output with a car head-unit. To connect the HDMI output to a card head unit i am using a HDMI adapter that takes HDMI and feeds an RGB signal to a car monitor. The supported resolution of the monitor is 800x480. The HDMI adapter takes whatever signal, re-scales it to 800x480 and feeds it to a car monitor. The quality of the image is just awful. I hope that when i feed a native resolution, it will look nicer.

Now, i can not choose anything lower that 800x600 on the PC. It is just not on the list. So i tried the CRU, but for the life of me i do not understand how i can make it work. I used the "Detailed Resolutions" block and added 800x480 as a resolution with "Automatic LCD Standard" setting, restarted the driver but it held to 800x600. And the new resolution didn't appear on the list.

I am using the whichever driver that was installed with Windows 10 so i will try those suggested in the original post. But... am i doing anything wrong? Is it even possible to make the graphic adapter produce the resolution that is required for my application?
(09-24-2017 09:33 AM)StabMe Wrote: [ -> ]Now, i can not choose anything lower that 800x600 on the PC. It is just not on the list. So i tried the CRU, but for the life of me i do not understand how i can make it work. I used the "Detailed Resolutions" block and added 800x480 as a resolution with "Automatic LCD Standard" setting, restarted the driver but it held to 800x600. And the new resolution didn't appear on the list.
Windows will not list resolutions lower than 800x600 in the display settings, but it's possible to choose resolutions as low as 640x480 by going to Display settings > Display adapter properties > List All Modes.

(09-24-2017 09:33 AM)StabMe Wrote: [ -> ]I am using the whichever driver that was installed with Windows 10 so i will try those suggested in the original post. But... am i doing anything wrong? Is it even possible to make the graphic adapter produce the resolution that is required for my application?
Adding a detailed resolution should be enough. You need to make sure the driver is one of the versions listed in the first post or newer because earlier versions didn't support EDID overrides.
(09-21-2017 10:24 AM)TechnicalMonkey Wrote: [ -> ]The thing that I am trying to do is capture, as an HDMI signal an output from a modern nVidia card, 2560x1440@50fps. I know I should be able to do this as it would only take about 201MHz to accomplish this, or that is what I belive is supposed to happen. However, when I try to do this, the image will not capture.

I ran Datapath's application called RGBHelper that comes with the downloaded driver and application package from their site, and it shows that the signal shows as DVI-SL. I tried patching the card to remove it's limitations, and tried to write in a custom block that would hopefully show the video card as HDMI instead of DVI-SL. In the end it will not show up as anything other than DVI-SL.
It's possible the video card is only sending an HDMI signal for TV resolutions, although I don't think that's the case. Try adding the LPCM audio format. If there's audio, then it's definitely HDMI. Let me know if the dongle changes anything.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441
Reference URL's